We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location, location!”
Review of Academie Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Academie Hotel
Ranked #18 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 31, 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Academies for 3 nights in August and found it to be an excellent choice for a city break. The hotel is ideally located in the heart of the old town, within 10 - 15 minutes walk of all the sights, including the main square, and just around the corner from the convent and the brewery. It is also easily walkable from the train station when arriving and departing Bruges. The staff at the hotel were very friendly and helpful and our room was quiet, reasonably spacious and well equipped. The hotel also offers free wifi for guests, which we found extremely useful, and has a reasonable breakfast buffet in the morning. Overall, we are ally enjoyed our trip to Bruges and would not hesitate to recommend the Hotel Academie as a base for a city break here.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Matt-T78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,216)
There are newer reviews for Academie Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,140 - 1,146 of 2,216 reviews

Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for two nights here over a weekend in mid August. The reception staff were friendly and gave us a discount booklet for local attractions and a map upon arrival. We opted against breakfast as it seemed expensive. The room was comfortable and clean though was warm. The aur conditioning sorted this out but it was quite loud so we didn't sleep solidly through the night. Great location and amenities.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alice B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Very helpful staff who are multilingual and friendly. The hotel has underground parking which is rare in Bruges but it does cost 15 euros a day. Rooms were fine and the bar and terrace area was good especially in the warm weather. The location is the great bit, right next to Minnewater and a 10 minute walk to the old centre.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank MartinS39194S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We stayed here on a Friday in August . First suggestion, know where you are going before you get to Bruges ...we spent an hour driving around trying to Get to the hotel because we missed the one way street before the hotel's street. It is an impossible city to get around in by car if you are not familiar with the one way streets.
Once we arrived it was great , we had reserved a parking space in their garage, which if you do not have a tiny car do not attempt to use, it was a 30 point turn to get it in a space. (And we had a fairly small car.)
The room was for three so it had three twin beds , two pushed together. The only bad part of the room was it was on the street so all the street noise came straight up...horse and carriage clopping by, people walking by, rather annoying, so, ask for a room on the back of the hotel.
The nice part was we could leave the hotel and walk everywhere we wanted to go. We had dinner at a little restaurant down the street on the corner...very convenient and good.
In the morning we went down to breakfast , which wasn't free, but worth the 12 euros ...they had everything imaginable and then some. Very European ...cold cuts and breads and hot food and fruit and eggs and sausage ...the list goes on.
We were able to leave the car and our stuff there for the day while we wandered around ...the parking is extra, but worth it just for the convenience of having a place to park and leave your bags.
Staff was nice and helpful. If I ever make it back to Bruges I would stay again, especially now that I know how to find it.

Room Tip: Get a courtyard room if at all possible, or bring earplugs.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RelaxMT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

Just stayed recently for one night. Great value hotel. It's ideal in terms of location and has a handy car park (although 15euro extra)

I thought charging 2 euros for tea bags and coffee is a bit stingey but overall a pleasant simple stay.

Tip. Don't stay in bed too late in the morning as the clip clip of horse and cart will wake you!

Bar/restaurant tip. Try the jazz and blues bar just off the main square for better prices on food and good entertainment. http://www.tripadvisor.co.uk/ShowUserReviews-g188671-d741832-r141806988-T_Zwart_Huis-Bruges_West_Flanders_Province.html

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Worldtriptraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

This weekend Break to Bruges (little Vience) was organised by my local family run Coach Holiday Tours / Breaks. BEST TRAVEL, Caerphilly UK (Telephone 02920 86 9902) .

We started our trip from Caerphilly, UK in a very comfortable / Clean coach, enjoying the friendly, and personal attention, care of the owners who run this family Travel Agency. Also a well deserved mention for our excellent Coach Driver Colin who was attentive, courteous throughout, what a "little gem" he was! (On this note I would highly recommend them to any one travelling from my home town of Caerphilly).

The Hotel was very well appointed, within easy walking distant of all the attractions Bruges has to offers. We found we were spoilt by the excellent choices of Restaurants available not far from our Hotel. The various attractions, canal walks, churches, cathedral, main Squares - there are too many wonderful sights, building to mention. The Canal Boat tours are a must, being good value (7.50 euro) an excellent way to see Burge historical bulidings, the boat guide pointing out the various history. (in multi languages) these are excellent value for mone The carraiage rides are another good way to see the Centre and narrow side streets, but expensive if less then four people sharing (39 euro).

Bruges truly is a wonderful, clean City, every where we went, we met with friendly people, from the Hotel Academie staff, waiters, others travellers like ourselves. The Hotel offers good facilities, from comfortable clean rooms, fridge, safe, tea/coffee facilities, hairdryer (which most hotels charge for). The self- serve Breakfast is very good with food choices for every ones personal taste. (food choices are to personal taste) but we found the breakfasts choices excellent.

This Hotel was a suberb choice of our Best Travel Agency owners and would certainly enjoy staying there again in the future. My one thought / wish is to go to Bruges again one day, but think one needs to stay longer then two nights to fully enjoy the beauty/history/romance of this City which is well worth a visit and should be on your list of places to see before you die. You won't be disappointed.

Suggestions
If you like cheese and Wine go to Kaas-a- Miriam - Wijgaardroat 5, B- 8000 Brugge (http://kaas-a-miriam.weebly-com) - Lovely owner, personal service, you can have a choice of cheese board tasters (5, 10 or more) wine, beer at a very reasonable price.

(at present to the right & next door to Hotel, but she is moving later to just around the corner, in square. (There are some lovely eating places as you turn left out of the Hotel in the square and at the bottom of the Hotel road, near the Nunnery.

Good, comfort walking shoes, as the cobbles roads/pavements can be tiring if you have walking problems.

Room Tip: My room (338) was on the third floor, The room was large, comfort, very Quiet, no view as such, but...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rosiew783
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

The Academie is a good hotel in a quiet location, the room which overlooked the courtyard, we could not fault as it was very clean with a bright modern bathroom. The buffet breakfast was fine and there was plenty of choice. The reception staff were very helpful and always pleasant. We had a 10 minute walk to the hotel from the station and it took a similar time to get to the town centre. Overall the hotel is a very good commercial hotel and we would not hesitate to return.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the courtyard
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Colinnewbarnet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.1 mi away
Novotel Brugge Centrum
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
0.4 mi away
NH Brugge
NH Brugge
#36 of 97 in Bruges
2,344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ibis Brugge Centrum
Ibis Brugge Centrum
#46 of 97 in Bruges
2,296 reviews
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Brugge
Crowne Plaza Brugge
#23 of 97 in Bruges
1,550 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Ibis Budget Brugge Centrum Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Academie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Academie Hotel

Address: Wijngaardstraat 7-9, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Bruges
#11 Luxury Hotel in Bruges
#24 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
#27 Family Hotel in Bruges
Price Range: $102 - $217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Academie Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Academie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Academie Bruges
Academie Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing