We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Academie Hotel”
Review of Academie Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Academie Hotel
Ranked #18 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Academie Hotel”
Reviewed May 15, 2014 via mobile

We initially booked this hotel as a last resort due to the availability and the price. We came over with the sole intention of sampling the local beer all 10 of us, not really with any expectations, well this hotel is an absolute find and a gem in the heart of Bruges. The location is perfect, right in the heart of the city, it has an underground car park so we didn't have the worry of parking, the hotel is probably the same standard as a Premier Inn in the UK, which is more than adequate, the price also includes breakfast, which is all you can eat and very hearty and finally the staff are very friendly which made the whole experience that much more enjoyable. We would all definitely stay at this wonderful hotel again.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Shanken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,019
    873
    206
    52
    25
See reviews for
307
1,220
70
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (305)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bruges, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2014 via mobile

Hotel is a decent 3 star, so don't be disappointed when you come here expecting a 4 star. Our room was quite gloomy and had a stale smell about it. There looked to be a mouldy patch in one corner. As the safe was so high up I couldn't reach it. The door is operated by a key, so was particularly noisy when other neighbours came and went. There is no evening meal, so it would be nice if they had concentrated on the breakfast. Very average. Service from staff was good.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2014

Great location, a few minutes walk from the station and close to the tourist heart of Bruges. Front desk staff helpful, rooms a bit small but more than adequate. Only real issue was poor sound insulation, with any conversations in the corridors clearly audible in the rooms. Not a major problem as other guests were generally quiet anyway.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JSMunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2014 via mobile

We went to Bruges on a mini cruise & extended our stay by one night at this hotel. We were very pleasantly surprised at the quality of accommodation & the convenient location at a very reasonable price. We arrived early but were able to check into our room & we also left our luggage on the day of checkout until it was time to return to the ferry. Wish we could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DDavies85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2014

Travelled with Riviera Travel for the first time and my first time travelling on my own.
The 4 day trip going by Eurostar was very well organised and as advertised by the tour company.
A very knowledgeable guide and caring.
The Hotel Academie is very well situated near most things, quiet and comfortable. don't be put off that they do not serve evening meals, as there are many good restaurants so close by.
I will return again as Bruges is such a beautiful place, safe and very welcoming to the British.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lindsey A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2014

Great hotel in a wonderful location, all the staff were very helpful, good size room and spacious bathroom. Breakfast was included in the deal and overall a great value hotel. It's great to have an hotel in this position with an underground car park.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bestofmates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2014

The Academie Hotel is a superb choice in Bruges, as it's away from the madding crowd, tucked back from the main drag, on a beautiful, quaint street with lots of interesting shops and great restaurants. Room was OK ... not spectacular, but nice. Modern, with lots of outlets. Space age lightning. Front desk staff was pleasant and accommodating.

The breakfast room was strangely and inefficiently designed, but there were plenty of food options represented. It was just crowded, noisy, and you had to wait in line for all the big necessities, like coffee and juice.

I would stay here again without hesitation. Absolutely LOVED the surrounding area.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CountessCeprano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.1 mi away
Novotel Brugge Centrum
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
0.4 mi away
NH Brugge
NH Brugge
#36 of 97 in Bruges
2,295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Ibis Budget Brugge Centrum Station
0.4 mi away
Martin's Brugge
Martin's Brugge
#42 of 97 in Bruges
2,899 reviews
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Brugge
Crowne Plaza Brugge
#24 of 97 in Bruges
1,523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Academie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Academie Hotel

Property: Academie Hotel
Address: Wijngaardstraat 7-9, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Bruges
#11 Luxury Hotel in Bruges
#24 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
#27 Family Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Academie Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Academie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Academie Bruges
Academie Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing