We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great little Hotel”
Review of Albert 1 Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Albert 1 Hotel
Ranked #17 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Romney Marsh
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A Great little Hotel”
Reviewed September 10, 2012

This is a great little hotel.
On arrival we were greeted by the Manager Christoph who offered to take all our bags to our room while we parked at the new underground hi-tech car park, which is 2 minutes away.
We couldn't believe how well-appointed our twin room was. Beautiful decor, spotlessly clean and a great range of lighting options. Also an electric sun blind which you could adjust to vary the amount of light through the window. There was a flat screen TV on the wall and a safety deposit box that worked (unlike many we have experienced). The bed was really comfy and the room was nice and quiet.
The bathroom was large and really well designed with a powerful shower. To top it all there was a brand new air-conditioning unit, which was welcome on a hot weekend.
The Continental Breakfast was excellent and served in a friendly and efficient way. The range of cold meats, breads and cheeses were constantly renewed as was the tea and coffee.
The hotel is situated very close to the City Centre and is opposite the new Concert Hall.
The only possible downside is the lack of a lift and this should be borne in mind when booking.
All in all a terrific hotel, with friendly helpful staff, what more could you want?

Just one last thought on the negative side. Why is Bruges so hideously expensive? The prices most restaurants are charging are ridiculously high. 26 Euros for a main course is average. The standard of service is also very poor. Unfortunately value for money is a phrase you don't hear very often in this lovely city.

Room Tip: Our room (22) has a nice rooftops view and is light and airy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eastbridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xstof68, Owner at Albert 1 Hotel, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
We would like to thank you for your very nice comment.
we are happy that you like the hotel and that you had a lovely stay in Brugge.
It is most appreciated
Kind regards
Christoph
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

461 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    242
    181
    32
    2
    4
See reviews for
92
245
35
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool
Level Contributor
74 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2012

I have just returned from a 3 night break in Bruges - staying at the Albert 1. It was an easy walk from the station and from the hotel it is only a short walk to all the sights of Bruges. My room was fairly large with a comfortable double bed. The bathroom was modern and well equipped, including a bath with a powerful shower over it. Breakfast is buffet style continental.All the dishes of fruit and meat were constantly topped up - so it didn't matter whether you arrived late - there was always plenty to choose from. The hotel is very clean and efficent and the staff are very helpful. The only reason I have not given a 5 star rating is that I was very aware of traffic noise from the room even through double glazed windows.

Room Tip: Check whether there are rooms facing the rear as these may be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elljay1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xstof, Manager at Albert 1 Hotel, responded to this review, September 8, 2012
Thank you to make some time to write a review of our hotel.
we are glad you liked your stay, despite the traffic...
we have also rooms at the back, upon availability,
you can always ask this as 'a request' when you book our hotel
Kind regards
Christoph
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

15 minute walk from station. Close to heaps of restaurants. Walking distance from old town Brugges and all its attractions. Rooms lovely if a little small but bathrooms large. Breakfast very good with large range including boiled eggs, breads, cheese, deli meats, cereals, fruits etc. No lift really the only down side. Wifi not free but available. Also have individually controlled air con.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xstof, General Manager at Albert 1 Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Thank you for your very nice review..
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

My wife, 2 sons and I stayed in this hotel for two nights. We were given a suite with two bedrooms which was a big surprise. The owners were always ready to help with any request, even offered to help taking the bags up two floors, but I was able to do it myself (it took me some time because the stairs are narrow and steep)

The hotel is across th street from the Turism Info centre and at a 10-minute nice walk to the Markt. There are also buses goin there but we never took them. There are also bicycle rental places nearby. The city is very clean and nice that you do not want to leave; also most of the people speak English in the city. The owners of the hotel speak perfect English.

The breakfast was included in the price and it was of very good variety including coffee, hot chocolate, cheese, boiled eggs, fruit, etc.

Room Tip: Our room faced the street in one side, but closing the windows was enough to avoid the noise. The ot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mavive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xstof68, Manager at Albert 1 Hotel, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Thank you for your nice comments on the hotel
we like to hear that you like our "jill and jack rooms" as family rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
100 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

we just got back from a three night stay at albert 1. this is a fantastic and cute little hotel. we stayed in an attic room which was both nicely furnished/decorated, modern (but still charming), clean, and relatively spacious. the bathroom was a decent size for european standards (had a shower, no tub). we had air conditioning which we did not expect, and it was a definite plus.

maybe it's because i've mainly been sleeping on a rock hard mattress for almost 4 months, but i thought this was the most comfortable bed ever. i haven't slept this well in ages, and it was a challenge to get up everyday because it was so nice.

you can get internet access per hour or a flat fee of 10euro for 24 hours (you can log in and out). it was more than enough for the 3 nights we were there.

i can't speak for the breakfast because we never woke up early enough to eat it.

i have ZERO complaints. i just .. .really really really liked this place. would have loved to stay longer.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wunderlast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xstof, General Manager at Albert 1 Hotel, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Thank you for your very nice comment...
we are glad you liked your stay in Bruges and in the hotel..
Kind regards
Christoph
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

My partner and I recently returned from a short break in Belgium, staying in both Bruge and Brussels. We stayed at the Albert 1 for 1 night. The staff were very accomodating and the hotel is well maintained. We had a room in the attic which has air conditioning and was very clean and of a good size. The hotel is located very close to the shops and historic part of town, only a short 5 minute walk to the main attraction. The train station is also only a 10 minute walk away. Breakfast was lovely, typical European cold breakfast of meat, eggs, cheese and pastry. Staff really friendly and were more than happy to let us store our luggage after check out the next day. Highly recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: If you can make 3 flights of stairs, the attic rooms are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LoveTravellingNotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xstof, Owner at Albert 1 Hotel, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
thank you very much for your nice comment
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Level Contributor
52 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2012

I would classify this, not so much as a hotel, but as a country inn. Upon reading the other reviews, it appears that got stuck with the smallest room (34). If "MafsIreland" got the biggest bathroom in Europe, we got the smallest. But the room was nice, though, with modern upgrades throughout. The traffic at the front of the hotel can be noisy especially on a Friday night.

Room Tip: If you have mobilty problems, you may have difficulty negotiating the narrow, winding staircase.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank is1groovygal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xstof, Owner at Albert 1 Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
thank you for your review..
your room 32 was aircondiotioned, so there is a possibility to close the two times double glazed windows even in the summer to reduce traffic noise....
we are glad you liked your stay and Bruges..
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.4 mi away
Academie Hotel
Academie Hotel
#20 of 97 in Bruges
2,109 reviews
0.5 mi away
Novotel Brugge Centrum
0.5 mi away
Hotel Aragon
Hotel Aragon
#15 of 97 in Bruges
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Biskajer Adults Only
0.3 mi away
Hotel Prinsenhof Bruges
1.0 mi away
Hotel Ter Duinen
Hotel Ter Duinen
#6 of 97 in Bruges
1,952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albert 1 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albert 1 Hotel

Property: Albert 1 Hotel
Address: Koning Albert I Iaan 2-4 ('t Zand), Bruges 8000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Bruges
#28 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Albert 1 Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Albert 1 is tucked away behind the attractive façade of a strikingly beautiful and typical Bruges town house close to the Concert Hall. Visitors are just a few minutes’ walk away from the historic centre of Bruges and yet they are able to enjoy all the peace and quiet of a tranquil oasis. No single stone has been left unturned in the desire to create total comfort for guests in the beautiful English cottage-style interior with its sumptuous ambiance. The 13 tastefully furnished rooms have all modern amenities such as bath/shower, toilet, hair dryer, flat screen TV with digital channels and telephone with direct outside line as well as free internet access and a safe. 12 of the rooms have air-conditioning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Albert 1 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albert 1 Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing