We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really nice”
Review of Albert 1 Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Albert 1 Hotel
Ranked #16 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 10, 2014

Stayed for 3 nights in Albert 1 Hotel in Brugge. The hotel is quite intimate and the rooms are very small. However, the convenient location and the helpfulness of the staff more than make up for this. The hotel was spotless and thoroughly cleaned every day. The hair dryer in my room did not work but this is something that may not have been reported as I forgot to tell the man at reception on leaving this morning. The stairwell was a bit scuffed but this is due to the fact that there is no lift and the cases hit off the walls. As there are only 3 stories and the staff bring cases up for guests, the lack of a lift would only be of concern to people with walking difficulties. This is not a luxury hotel but at the price we paid, it was more than worth it. I would recommend it to anybody and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Majella M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xstof68, Directeur général at Albert 1 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2014

Thank you for your comments and for recommending our hotel to others..
the hairdryer has been checked in mean time
Just to inform you that your room has been totally updated in January 2014
Kind regards,
Christoph

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (493)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

186 - 192 of 493 reviews

Reviewed April 1, 2014

I would like to extend my warmest gratitude to Christoph at Albert 1 hotel who really looked after us during our stay. It was my fiancee's 30th birthday so I treated her to a trip to Bruges, staying at Albert 1 made the trip that extra bit special. Fantastic location close to all the main sights (10 min), train station (15 min), beautiful rooms with free wifi and breakfast included. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to visit this wonderful city.

Room Tip: Our room was next to a busy road but could not hear a thing due to the double window noise exclusion...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Del847
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xstof68, Manager at Albert 1 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2014

Thank you for toprating us...we are pleased we could make your stay very comfortable.
Kind regards Christoph

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2014

We have visited Bruges 3 times in recent years stopping at the Albert 1 firstly then an hotel more to the centre of the Town. We choose the Albert 1 again for this visit because its location( walking distance from the train station) and the short walk to all the main area's of Bruges. The add attraction for my wife is the large Saturday market on the nearby square. The hotel rooms have been updated from our first visit, they are of a reasonable size for a retired couple with plenty of heating if required to keep the old bones warm. All the hotel Staff are fantastic with Christine serving breakfast doing an outstanding job of making you feel welcome each morning. We will visit Bruges again and will look forward to stopping at the Albert 1 again.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Stephen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xstof68, Manager at Albert 1 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2014

Thank you for toprating us...It has been a pleasure to have you as our guest again.
thank you for all these nice words... We all look forward to welcome you again.. Kind regards
Christoph & Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014

Nice hotel situated in the centre og Brugge.
Easy to find restaurants and only 100 meters from the main shopping street.
The staff very so nice and helpfull all the time and it was clean .
Breakfast was very nice.
We will stay there again when we go to Brugge next time.
We were 4 grownups in a familyroom, 2 separatet rooms, 2 toilets and 1 bath

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MetteVagn-Hansen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xstof68, Manager at Albert 1 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2014

Thank you for these nice comments. We love to hear you like the new renovated family room.
Hope to visit you and your family once again sometime.
Kind regards,
Christoph

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2014

Just spent probably one of the most enchanting weekends of our lives in probably one of the prettiest cities in Europe. Made all the more enjoyable by staying in this splendid, cosy and perfectly situated hotel. Very accommodating and friendly owners, immaculate rooms and generous continental breakfast. What more could anybody wish for. A must for any tourist.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ilka B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xstof68, Owner at Albert 1 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2014

Thank you for toprating us and for this very nice description of our hotel.
we look forward to welcome you again one day
Kind regards
Christoph and Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2014

Went on a girly long weekend, the location is fantastic, the hotel staff attentive. The lady at breakfast remembered all the guests tea and coffee orders. Breakfast was extremely fresh and plentiful.

I would stay there again and recommend this hotel to anyone looking for somewhere to stay in Bruges,

Jenny, Sam, Sharon and Jo

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jen1849
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xstof68, Propriétaire at Albert 1 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2014

Thank you for your nice review .. Love to hear you liked the location of the hotel, our staff and the fresh breakfast.. Greetings from Bruges and the Albert 1 hotel
Kind regards,
Christoph

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2014

Charming old style building.Good location (walking distances: about 10 min from city center, 5 min from railway station, many bus stops just in front), small but clean room with big bathroom (full of toiletries) and nice rooftops view of backstreet, great service from the very kind owner, No elevator, no wifi. Very good cold breakfast. Definitely I recommend it and intend to stay again here when we're coming back to Bruges... Congratulations to the owner !

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Romaniaspider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xstof68, Propriétaire at Albert 1 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2014

Thank you for your nice description of the hotel and for recommending us
Kind regards
Christoph

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Prinsenhof Bruges
0.5 mi away
Hotel Navarra Brugge
Hotel Navarra Brugge
#15 of 97 in Bruges
2,252 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Ter Duinen
Hotel Ter Duinen
#6 of 97 in Bruges
2,013 reviews
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Brugge
Crowne Plaza Brugge
#23 of 97 in Bruges
1,558 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Biskajer Adults Only
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albert 1 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albert 1 Hotel

Address: Koning Albert I Iaan 2-4 ('t Zand), Bruges 8000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Bruges
#28 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range: $102 - $668 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Albert 1 Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Albert 1 is tucked away behind the attractive façade of a strikingly beautiful and typical Bruges town house close to the Concert Hall. Visitors are just a few minutes’ walk away from the historic centre of Bruges and yet they are able to enjoy all the peace and quiet of a tranquil oasis. No single stone has been left unturned in the desire to create total comfort for guests in the beautiful English cottage-style interior with its sumptuous ambiance. The 13 tastefully furnished rooms have all modern amenities such as bath/shower, toilet, hairdryer, cosmetic mirror, flat screen TV with digital channels, radio and telephone with direct outside line as well as free internet access and a safe. 12 of the rooms have air-conditioning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Albert 1 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albert 1 Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing