We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would definitely use again”
Review of Academie Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Academie Hotel
Ranked #18 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 12, 2013

I and my wife were pleased with this hotel and intend to book in here on our next visit in 2014. Costs were kept down by a good extensive breakfast being supplied and a decent bar. All other food requirements can be met by the huge variety of shops and restaurants in the local vicinity (within 100 yards).
By booking this hotel as part of a package (via Eurostar etc.) you can obtain a far keener price than accessing their website. Enjoy.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hemscott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,215)
There are newer reviews for Academie Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,068 - 1,074 of 2,215 reviews

Reviewed December 11, 2013

Location perfect, a few minutes walk from both the train station and the main sites yet in a small street right in the 'romantic quarter' near the 'lake of love'. Staff couldn't have been more helpful, breakfast was good for Belgium and constantly being refreshed by staff, room modern, clean and comfortable, bar prices not too bad, large bright safe luggage store room, lovely patisserie literally across the road and several quaint restaurants in the street in case you have walked miles in the day including climbing the 366 steps to the top of the tower (worth it for the view!) and don't want to walk again in the evening.

Room Tip: We were across the internal courtyard and it was really quiet, can't comment on other locations...
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LH1171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2013

I have stayed in the hotel for 2 nights in December. The area is lovely! Right next to the lake of love and just a short walk from the main market square but quieter. Good few restaurants, tea rooms and shops around all less crowded and visited as often by locals as by tourists.
Our room was large and clean but a bit dated with tea and coffee facilities and small fridge if you fancy a Belgian beer in bed. Can’t say it was luxurious but definitely great place for a long weekend break. Warning - the walls are thin as a paper! Not a great choice for a honeymooners for sure! The best asset of the hotel is staff. Everyone was lovely and everyone had great language skills. The only down side was breakfast. Hot food was a very poor quality, not a great choice of either hot or cold food. It might be worth it to go for a room only option and go for a nice brekkie and lovely coffee to a little tea room across the road.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for two nights, they charge Five Star International Hotel Chain prices, but they are most certainly not - maybe not enough competition???

To be fair the hotel is very nice, its clean for the most part, staff are good if a little officious, as they are just "Following Orders!!!""

Rooms are reasonably well appointed and again to be fair, quite large, however unlike large chains hotels that their prices aspire to they charge for things that in good hotels should be free, for example....

We were staying in a normal room at the normal 'Christmas rate" (The Flemish translation for normal christmas rate is.... we'll milk the customers for all we can get), which is a fairly high price and then charge £12.00 per night for a cot!!! most hotels this would be FOC.

In another room, they cahrged full rate for my very young Grand- daughter, again this would be a free of charge service in a chain hotel.

So this was very dissappointing and penny pinching, sort of took the edge off what was a good trip.

Hotel bar is very good and cosy, if a little pricey, not much by the way of snacks, but enough.

The breakfast was unfeasably expensive in my opinion, fairly ordinary affair, with the likes of congealed scambled eggs, warmed up brine sausages, nothing really fressh and certainly not worth the money.

Very, very poor

My recommednation, is immediately opposite the hotel entrance is a little tea room that does a great breakfast, totally fresh and cooked to order, and without doubt the best waffles in Bruge.

May advice have breakfast there and not in the Hotel

Room Tip: Not a bad hotel, a bit on the pricey side for what you get, saying that the hotel is clean, well ap...
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank howie999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013 via mobile

We were very happy with our stay. The area was lovely and within walking distance to all the sights. This hotel is really close to the lake of love. We had a large room overlooking the internal courtyard. The vaulted breakfast area was great too.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank LeonieLH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2013

Stayed here for three nights. Good standard of accommodation. We stayed room only so I can't comment on the breakfast option. However there are so many places to eat, we were spoilt for choice. Would happily stay here again as it is only 10 minutes for the station.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shirley_Chapman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2013

Great location , handy for station but close enough to centre to easily walk everywhere to sights and decent eating places. Staff very friendly and helpful,excellent language skills. Clean and comfortable, our room large,well appointed, tea and coffee on tap, BBC on TV. Would have preferred a double bed rather than two singles pushed together but no big deal. Breakfast was included, good variety of fairly decent food - all tastes catered for. The bar was very reasonably priced compared to others nearby. Not the absolute height of luxury but a great place for a short break and ticked all the boxes for us, as everywhere, the most important asset is the staff- couldn't fault any of them, we'll definitely use Academie again.

Room Tip: Rooms at front overlooking street do get noise from passing tourists fairly early - if you're a...
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandollars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.1 mi away
Novotel Brugge Centrum
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
0.4 mi away
NH Brugge
NH Brugge
#37 of 97 in Bruges
2,341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Ibis Budget Brugge Centrum Station
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Brugge
Crowne Plaza Brugge
#23 of 97 in Bruges
1,549 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Navarra Brugge
Hotel Navarra Brugge
#15 of 97 in Bruges
2,238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Academie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Academie Hotel

Address: Wijngaardstraat 7-9, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Bruges
#11 Luxury Hotel in Bruges
#24 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
#27 Family Hotel in Bruges
Price Range: $103 - $215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Academie Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Academie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Academie Bruges
Academie Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing