We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Albert 1 Hotel
Nearby Hotels
NH Brugge(Bruges)
$135
$119
NH Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$153
$136
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
$209
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
$174
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$216
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Aragon(Bruges)
$144
$121
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Martin's Brugge(Bruges)(Great Value!)
$102
$93
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Hotel Navarra Brugge(Bruges)
$176
$167
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$214
$186
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$136
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (574)
Filter reviews
574 results
Traveler rating
309
221
37
2
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
309
221
37
2
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbus stationno liftconcert halllady servingdouble windowslarge underground car parksaturday marketminute walkmain roadboiled eggsrecommend this hotellovely hotelsmall hotelfamily roomrooms are cleanbread rollsfirst floor
Filter
Updating list...
294 - 299 of 574 reviews
Reviewed September 14, 2012

A great place to stay - near enough the busy tourist centre of Brugges, but quiet enough to be out of the hurly burly.

Excellent breakfasts and comfortable room. Mattress and pillows superb. Handy for a pleasant walk to the railway station.

Would recommend the line of restaurants just over the open space from the hotel as better value for money than those in the tourist centre.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank almalmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xstof68, Manager at Albert 1 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2012

Thank you for your stay with us, we are glad you liked it
kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

This is a great little hotel.
On arrival we were greeted by the Manager Christoph who offered to take all our bags to our room while we parked at the new underground hi-tech car park, which is 2 minutes away.
We couldn't believe how well-appointed our twin room was. Beautiful decor, spotlessly clean and a great range of lighting options. Also an electric sun blind which you could adjust to vary the amount of light through the window. There was a flat screen TV on the wall and a safety deposit box that worked (unlike many we have experienced). The bed was really comfy and the room was nice and quiet.
The bathroom was large and really well designed with a powerful shower. To top it all there was a brand new air-conditioning unit, which was welcome on a hot weekend.
The Continental Breakfast was excellent and served in a friendly and efficient way. The range of cold meats, breads and cheeses were constantly renewed as was the tea and coffee.
The hotel is situated very close to the City Centre and is opposite the new Concert Hall.
The only possible downside is the lack of a lift and this should be borne in mind when booking.
All in all a terrific hotel, with friendly helpful staff, what more could you want?

Just one last thought on the negative side. Why is Bruges so hideously expensive? The prices most restaurants are charging are ridiculously high. 26 Euros for a main course is average. The standard of service is also very poor. Unfortunately value for money is a phrase you don't hear very often in this lovely city.

Room Tip: Our room (22) has a nice rooftops view and is light and airy.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eastbridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xstof68, Owner at Albert 1 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2012

We would like to thank you for your very nice comment.
we are happy that you like the hotel and that you had a lovely stay in Brugge.
It is most appreciated
Kind regards
Christoph

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

I have just returned from a 3 night break in Bruges - staying at the Albert 1. It was an easy walk from the station and from the hotel it is only a short walk to all the sights of Bruges. My room was fairly large with a comfortable double bed. The bathroom was modern and well equipped, including a bath with a powerful shower over it. Breakfast is buffet style continental.All the dishes of fruit and meat were constantly topped up - so it didn't matter whether you arrived late - there was always plenty to choose from. The hotel is very clean and efficent and the staff are very helpful. The only reason I have not given a 5 star rating is that I was very aware of traffic noise from the room even through double glazed windows.

Room Tip: Check whether there are rooms facing the rear as these may be quieter.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elljay1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xstof, Manager at Albert 1 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2012

Thank you to make some time to write a review of our hotel.
we are glad you liked your stay, despite the traffic...
we have also rooms at the back, upon availability,
you can always ask this as 'a request' when you book our hotel
Kind regards
Christoph

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

15 minute walk from station. Close to heaps of restaurants. Walking distance from old town Brugges and all its attractions. Rooms lovely if a little small but bathrooms large. Breakfast very good with large range including boiled eggs, breads, cheese, deli meats, cereals, fruits etc. No lift really the only down side. Wifi not free but available. Also have individually controlled air con.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xstof, General Manager at Albert 1 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2012

Thank you for your very nice review..
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

My wife, 2 sons and I stayed in this hotel for two nights. We were given a suite with two bedrooms which was a big surprise. The owners were always ready to help with any request, even offered to help taking the bags up two floors, but I was able to do it myself (it took me some time because the stairs are narrow and steep)

The hotel is across th street from the Turism Info centre and at a 10-minute nice walk to the Markt. There are also buses goin there but we never took them. There are also bicycle rental places nearby. The city is very clean and nice that you do not want to leave; also most of the people speak English in the city. The owners of the hotel speak perfect English.

The breakfast was included in the price and it was of very good variety including coffee, hot chocolate, cheese, boiled eggs, fruit, etc.

Room Tip: Our room faced the street in one side, but closing the windows was enough to avoid the noise. The other side was a nice view of the roofs of the old city
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mavive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xstof68, Manager at Albert 1 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2013

Thank you for your nice comments on the hotel
we like to hear that you like our "jill and jack rooms" as family rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews