We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic hotel, staff and location”
Review of Adornes

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Adornes
Ranked #11 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel, staff and location”
Reviewed August 14, 2014

I can't say enough positive things about Rik and the rest of the staff at Hotel Adornes. They were very helpful in providing directions and updates on activities happening in Bruges. It is a short walk to the heart of Bruges, windmills and parks. The rooms were clean and well kept, very comfortable.

I forgot my wallet when I left, Rik reached out and sent it along to the next hotel on our adventure. The staff provided excellent service during our entire stay.

As you walk out of the hotel you have a beautiful canal in front of you with trees over hanging the cobblestone road with swans swimming by. It's a very quaint, relaxing setting.

Room Tip: We selected a family room that was very comfortable for my wife and two teen daughters. The elevator...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlaskaExpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

797 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    565
    202
    21
    7
    2
See reviews for
122
490
25
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
189 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2014

Adornes is unassuming in appearance, consisting of several plain-appearing canal houses. Our basic room was small. Our room had only a hand-held shower, rather than a full shower. There was traffic noise until about 11PM. But every other aspect of the hotel was wonderful. It is located on a picturesque canal, away from the crowds of tourists, but conveniently accessible from the train station (buses 4 and 14 stop right across the canal). The hotel appears beautifully maintained, and is obviously well-run. The breakfast buffet was excellent, and the breakfast room charming. Service from the front desk was great. I'd clearly stay at this hotel again (although I'd pay a bit more for a larger room).

Room Tip: The basic room is small; the double bed is placed against a wall in a corner. A larger room may be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 10, 2014

Beautiful location and the free bikes were a perfect way to get around and enjoy the city. The breakfast was delicious and the room was clean and comfortable. Can't thank the proprietor enough for his recommendation of hard-to-find De Garre.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, OR
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2014 via mobile

Based on TripAdvisor reviews we selected Adornes Hotel for our first visit to Brugge......we were not disappointed. Dagmar, Kim and Ric were welcoming and very helpful with advice, directions and making dinner reservations. Our room, compact and well maintained, over looked the canal. If you are a light sleeper, I would recommend that you request a room in the back. The neighborhood is not particularly busy but there is some traffic noise on the canal side.
The hotel is located an easy walk from the main squares and many restaurants so you don't have to deal with the crowds of tourists. The breakfast is simple and plentiful; a bread basket with several selections, hard boiled eggs, cereal, cold meats & cheeses, yogurt, fruit, etc.
At Kim's suggestion we had dinner at Breydel e Coninc and loved it so much we went back the second night. Try the bouillabaisse and the mussels.
We don't hesitate to recommend this lovely little hotel.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Bendbubbles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2014

Bruges is a beautiful city & the Hotel Adornes is a beautiful, friendly hotel to stay in during your visit. Located on one of the canals in 2 old buildings it just oozes charm & style whilst offering quality accommodation.
We had a room on the second floor - in a high beamed large room with plenty of space to spread out, lovely comfortable beds to sleep on & a good bathroom/showeroom - our only little quibble was that the bathroom was rather warm in the lovely summer weather - but it didn't deter from a lovely stay. (we would suggest maybe a fridge in the room to help keep drinks cool)
Traffic / people noise outside was very minimal & didn't bother us - even with the windows wide open.
Breakfast was included & was very nice - by laying out a little at a time the food, especially the fruit, was always very fresh & the atmosphere very relaxed.
We used their underground parking - which was great & spent several happy days - walking!
Rik was a perfect host, with directions, recommendations & made the stay more special.
All in all - a fabulous choice which we would thoroughly recommend.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelper36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 4, 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Hotel Adornes in May of 2014. It was an absolutely lovely experience! Our room was lovely - very clean, new and comfortable. The view from our window of one of the lovely canals was breathtaking. Brugge is one of the most beautiful cities I have ever visited! The breakfast at Hotel Adornes was included in the price of the room and was simply amazing. We polished off the delicious basket of breads brought to our table every morning and paired it with a lovely selection of meats, cheeses, fruit, yogurt and more. The staff was lovely. I could go on and on. Bottom line - we hope to return to Brugge often and will always choose the Hotel Adornes!

Room Tip: We loved room 318 !
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank April M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
106 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights during the heat wave in July. The hotel is amazing - small but well run and so friendly. We stayed in room 8 and when we walked into the room in the afternoon, I was worried that we would be too hot to sleep but by leaving the windows open in the late evening, the room cooled off and we slept very well.

The staff and friendly nature of this hotel make it worthwhile. I can't remember the name of the lovely woman who is at the front desk during the day but she was so friendly and helpful. As others have said the location is great - it's away from the crazy busy-ness of central Bruges but an easy walk to the center.

The free use of bikes is wonderful and we used them to ride to Dam ( a small town about 5 km away from Bruges along a canal), and to ride around the outskirts of town to see the windmills etc. We did ride them into town and around town but there are so many tourists and cars, that I would not recommend riding the bikes in the town center (I almost had a collision with a tourist who stepped into the rode without looking).

The breakfast served by this hotel (which is included in the price) was also fantastic - a modest selection of typical breakfast foods. We had asked for a canal view room (which they gave us) but I would actually chose a room that looked into the courtyard next time (for quiet). The noise wasn't too bad from the road along the canal but it was more than I was expecting.

I highly recommend the Adornes Hotel.

Room Tip: I would chose a room NOT overlooking the canal - somewhat noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShannonE848
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
0.5 mi away
Hotel Prinsenhof Bruges
0.4 mi away
Relais Bourgondisch Cruyce - Luxe Worldwide Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges
0.2 mi away
Hotel van Cleef
Hotel van Cleef
#1 of 97 in Bruges
5.0 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Navarra
Hotel Navarra
#16 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adornes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adornes

Property: Adornes
Address: Sint-Annarei 26, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Bruges
#10 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Adornes 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quiet location, along one of Brugge's most beautiful canals, at 10 minutes walking from the heart of the centre. A personal welcome, comfortable rooms, an extensive buffet breakfast and not to forget free use of our bicycles, free underground parking and free internet ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Adornes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adornes Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing