We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Christmas stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Academie Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Academie Hotel
Ranked #22 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Staplehurst, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Christmas stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

Great hotel, staff very friendly and helpful. Catering staff very good as a few of us didn't' like what was on the menu they found us an alternative. Great location for seeing Bruges. Would stay again

Room Tip: If can't use a lift ask for ground or first floor as stairs do get a bit steep after that
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,021 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    919
    829
    198
    52
    23
See reviews for
268
1,155
61
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (289)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

I was a bit dubious about staying here after reading some of the reviews but I have to say I couldn't fault the hotel. The room was lovely, very comfortable, clean and modern. It is very easy to walk to from the station and is ideally situated for the centre. The breakfast was good and there was a good choice to suit all tastes. The staff are lovely and extremely friendly, they speak very good English and are very helpful. There is a left luggage room if you want to spend more time in the town before setting off home. The trains to Brussels MIDI (Zuid) run about every half hour approx on the hour and half past. Would recommend a visit to De Poulin restaurant next door the choice is limited but chicken is a must. Also try Salade Follie just around the corner the food is superb, try Tonka for a meal too pizza was delicious and the staff were lovely. I would probably agree that it might not be typical 4 star but it worked for me and I am quite fussy. Will most definitely be back.

Room Tip: There is no pool but I can't undo the rating so ignore. We stayed in room 335 overlooking the co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruggerball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013

This was a suprise weekend away for me so I had no indication as to what to expect and I have to say my wife made a superb choice (not that she doesn't normally).
Its location was easily found following a walk from the train station in one of Brugge's many narrow streets - this one frequented by the Horse Drawn Carriages which we did not hear indoors.
Our room was up on the top floor, however the view required sticking your head out of the window otherwise it was facing the roof of this hotel - however no onlookers.
Accommodation was very comfortable and the room was a bit too warm at times - the heating controls took a bit of practice.
Breakfast was the usual international buffet with some strange [too me] offerings {sugar coated potato slices]. Plentiful.
Don't know whether it was due to being on top floor but the wifi was very slow and constantly dropping out.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ColinTaylor16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013

We stayed over Xmas with crusader coach trip, the food was good, Lots of choice on the breakfast,the scrambled egg with bacon was very good cant see how anyone could complain about the breakfast. the staff were friendly and helpful and the room was comfortable with a large double bed. The maid service was very good and the room was lovely and clean if a bit hot but there was air con. The prices in the bar were on a par with England and it was easy to walk all around the town from the location. We enjoyed our stay here and would return if going to Bruges again.

Room Tip: room 201 was good if you dont mind the horses clip clopping past
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sweetiepie021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013

We stayed in the triple room on the 1st floor of Hotel Academie in Bruges. It was a very basic room and was strangely laid out! The pillows were very uncomfortable, large and lumpy. The most unfortunate thing about this room was the thinness of the walls. This was not a relaxing time for us. At all hours of the night the door at the end of the hallway squeaked loudly when opened and shuddered on closing, and was unfortunately just on the other side of the wall of our room. As well as this, we could clearly hear people walking up the stairs to the door, and the loud drunken conversations of the late night revellers! None of us slept well. Definitely would not recommend the triple room on the first floor. Other than that, the hotel was in a great location and the staff seemed nice and friendly. We ate at the tea room right across the cobbled street from the hotel entrance, food was very nice and Cheaper than the hotel breakfast which didn't sound at all appealing.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gerripl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here with family great location very clean large room nicely decorated friendly staff can have breakfast in fantastic tea room across the road if you've not booked breakfast. Would definitely consider booking again.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank KaziAli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

When you are paying a little more for a hotel, you expect a little more in service, location, etc. Academie Hotel didn't dissapoint. We were pleased with the room (we had a family room), the staff (kind & helpful), and the location (near enough that we could walk everywhere we wanted - even with small children). Glad we chose this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kasey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.4 mi away
Martin's Brugge
Martin's Brugge
#38 of 97 in Bruges
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,740 reviews
0.1 mi away
Novotel Brugge Centrum
0.6 mi away
Hotel Navarra
Hotel Navarra
#17 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,066 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
NH Brugge
NH Brugge
#37 of 97 in Bruges
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,136 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Jan Brito
Hotel Jan Brito
#26 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,187 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Academie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Academie Hotel

Property: Academie Hotel
Address: Wijngaardstraat 7-9, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Bruges
#14 Luxury Hotel in Bruges
#24 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
#27 Family Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Academie Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Academie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Academie Bruges
Academie Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing