We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location & Great Staff - shame about the building”
Review of Academie Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Academie Hotel
Ranked #19 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great location & Great Staff - shame about the building”
Reviewed June 16, 2009

Ideal location for all the tourist attractions and best restaurants very glad I stayed here as a result.
To top it off the staff were excellent, very helpful, plenty of suggestions and always apporachable.
The facilities including the bar with outdoor terrace, underground secure on-site parking and free internet access were all greatly appreciated.
Breakfast was included in our deal and as such the hotel was reasonably priced as a result. Although I understand that all the hotels in Bruges are expensive by comparison anyway.
The only issue (not really a complaint) is the architecture of the building looks like some mad engineer has been let loose on the place. There's steps up and down (on the same level), out of place ramps, low bulkheads, column and vaulted ceilings mismatching and odd room shapes. If they consulted a Proper Architect they could make the spaces look nicer and get even better use out of them.

Otherwise thoroughly enjoyed staying here

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dreamdiving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    998
    865
    206
    52
    25
See reviews for
297
1,208
69
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (303)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
North of London
Level 6 Contributor
335 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2009

We stayed there early June 2009 as part of an organised tour. It is clean and modern although in in old building. The bedroom had plenty of space and a decent sized bathroom with adequate towels and pillows. The self-service buffet breakfast was very good indeed offering a range of cold cheeses, meats, eggs, sausages, beans and breads and croissants with a variety of jams etc. Here as in the rest of the hotel, the staff who all spoke good English were attentive and helpful. Garage parking is available, a rarity in Bruges at about €15 per day. Nice to see a free internet connection in the small lounge but the connection was very slow and as such frustrating. The hotel has Wifi all round I believe. Beware of the French keyboard which is a mile away from a conventional British QWERTY keyboard! Ask for a discount card which offers reductions to a variety of museums and canal trips. There are no meals available other than breakfast but there is a small bar area to relax and chat as there is also a nice courtyard weather permitting. Rack price is about €120 a day per room B&B. Reasonable I think for an extremely expensive city. I have been advised they they will negotiate on the price if the hotel is not full. So ask!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BerkoBoy88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2009

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights. It's very well located, the rooms are clean and ok with a small fridge. Overall the hotel is good but not a 4 stars hotel!! Anyway going to Bruges is not to stay in the hotel, so this is a good place to stay near the center and 10 minutes walk from the train station

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fjeron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2009

We stayed here the last bank holiday weekend in May. Was only a 10-15 minute walk from the train station, very near to the convent and lovers lake. A great central location, hotel was good with a nice bar area and central court yard. We had a good room (225) overlooking the court yard. Only fault was we had two single beds, but not a big deal as only stayed two nights. Nice resturants only 2 min walk and round the corner from Zot brewery. Would recommend the brewery tour.

Overall hotel was good, location excellent and Bruge was fantastic, walked everywhere.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jackiemartinLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NL
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2009

Booked this gem at the last minute and was pleasantly surprised! The rates were quite a bit lower than other hotels in this very busy little city, but the place was very clean and had everything we needed. We also got a free upgrade to a triple room which had an extra cot, though we'd booked a double and asked for a cot for our six year old (the toddler was to sleep in the big bed with us). We all had beds for the same price. We also heard someone ask if they could stay another night but that one guest would be leaving his party, so could he switch to a smaller room... they told him not to worry about it, and charged him the lower rate.

Parking is tight and for a charge, but hey, it's there, and they let us park there the whole day after check-out. The location is perfect. My two sisters shared a twin room, which had twin beds pushed together when they could have been spaced out quite easily. But we just moved one and it was fine. And on the first floor we could access Wifi, but not on the third (though they specified it was in public areas only, so we were happy to get it in at least one of our rooms!).

We didn't have the breakfast as there is a bakery across the street, so I have no review of that.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank somanyjs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcestershire, England
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2009

I stayed in a triple room with a group of friends. Bruges was lovely and we had a great time - definately take a trip to the tea house opposite the hotel - it is lovely. Great cakes, tea and cheese on toast!! The hotel was perfect for a weekend away. It was clean, fairly modern and in an excellent location. Perhaps not all out luxury (if you wanted an extra special romantic get away) but great for a trip with friends. I'm quite picky about cleanliness and room standards - and I thought it was nice!

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EmmaWorcestershire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2009

We stayed here on a 3 day trip to Bruges with Riviera Travel. No complaints - the hotel was really nice and we were lucky enough to be given a very spacious room which is designed for someone disabled with wheelchair access - the bathroom especially was huge compared to most en suites. This room was very quiet, overlooking a courtyard but I can't imagine even the rooms overlooking the street would be noisy as it is a narrow cobbled street with very few cars going down it - more horse and carriages! he breakfast was good with plenty of choice to suit everyone. Reception staff friendly and helpful. The whole trip was brilliant and even better than we expected.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank islander73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
0.1 mi away
Novotel Brugge Centrum
0.4 mi away
NH Brugge
NH Brugge
#37 of 97 in Bruges
2,259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Martin's Brugge
Martin's Brugge
#40 of 97 in Bruges
2,870 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Navarra
Hotel Navarra
#16 of 97 in Bruges
2,181 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Prinsenhof Bruges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Academie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Academie Hotel

Property: Academie Hotel
Address: Wijngaardstraat 7-9, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Bruges
#12 Luxury Hotel in Bruges
#24 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
#27 Family Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Academie Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Academie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Academie Bruges
Academie Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing