We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice”
Review of Albert 1 Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Albert 1 Hotel
Ranked #16 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 9, 2014

Charming old style building.Good location (walking distances: about 10 min from city center, 5 min from railway station, many bus stops just in front), small but clean room with big bathroom (full of toiletries) and nice rooftops view of backstreet, great service from the very kind owner, No elevator, no wifi. Very good cold breakfast. Definitely I recommend it and intend to stay again here when we're coming back to Bruges... Congratulations to the owner !

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Romaniaspider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xstof68, Propriétaire at Albert 1 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2014

Thank you for your nice description of the hotel and for recommending us
Kind regards
Christoph

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (486)
There are newer reviews for Albert 1 Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

189 - 195 of 486 reviews

Reviewed March 2, 2014

Clean, very good breakfast, perfect location, bus stop just in front hotel, owner is very helpful,
just one negative thing .. there is no elevator .. stairs are steep.. it is very hard to get large pieces of luggage to your room specially if in higher floor.

Room Tip: Family rooms actually consist of smaller room branching from the main room with its own toilet.. spa...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ameera H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xstof68, Manager at Albert 1 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2014

Thank you for your time to write a review.Love to hear you mad a good choise for chosing the Albert1 hotel.
Unfortunately the building does not allow me to provide an elevator..
We are Always happy to help you with the Luggage..
Kind regards
Christoph

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2014

Going on TripAdvisor, we chose this hotel and were glad we did. Just back from this weekend this is a lovely small hotel, opposite a lovely square where they hold a market on Saturdays with Bars & Restaurant all along the far side so great for a night cap or lunchtime drink or just a wander round if you dont want to go too far. Easy walk from the Station if your luggage isn't too cumbersome, failing that a 8 euro taxi ride.
We were in room 11 which was extremely comfortable and reasonably sized. This hotel is opposite the Bus Station and our room was facing it. The double-glazing is so good we could hear no noise whatever during the night nor any noise from the road.
Lovely comfortable bed, lovely big wardrobe and the bathroom was perfect with a great shower or bath, whatever you preferred. Plenty of storage for cases, plus a couple of chairs and small desk.
If they had feather pillows on the beds I'd be in 7th heaven but I know the trend is to provide the ant-allergies ones. Perhaps I should of asked if they had any, will always do that from now on.
Breakfast was amazing. Helped ourselves to lovely fresh cheeses, salami, ham, fresh fruit plus fruit purees, prunes, apricots, yoghurts, cereal, boiled eggs and loads of freshly baked croissants, rolls, bread plus more. Couldn't fault it in any way. The lady who I assumed owned the hotel brought us as many pots of tea as we wanted plus you helped yourself to fresh orange too.
As travelers have said before, this hotel has been converted from an old house so stairs are be narrowish but dont let that put you off.
Couldn't fault this hotel in any way. So clean and clearly loved - marvelous

Room Tip: On the 1st floor, Room 11 had very good double glazing & secondary glazing so assuming all the o...
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xstof68, Owner at Albert 1 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2014

Thank you for toprating us.. I must say this one of the best written reviews that subscribe the hotel at its best and like it is in real... thank you for that...
one thing, we cannot offer feather pillows unfortunately...
Hope to visit you again.... Kind regards
Christoph

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2014

We chose this hotel as it's a great location to park your car in public car park 3 min walk away (you can see entrance from hotel) in centre of Bruge (but you may miss the turning for the underground car park which is to the right, we went around a few times trying to find it and had to do a 3 min circle again) We were also pleasantly surprised to find it was within 5 minute walking distance to the main square and actually if you like walking most of Bruge is walkable easily. Anyway the hotel was very smart and presentable, great service from the front desk and friendly human service at breakfast which was basic but it did fine. I really never expect huge things from small independant hotels breakfasts like this and for this style of hotel it was a good breakfast, rolls, ham, pastries, cereals etc in a small room of about 6 tables.

We had a lovely quiet room overlooking Bruge rooftops on the back of the hotel and it was clean and well decorated to a modern smart standard. The bathroom was lovely clean and tiled with a wonderful shower. The stairs up to the room are slightly thin, narrow and steep by most stairs standards so get a ground or 1st room if you have difficulty with these.

I would definitely get a room in this hotel again when we intend to visit Bruges and would recommend it to any friends or family going.

Room Tip: Quieter rooms are most likely on the back of the hotel
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tristan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xstof68, Owner at Albert 1 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2014

Thank you for toprating us and for the well described description..
Looking forward to welcome you again
Kind regards
Christoph

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014

We stayed here on the 15th February 2014. There were four females in the group from Ireland. The hotel is ideally located a short walk from everywhere no need for any form of transport. Close to the train station and right opposite the bus stop if needs be, Staff were really really nice and accommodating. We didn't know where to go as we wanted to celebrate a birthday of one of the group. Reception ordered us a taxi and made a reservation for us in a lovely restaurant which we would definitely not have found without any help. Check out was at 11 however we were out late the night before so we were not rushed out and finally left at 1 at no extra charge. Staff minded our bags for us so we could travel the town before we left on the train.Location was ideal as it was not too loud at night but we could walk to all the major tourist attractions. I would really recommend this hotel to anybody travelling to Bruges.

Room Tip: Ask at the desk for a restaurant recommendation, some places in the town are ridiculously expensive...
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shelly274
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xstof68, Owner at Albert 1 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2014

Thank you for your toprate... nice to hear you liked the family room
and you have found a good restaurant to celebrate.
Kind regards
Christoph

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014

We chose this hotel for its proximity to the station.It is a pleasant easy walk there through the park.We arrived at 11.30 am and despite the early hour our room was ready for us.It was small but well appointed and the bathroom was excellent.The only drawback was the double bed which was actually two single beds which tended to migrate away from one another!
Breakfast in the hotel was excellent by continental standards and all the staff we encountered were pleasant and helpful.
Although it is close to all the tourist attractions we were pleased to find a number of nearby restaurants and bars frequented by locals rather than tourists which we always prefer.
I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amandadavies43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xstof68, Owner at Albert 1 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2014

Thank you for your time to write a nice review for us.
Glad you liked the hotel and its location.
kind regards,
Christoph

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2014

Really cozy and comfortable hotel - less than ten minutes picturesque walk from the train station and to the main market square. Rooms very clean, comfortable and snug, and no noise whatsoever from the nearby street. Excellent varied continental breakfast. Would definitely stay again - hopefully some time soon, as there is so much to explore in Brugge. Laura.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura_Zilinskiene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xstof68, Owner at Albert 1 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2014

Thank you for toprating us...We look forward to welcome you again...
Kind regards,
Christoph

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Brugge
Crowne Plaza Brugge
#23 of 97 in Bruges
1,549 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
1.0 mi away
Hotel Ter Duinen
Hotel Ter Duinen
#6 of 97 in Bruges
1,998 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Prinsenhof Bruges
0.6 mi away
Hotel Biskajer Adults Only
0.5 mi away
Hotel Navarra Brugge
Hotel Navarra Brugge
#15 of 97 in Bruges
2,238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albert 1 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albert 1 Hotel

Address: Koning Albert I Iaan 2-4 ('t Zand), Bruges 8000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Bruges
#28 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range: $103 - $503 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Albert 1 Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Albert 1 is tucked away behind the attractive façade of a strikingly beautiful and typical Bruges town house close to the Concert Hall. Visitors are just a few minutes’ walk away from the historic centre of Bruges and yet they are able to enjoy all the peace and quiet of a tranquil oasis. No single stone has been left unturned in the desire to create total comfort for guests in the beautiful English cottage-style interior with its sumptuous ambiance. The 13 tastefully furnished rooms have all modern amenities such as bath/shower, toilet, hairdryer, cosmetic mirror, flat screen TV with digital channels, radio and telephone with direct outside line as well as free internet access and a safe. 12 of the rooms have air-conditioning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Albert 1 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albert 1 Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing