We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent choice, excellent location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Academie Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Academie Hotel
Ranked #20 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent choice, excellent location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2014

We picked this hotel for an overnight stay after an overnight mini cruise from Hull. Excellent choice of hotel. Most drop off points are near the station - so cross the main road and head towards the lake. The location is very near the 'lake of love' and the brewery. We were able to leave our luggage in a secure storage area before we checked in and when we had checked out.

Its a short walk into the centre of town - past many, many chocolate shops. There are some very nice resturants and bars near the hotel - we ate in the Vivaldi resturant nearly opposite the hotel - and drank next door at the very little bar with a big beer selection. The bar in the hotel was reasonably priced too.

The room was large, comfortable - with good lighting and heating - we had a view over a lovely old courtyard and surrounded by small houses (when you leave the hotel turn left and left again to see it).

Bruges is not cheap - but it is a beautiful city with lots to see or do - ideally two nights would have been better - we only had one -and wished we had booked two.

I would highly recommend this hotel. There is a fitness centre but we did not use it - it was so much nicer to walk round outside - you can walk round the city canal - past all the windmills - very safe and beautiful

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank holidayhp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,023 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    921
    829
    198
    52
    23
See reviews for
268
1,156
61
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (289)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014

Me and my partner went on the mini cruise to Brugge with two overnight stays in the Academie Hotel. When we got off the coach and eventually got our barrings, we realised that it is only a short walk (although we made it longer with our hopeless navigation skills). We got a lovely warm welcome when we first arrived and they even let us check in 5 hours early. Our apartment was past the lovely outdoor smoking/seating area around the corner from the gym in the hotel. It was a lovely room with a seating area and a big double bed. The bathroom was really nice too although when we had a shower, there was no ventilation so it got very steamy! We both had a great sleep on both nights! The breakfast was mainly continental but the staff were very friendly.
The hotel is only a short walk from the Lake of Love and about 10 minutes from the main market place. We loved our stay here and would definitely recommend to anyone to stay there, and hopefully we will return!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gemma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

Excellent location for sightseeing and had no complaints about the hotel or staff. Easy to get to from train station and central to all main attractions around Bruges. Hotel clean and welcoming and staff friendly and helpful. Would definately return and recomend.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2014

Me and my wife arrived on our first anniversary and we're surprised to find very dirty bed sheets.

We then complained to the front desk and we were informed that it would be taken care of.

We then returned that evening and were told that the bed sheets had been changed. When we returned to our room and we noticed that they were the same sheets and nothing had been changed!

I then had to go back to the front desk and complain. They did say they had changed sheets but had lied to us.

We then had to escort a member of staff to point out the bed stains and human hairs!

On top of that they were very rude and said it wasn't their fault but that it came like that from the laundry room. They then told me that they had come to check the sheets but could not see the things I had pointed out so had left the sheets like that.

Very poor service and un-hygienic rooms, I was very surprised as I had booked the room due to the feedback from trip-advisor!!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LondonDaveSouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2014 via mobile

The Academie was a great base for exploring thee beautiful full city of Bruges, easy to reach from the station, and a short stroll from the tourist centre. Rooms were clean, quiet and well equipped. The staff were very friendly and the atmosphere very relaxed, would definitely recommend and will be returning

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nicki E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2014

My friend and I wanted to get away on a budget, and hotel seemed like a good deal, so we decided to go for it.

Great location, only a few minutes away from everything, but down a little side street with a supermarket and some great shops and restaurants nearby.

The rooms are basic but clean, with a fridge, overlooking the little courtyard outside, and a great breakfast buffet in the morning (mini pancakes, pastries, fruit, meats, juice etc) - much more than we were expecting for the price.

The receptionist was very helpful when we were trying to get in touch with a tour operator we'd booked with, and helped us figure out where the pick up point for the trip was too.

Great value for money for a great base in Bruges.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster
Level Contributor
88 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2014

The hotel is about 10 minutes walk from the centre of Bruges. On arrival staff were very welcoming and helpful. Bedroom was large, comfortable and spotlessly clean. The bed was massive and very comfortable,
Breakfast was taken in a large dining room with a good choice of items available. My only slight criticism was the siting of the hot drinks machine, which led to some queueing. Overall ,very good.P.S try the little pub next door for great Belgian beers!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank horsfif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.4 mi away
Martin's Brugge
Martin's Brugge
#38 of 97 in Bruges
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,749 reviews
0.1 mi away
Novotel Brugge Centrum
0.6 mi away
Hotel Navarra
Hotel Navarra
#17 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,069 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Adornes
Adornes
#9 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 779 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
0.5 mi away
Hotel Jan Brito
Hotel Jan Brito
#27 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Academie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Academie Hotel

Property: Academie Hotel
Address: Wijngaardstraat 7-9, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Bruges
#12 Luxury Hotel in Bruges
#24 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
#27 Family Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Academie Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Academie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Academie Bruges
Academie Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing