We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, excellent staff.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Academie Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Academie Hotel
Ranked #20 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Maldon, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great location, excellent staff.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights earlier this month, The hotel is ideally located for all of Bruges' attractions, you can walk to most within 5-15 minutes.

We had an initial problem with the lack of ventilation in our bathroom, but this was quickly and professionally sorted out by Jerome on reception, who was helpful throughout our stay.

The room was comfortable and not cramped.

Only let down was the breakfast, which was pretty dire to be honest. Processed hot and cold food, 'chemical' juice and nothing really fresh, but plenty of tasty cafes just a few minutes walk away.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alwills_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,023 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    921
    829
    198
    52
    23
See reviews for
268
1,156
61
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (289)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2014

My partner and I stayed here for 3 nights recently. The location was ideal for exploring different parts of Bruges, being central but also quiet. The room was large and well equipped and the bathroom unusually spacious. There was plenty of choice for breakfast. There are several restaurants in the area and a bar two doors down serving a choice of draft beers, claiming to be the best in Bruges.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 451Ian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014

Stayed here between Christmas and New Year as part of our "Belgian" road trip. Is in a great location, although it was a bit worrying following the satnav as the roads are very narrow and crammed with people! All the main attractions are within a few minutes walk. Rooms seem a bit dated but are clean and very spacious. Staff are extremely helpful and would definitely recommend. There was no problem for them to book us a table for a meal. Bed was 2nd best I've ever slept in!! (See Sanderton Business Centre in Brussels). Would be a great spot in the summer as it has a small courtyard with seating, which would be great escape from the crowds. Could probably do with a bit of redecoration, but that is being picky.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SimonJ1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Level Contributor
58 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014

Staying in Academie Hotel just before Christmas was a lovely experience, The hotel is in a lovely area of bruges within walking distance of train station, a few meters from the lake of love and close to all the interesting buildings. The staff at check in were very courteous and informative. The room was very comfortable, and warm. Breakfast was good a better selection of fresh fruit would be appreciated. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gint06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
122 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014

We booked this as a last.minute.com package including eurostar. The hotel was much better than we expected for the price. It is an excellent location: in the old town but only a short walk from the station. It was very quiet indeed and the staff were friendly and helpful. The room was pretty standard but was better than the norm in that it included a table with 2 comfortable chairs and the lighting was very good, varying from dim to bright. The shower was powerful. The bed comfortable. The lighting good. There was a kettle and fridge; also tv and free wifi. The daily cleaning was efficient. There was a secure storage for our cases after check-out on the last day. The only criticism was slight staining on the carpet and black mould marks on the shower's grouting.

Room Tip: Our room was at the back of the hotel with a window over a central courtyard. It was very quiet - b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2014

We booked this hotel well in advance and got a great rate incluing the breakfast. The hotel is within walking distance of the train station, and close enough to walk into the centre within 10 minutes. The hotel itself looks great inside, and the rooms are spacious and have all the amenities you'd want. Bathrooms are a good size, beds are comfy, room overnight was quiet (enough) and the air-con actually works! Breakfast was good with plenty of supplies, though the hot food didn't look too appealing - if it's included in your rate though you can't go wrong.

There are plenty of good restaurants/bars close by and a Carrafour supermarket around the corner - and with a fridge in the room it's ideal for picking up you late night beer supplies :-)

The only problem was that they seemed to pipe music into the courtyard of an evening, so you could hear it in you room - not a problem until 10:00pm, when they seemed to turn it up for some unkown reason unitl it went off around 11:30-Midnight. I'm being harsh here as it wasn't that loud but I just don't see why they did it....

In summary, if you book in advance and get a deal it will be great value for money. If you're paying standard rates, I'd still recommend it but it would just about be value for money, and compares rate-to-value similar to the better chain hotels we've stayed in Brugge.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chagra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2014

This is a fair good enough hotel when visiting Bruges, it´s very well located and the room was comfortable and clean. We were 3 adults so we booked a triple and the three beds were very good, not uncomfortable smaller bed for the 3rd person like in most of the hotels. Bathroom was also good. It´s not a beautiful or special hotel, and you don´t see the value of other 4 stars, but it´s functional and comfortable so that was good enough for me for the value.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank martisviajeraww
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.4 mi away
Martin's Brugge
Martin's Brugge
#38 of 97 in Bruges
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,749 reviews
0.1 mi away
Novotel Brugge Centrum
0.6 mi away
Hotel Navarra
Hotel Navarra
#17 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,069 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Adornes
Adornes
#9 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 779 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
0.5 mi away
Hotel Jan Brito
Hotel Jan Brito
#27 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Academie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Academie Hotel

Property: Academie Hotel
Address: Wijngaardstraat 7-9, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Bruges
#12 Luxury Hotel in Bruges
#24 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
#27 Family Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Academie Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Academie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Academie Bruges
Academie Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing