We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Never a 4* Hotel” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Academie Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Academie Hotel
Ranked #20 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridgeshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Never a 4* Hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014

We recently did a Mini Break to Bruges. We paid above the norm to be in a "better" Hotel. 4* usually means something quite special but maybe the Belgian Tourist board are not so particular!
The Hotel reception were excellent as were all the staff. However the place is a bit run down to say the least. The pillows in the room were mini cushions and the bed was rather too soft. I know its personal preference on this but they really are soft. The en suite bathroom was ok but the shower was a bit awkward to use. The rooms heating was good and the TV had free view channels. The room also had WiFi which worked.
Breakfast was OK with a few weird offerings. Coffee was just drinkable. The scrambled eggs and the cold meats were ok but not a 4* breakfast by anyones imagination.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Geoff F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,022 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    920
    829
    198
    52
    23
See reviews for
268
1,156
61
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (289)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Queretaro City, Mexico
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014

We were lucky to find reservations for this hotel during the high season. The hotel location is very good, at walking distance from the train station as well as from the main downtown attractions. The staff was very kind, the room was small but comfortable and had everything I needed. The restaurant opens only for buffet breakfast which was a lot better tan what I have seen in other Eruopean hotels. The room rates are quite reasonable. I would definetly go back to this place and highly recomend it.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OGAMty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

We stayed at the Hotel Academie in December 2013. The hotel was in a perfect location, a short walk from the main squares and it was right outside some wonderful restaurants, belgain chocolatiers and hand made lace shops. The room itself was very clean and very comfortable with plenty of amenities such as a hair dryer, kettle, mood lighting and plenty of towels. The breakfast was very lovely and the house beer was even better....had a few too many to be honest! The staff were very welcoming and helpful during our stay and I would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JessicaCheape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

My boyfriend and I travelled to bruges for the new year. We're very glad we chose this hotel, the staff were welcoming and more than helpful in giving advice about Bruges. The breakfast was pleasant and the room had all the basics. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Do ask for what kind of bed you want
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sonia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

Good location - close to all attractions.
Simple, clean rooms with comfy beds. Towels changed daily & hairdryer in bathroom.
Never ate in hotel so unable to comment on this.
Staff friendly and helpful.
Would recommend.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gemla82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

Academie Hotel is characterised by its great location, friendly staff and fair prices. Located within the city ring-road, it is a couple of roads away from the main streets. This means that it is within walking distance of the sights, yet does not suffer from noise.

The room was nice, with everything I would expect, with a fairly soft bed. Breakfast was a standard affair, with the cooked food being fairly tasteless, though nothing approaching inedible.

The highlight of our stay were the staff who were a pleasure to talk to and, even though they were working on Christmas day, were friendly and helpful. Myself and my partner sat and enjoyed their beer selection whilst chatting to them for a long time over our four night stay. The hotel's location is excellent for the surrounding restaurants and bars, which are less expensive than right on the high street but perhaps even have better food.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chr1sh3nry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staplehurst, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

Great hotel, staff very friendly and helpful. Catering staff very good as a few of us didn't' like what was on the menu they found us an alternative. Great location for seeing Bruges. Would stay again

Room Tip: If can't use a lift ask for ground or first floor as stairs do get a bit steep after that
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.4 mi away
Martin's Brugge
Martin's Brugge
#38 of 97 in Bruges
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,743 reviews
0.1 mi away
Novotel Brugge Centrum
0.6 mi away
Hotel Navarra
Hotel Navarra
#16 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Adornes
Adornes
#9 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 779 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
0.5 mi away
Hotel Jan Brito
Hotel Jan Brito
#27 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Academie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Academie Hotel

Property: Academie Hotel
Address: Wijngaardstraat 7-9, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Bruges
#12 Luxury Hotel in Bruges
#24 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
#27 Family Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Academie Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotel.de, HRS, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Academie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Academie Bruges
Academie Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing