We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Albert 1 Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
NH Brugge(Bruges)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Leopold(Bruges)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Lace Hotel(Bruges)
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Internet
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (558)
Filter reviews
558 results
Traveler rating
301
214
36
2
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
301
214
36
2
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbus stationno liftconcert halllady servingdouble windowslarge underground car parksaturday marketminute walkmain roadboiled eggsrecommend this hotellovely hotelsmall hotelfamily roomrooms are cleanbread rollsfirst floor
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
225 - 230 of 558 reviews
Reviewed February 10, 2014

We chose this hotel for its proximity to the station.It is a pleasant easy walk there through the park.We arrived at 11.30 am and despite the early hour our room was ready for us.It was small but well appointed and the bathroom was excellent.The only drawback was the double bed which was actually two single beds which tended to migrate away from one another!
Breakfast in the hotel was excellent by continental standards and all the staff we encountered were pleasant and helpful.
Although it is close to all the tourist attractions we were pleased to find a number of nearby restaurants and bars frequented by locals rather than tourists which we always prefer.
I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amandadavies43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xstof68, Owner at Albert 1 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2014

Thank you for your time to write a nice review for us.
Glad you liked the hotel and its location.
kind regards,
Christoph

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2014

Really cozy and comfortable hotel - less than ten minutes picturesque walk from the train station and to the main market square. Rooms very clean, comfortable and snug, and no noise whatsoever from the nearby street. Excellent varied continental breakfast. Would definitely stay again - hopefully some time soon, as there is so much to explore in Brugge. Laura.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura_Zilinskiene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xstof68, Owner at Albert 1 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2014

Thank you for toprating us...We look forward to welcome you again...
Kind regards,
Christoph

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2014

Nice to stay in a smaller, rather quaint and privately owned hotel rather than one of the big chains. Staff very welcoming and helpful. Had a triple room that was well equipped, clean and comfortable, if a little compact. Breakfast served in the small dining room was of a good quality, with cheeses, various meats, boiled eggs, fruits and a nice selection of bread and croissants. Situated about 10 minute walk to the main square but plenty of bars and restaurants nearby. As is often the case with such properties, so you need to be prepared to carry your bags up a rather narrow, winding staircase.
One tip - the hotel is a fairly easy walk from the train station. and most buses from there go to the bus station right across from the hotel. Cheaper than a taxi!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GeoffcN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xstof68, Owner at Albert 1 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2014

Thank you for your nice words, description about our hotel..
the triple rooms were completely renovated this January..
I know the missing lift is sometimes an issue, but there is really no possibility to add one..
of course we are happy to help you to drag the Luggage into the rooms
Kind regards
Christoph

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2014

After arriving three hours late due to flooding via Eurostar, we jumped in a taxi for 10Euros who swiftly took us to our Hotel, we then realised on our return to the station that it was an easy ten minute walk through the park. The hotel is opposite the Concert Hall and t' Zand square, our room No 15 was at the front of the hotel and on the main road which was quite noisy with the window open. The room was very warm and comfortable with clean crisp sheets with plenty of hot water for a bath. Although I did feel the towels were a bit tired.. Breakfast was amazing, plenty of fresh cheese, salami, ham, eggs ,cereal fruit, breads and rustic rolls. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Glad I took my own travel kettle as there was no tea making facilities in the room and I do like a cuppa first thing. Saturday morning just across the road there is a large market which was amazing. Bars and restaurants just a few steps away. Brugge is a very easy place to walk around and its completely flat. Would definitely stay at this Hotel again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the main road.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacqui C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xstof68, Owner at Albert 1 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2014

Thank you for your nice review. we love to hear you had a wonderful time in the hotel and that you liked our breakfast..
In mean time all rooms to the front as well at the back are now provided with airconditioning..
which mean you can leave the two times double glazed windows shut , especially in the summer
Kind regards

Christoph

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights as a family of five. We had the pleasure of getting a family room which was very convenient. The children slept on the king size bed in the from and the adults slept on the queen size bed in the smaller room which was connected by the bathroom; perfect setting. The beds were super comfortable and the pillows were the best we've seen anywhere. Breakfast came included and it was the typical European spread; really nice and constantly restocked. The best experience was when we were trying to get a restaurant reservation and the manager called many restaurants until he was able to get us a reservation. This small hotel is definitely a gem in Bruges and we would love to return in the future.

Stayed: January 2014
Thank Yasurino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xstof68, Manager at Albert 1 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2014

Thank you for top rating us.. we thank you for your kind and honest words..
we are glad you had a wonderful time in the hotel..
we look forward to welcome you again some time..
Kind regards
Christoph

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews