We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“handy to everything”
Review of Albert 1 Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Albert 1 Hotel
Ranked #16 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 22, 2014

This was a nice find in Bruges. The staff were friendly, rooms modern and clean with large bed, lovely continental breakfast. Very convenient to the station and buses, and a short walk into the old city. Restaurants close by next to the concert hall. We were the third floor and did not find the room noisy. Only negative was the lack of a lift but the check in manager helped us with our bags.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xstof68, Directeur général at Albert 1 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2014

Thank you for writing a positiv review for The Albert 1 hotel..

there is indeed no lift but we bring your Luggage to your room with a smile..

Kind regards
Christoph

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (493)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

174 - 180 of 493 reviews

Reviewed June 20, 2014

Beautiful Bruges, located less than 30 minutes from Brussels, Belgium is a wonderful medieval city full of character and charm and CHOCOLATE. My Friends and I stay at Hotel Albert 1 a short stroll from the train station and close to the bus station and the heart of the city. The hotel presented itself as a very clean and adequate boutique hotel, the continental breakfast was amazing and the staff were very helpful and pleasant. Exceptional comfy beds and a decent shower even though if I were to be picky the en suite was like a poke.
Located less than a minutes walk away on a saturday morning it a wonderful outside market, this is a fantastic way to see the culture of the city and the locals out making their purchases.
The city at many attractions, head for the main square and take a boat trip on the canals is a must, a visit to the history museum is very worth while also along with some of the beautiful churches and of course a trip to see Michel Angelos 'Lady Madonna & Child' is great also. There are many restaurants in the square, take heed of their pricing some are very overpriced. Must better to book a restaurant of a side street which will represent more value for money. We found a little gem in 'The Hobbit' just of a little side street with a lovely little quaint bar opposite named 'The Habit', also Beer n Ribs is worth a visit. Chosse carefully where you buy your chocolate, Personally I think 'du mont' or 'the chocolate line' are the better chocolatiers. Wherever you go it is expensive so watch your dosh. There are several beautiful coffee shops offering alfreso dining and serving great hot chocolate.
The Albert 1 hotel is a great stop of point in this city and easily accessible to most of the area and I look forward to returning to it one day. Enjoy your holidays :)
.

Room Tip: I was in room one, Ideal for an older person as this hotel has no lifts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PabuIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xstof68, General Manager at Albert 1 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2014

Thank you for writing a comprehensively review.
the bathroom in room 1 is idd a special compact one, but everything is there.
looking forward to welcome you again.
Kind regards, Christoph

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2014

Quiet and clean with friendly staff. Very modern bedroom and bathroom although a bit small but most European City hotels are. Our room had a queen size bed, which was extremely comfortable, and a single bed. Continental breakfast was included, basic but enough to set you up for the day. Bruges is a wonderful city but very expensive. The centre of Bruges and all the landmarks are only a few minutes walk from the hotel as is the train station.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Afternoongirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xstof68, General Manager at Albert 1 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2014

Thank you for writing your positiv remarks about our hotel on Tripadvisor.
Kind regards
Christoph

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2014 via mobile

We visited Bruges for the weekend, driving from the UK. The hotel is situated opposite the bus station but don't let that put you off as there is very little traffic noise once inside. It's also approx 100m from the large underground car park, ideally situated on the outskirts but in walking distance of the centre.
The rooms are clean and well equipped (inc. safe) and staff are very friendly and welcoming.
We are planning on returning to Bruges in the future and would definitely look to book this hotel again.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Marshy70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xstof68, General Manager at Albert 1 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2014

Thank you for toprating our hotel... we are pleased to hear you had a wonderful weekend break with us.. See you next time... Kind regards.Christoph

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2014

We came to Bruges to celebrate my 30th birthday, and I had the most amazing time. I loved every minute of it from the beautiful scenery, the cobbled streets and the most romantic walks I have been on. It was such a beautiful romantic place.

The hotel was in such a perfect spot easy to get to everything in Bruges. The hotel was ckean, comfortable and everything you need from a short break. Staff were pleasant and helpful. We arrived early and we were able to go to our room and unpack. And upon leaving we left our bags in the hotel until our journey home. Thanks for a fabulous stay.

I loved Bruges and I will be returning and will be returning to Hotel Albert if there is room. Wonderful place

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarahmark11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xstof68, General Manager at Albert 1 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2014

Thank you for toprating the hotel. we are glad we could contribute to a memorable stay in Bruges.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2014

Do not be deterred by the fact that this wonderful little hotel sits on a busy street, across from a bus exchange. It is quiet inside, the rooms have been freshly renovated, and it is perfect for the price. Large roomy bathroom, lots of light, and a very nice breakfast included in the price of the room. Hard to go wrong at the Albert I in Bruges.

Room Tip: ask for corner room in the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xstof68, General Manager at Albert 1 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2014

Many thanks for toprating us on Tripadvisor.. also the confirmation-tip that the hotel is quiet inside ,although is located along a street ., is for us heartwarming.
thank you again and Hope to welcome you again some day.
Kind regards,
Christoph

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2014

fantastic hotel, very short walk from the train station and 10 mins into centre. we thought it was the ideal location to explore bruges. we had a family room for 3 adults on the 1st floor, there is not a lift but we were helped with our cases without having to ask. the room was very comfortable and very spacious, with large bathroom and a further adjoining double room, both spotlessly clean, perfect.
breakfast was excellent with plenty of choice of food and hot drinks served by 2 lovely friendly ladies.
if you want good honest service, you can not go wrong with the albert.
we had a fab 3 nights here and hope to return in the future

Room Tip: 1st floor family room on front of hotel, very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maggiemay1925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xstof68, General Manager at Albert 1 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2014

Thank you for toprating our hotel and for your honest review.
we are glad you had a wonderful time with us...I will pass your comments to the 2 ladies as well.
thank you for mentioning this room tip. we look forward to welcome you again one day.
Kind regards. Christoph

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Prinsenhof Bruges
0.5 mi away
Hotel Navarra Brugge
Hotel Navarra Brugge
#15 of 97 in Bruges
2,252 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Ter Duinen
Hotel Ter Duinen
#6 of 97 in Bruges
2,013 reviews
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Brugge
Crowne Plaza Brugge
#23 of 97 in Bruges
1,558 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Biskajer Adults Only
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albert 1 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albert 1 Hotel

Address: Koning Albert I Iaan 2-4 ('t Zand), Bruges 8000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Bruges
#28 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range: $102 - $668 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Albert 1 Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Albert 1 is tucked away behind the attractive façade of a strikingly beautiful and typical Bruges town house close to the Concert Hall. Visitors are just a few minutes’ walk away from the historic centre of Bruges and yet they are able to enjoy all the peace and quiet of a tranquil oasis. No single stone has been left unturned in the desire to create total comfort for guests in the beautiful English cottage-style interior with its sumptuous ambiance. The 13 tastefully furnished rooms have all modern amenities such as bath/shower, toilet, hairdryer, cosmetic mirror, flat screen TV with digital channels, radio and telephone with direct outside line as well as free internet access and a safe. 12 of the rooms have air-conditioning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Albert 1 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albert 1 Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing