We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fabulous hotel!”
Review of Adornes

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Adornes
Ranked #11 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 1, 2012

My wife and I organised an annual gathering of a small group of 19 friends - we stayed at Hotel Adornes from 27th-30th October. Our group have traveled throughout Europe in the last 10 years and the Hotel Adornes is easily the best accommodation we have had. It's located a comfortable 10 minute stroll from the Market Square, in a beautiful location right by the canal (many rooms having canalside views). There is little traffic so the location is pretty quiet, but close enough to the centre of Bruges to easily reach everything. The rooms were all clean, modern and comfortable, varying in size but all our guests were delighted and the room size is reflected in the price. There is a charming breakfast room, with open fire which was very cosy - the breakfast is continental, but much more choice than we have experienced elsewhere - the table was refilled throughout (we have found in other European countries that late arrivals to breakfast get little or no choice). The hotel has no bar - although there is a little lounge in the basement, and they do serve beers but we found several small bars within 1-2 minutes walk. The hotel also has bikes and scooters which are available free to their guests (and even provided free umbrellas at the front door). Decor is smart, and the hotel has a feel of being more expensive than it is.

The staff were fantastic throughout - everyone speaks great English, nothing was ever too much trouble - they were more than helpful with checking our bus/train connections, offering daily suggestions of places to go, recommendations on eating/drinking and all with a smile.

You'll gather I am quite a fan but our entire party of 19 were all really pleased too - our booking was all done via the internet, including a reasonably late change and all with absolutely no hassle!

I have no hesitation in recommending Hotel Adornes 100% - it should be even higher than 9th rated in Bruges on Trip Advisor

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the canalside if you can - it's lovely view to wake up to!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Gerry O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (841)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

335 - 341 of 841 reviews

Reviewed October 30, 2012

Very pleasant hotel with extremely knowledgeable staff. Umbrellas were provided which was great as it poured whilst we were there. Our room in the roof was clean, comfy and spacious. Easy walking to the centre and the restaurants recommended by Ric. Car parking nearby was safe and accessible. A lovely base to visit Bruges.

Stayed: October 2012
3  Thank EKB61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

My Wife and I stayed at Hotel Adornes for 3 nights in October while traveling through Europe. The cozy room had a great view of the canals and had a bathtub but no shower. The fireside breakfast buffet was tasty. Ric was awesome and didn't mind spending time making recommendations and informing us about the history of Bruges. He set us up with a video in the lounge that detailed all of the attractions and history of the town. They have bikes that you can ride around Bruges to see the sights or just have a romantic picnic. The next time we are in Bruges, we’ll definitely stay here again (but we’d request a room with a shower).

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JFO223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We stayed at Hotel Adornes for three nights in October. The hotel is along one of the canals, and has terrific ambience. Rik, the host, was extremely friendly and helpful. It is obvious that he loves the hotel and Brugge. Our room was large and comfortable and very clean. The breakfast buffet was outstanding and we enjoyed the fire in the large fireplace each morning. We highly recommend Hotel Adornes for any stay in Brugge, and we hope to return.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jim5911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

My boyfriend took me to Bruges and Hotel Adornes for my birthday and it was a fabulous place to stay. Quaint building and perfect setting on the canal side, our room was small but also had lovely views over the canals. Breakfast was served in the lovely dining room with fire which made for a cosy setting.

The staff were also really helpful and gave advice on attractions and places to eat and drink.

All in all it was a perfect place to stay and explore Bruges.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank janeatkins09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

What a surprising little place to spend some time in in Brugge. It was warm and windows were open so a bit much street noise until fairly late and again early in the AM. Rome was comfortable but bath was less than expected for the cost. Breakfast was good and offered a lot of variety. The open fireplace in the breakfast room was a cheery touch on a damp morning. Wi-Fi worked but best in the lobby. We selected this place because they offered nearby parking rare for Brugge. We would stay again but ask for a room off the street.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JimDMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We planned on staying 2 nights but loved this quaint hotel,its picturesque canal location,the exceptional staff (especially Natalie the manager) we decided to stay an additional 3 nights. A wonderful find thanks to Rick Steves book but even more exceptional than expected. For European standards in room size, this hotel's rooms are quite large and have very modern bathrooms. The dining area for breakfast is very tastefully decorated creating a lovely ambiance for a scrumptious daily buffet breakfast. We also enjoyed having access to their complimentary bikes. Highly recommend this hotel for its quiet location in Bruges very hospitable,helpful staff,great breakfasts and all of its charm. Thank you Natalie for your most gracious assistance in making our trip so pleasurable and memorable. (we also loved your suggestion of visiting Le Crotoy in France).l

Room Tip: All excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Prinsenhof Bruges
0.3 mi away
Hotel Ter Duinen
Hotel Ter Duinen
#6 of 97 in Bruges
2,056 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Navarra Brugge
Hotel Navarra Brugge
#16 of 97 in Bruges
2,305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
0.3 mi away
Oud Huis de Peellaert
Oud Huis de Peellaert
#18 of 97 in Bruges
1,309 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Brugge
Crowne Plaza Brugge
#22 of 97 in Bruges
1,582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adornes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adornes

Address: Sint-Annarei 26, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Bruges
#10 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range: $133 - $197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Adornes 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quiet location, along one of Brugge's most beautiful canals, at 10 minutes walking from the heart of the centre. A personal welcome, comfortable rooms, an extensive buffet breakfast and not to forget free use of our bicycles, free underground parking and free internet ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Adornes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adornes Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing