We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend trip”
Review of Academie Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Academie Hotel
Ranked #19 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Bruges
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Weekend trip”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Great Location, room size good but very dark. Had a fridge in the room, which was useful. Ideal for a few day. Attendance at the bar was often lacking - could do with more staff. Bars and beer museum tour worth a look.


  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Julie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    998
    865
    206
    52
    25
See reviews for
297
1,208
69
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (303)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
South Ockendon
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

We have never been on an organized trip before but after pricing up our options and knowing that we wanted to do the day trip to Iper, we booked with Riviera Travel and we cannot praise Mary, our tour guide and the organization enough.

But back to the hotel. When we book a hotel for a city break the location is so much more important to us than having an upmarket hotel because, at the end of the day, we are only in the room for sleeping, washing and dressing. The location of the Academie is as near perfect as it could be, it is only just off the main shopping street and about 10 minutes from Notra Dame and about 15 minutes from the Main Market Square. The hotel is about a minute's walk from Minnewater Park and it is so lovely with little private spots where you can sit by the canal. We used to go the Park in late afternoon after a tiring day walking round Bruges and it was so peaceful and you could always get some shade and, as we were there in temperatures of 90+ that was most welcoming. There is a fridge in the room so you can pop to the supermarket which is about a minutes walk away to stock up.

Everything about the hotel is clean and although the rooms are not 5 star they are quite modern and more than adequate for a 3 night stay. The air conditioning was perfect, just the right temperature, not too cold and also not noisy. The tv had BBC and ITV channels so you could catch the news if you want to. There were tea making facilities in the room but not fresh milk so if you want to make yourself a cuppa you can pop to the supermarket to get fresh milk and keep it in the fridge. There was plenty of cupboard space and also a safe. Our bathroom was quite modern with a shower over the bath with a screen, plenty of power and plenty of hot water and it was all new.

I wasn't keen on the buffet breakfast but I think for most guests it was adequate, in fact my husband always had the cooked breakfast and enjoyed it. I really liked the coffee, which was from a machine and you helped yourself, but it was perfect for me.

The majority of the guests, I would say, are over 50 and, as a consequence we all queued for the drinks and toast machine, everybody waited their turn and said please and thank you.

We went to the Market Square and had drinks there to soak up a bit of atmosphere but, as with most cities, these were quite expensive. We liked it there for early evening drinks but we didn't eat there, preferring to eat at the restaurants just by Minnewater Park and only about 1 minute from the hotel. We liked the Maximilliane best, we found the food and service good. One word of warning, don't turn up at the Vivaldi at 9.31 because they tell you the kitchen closed at 9.30!!!, whereas the Maximilliane will serve a bit later. We did find though that the Minnewater and Vivaldi restaurants couldn't wait to clear up as you were eating but the Maximilliane wasn't quite as bad. I had the salmon in the Maximilliane from the menu and it was very good.

The horse and carriages start at the Minnewater Park and you can hear them clip clopping past the hotel from about 10 in the morning until 10 at night.

We took the trip to Iper organized by Riviera and it was excellent. Our first stop was Paschandale, the second Hill 62 and the third Iper itself to visit the museum and the Menin Gate and have a spot of lunch. Mary out tour guide gave us all the information regarding the history of the region and the time spent at each location was just right. Even better, because the guests were all seniors, everybody had the good manners to turn up at the correct time and not delay the other travelers.

We took the canal boat trip on our own and it was easy to do. We went late in the day because of the heat but one word of warning is that a couple of the canal stations close about 5 o'clock, whereas the one near the Market Square is open until 6.30.

The organization of Riviera was excellent, from the time we were picked up at Lille until the end of our trip. I cannot compliment Mary enough. This was our first trip with Riviera but not our last - in fact we have already booked for Berlin next May.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank essexworldtraveller9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

The hotel is wonderfully located near Minnewater (Lake of Love), and next to plenty of wonderful restaurants and pubs, not to mention that it is also very close to the railway station (like a 10-15 minutes walk). The staff was very friendly and they were very helpful - having been mezmerized by the beautiful city, we tried to book a day extra and they went out of thir way to let us have the same room for the same promotional price we reserved it for in the first place. The room was very spacious and was cleaned daily. We had every facility we needed, even the tools we needed to have a quick cup of coffee in our room. The hotel features an outdoor terrace and an indoor space for coffee and drinks, very cozy and perfect for checking your e-mail. And the cherry on the cake was the hotel card we got for discounts at local attractions. If we're coming back to Bruges, we're definetly staying here!

Room Tip: We had a room on the ground floor, near the gym - ask for it if you plan on spending a couple of hou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sunkissed_ro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

The Academie hotel is one of the best hotels i have stayed in. friendly staff easy to find about 10 mins walk from the rail way station and in a lovely little side street with restaurants and waffle shops on your door step as well as a carfour supermarket 30 seconds away.

The hotel its self is spotless and the rooms are large with excellent well equipped bathrooms, there is even a hair dryer on the wall. The free easy to use safe in your room and mini fridge are a real bonus as are the kettle and tea and coffee facilitates in your room. there is easy to use air conditioning and heating and the rooms are incredibly quiet you cant here any noise from the adjoining rooms or above or below a real change from most British hotels they could definable learn a thing or two! They even give you a discount card for local attractions.

The buffet breakfast has everything you can want catering for every taste the only thing i could a say is the cooked breakfast option didn't look that appetizing but there is more then enough other choices to keep you happy. This hotel definitely earned its 4 stars and we will be back again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clare2104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dungannon, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

(Apologies for the google translate my dutch extends about as far as Noord Straat)

I give this hotel a four star rating because we were room only and I can not give a five having not tried the food!

Our stay was a pleasant one and might I say Bruges is an incredible city to visit!

The hotel boasts friendly staff, large, clean rooms and top class showers.

On the showers though - whilst we appreciated the lack of filthy shower curtains, the splash wall is a little short! More water on the floor than in the shower!

The hotel is relatively central and it takes less than ten minutes to walk to the Markt (where the belfry etc is) horse and carriage rides (which can be taken from several destinations) are just at the end of the street. Tons of places to get waffles, chocolate and chocolate waffles near by!

The picture below was taken less than 100m from the hotel and is one of the many beautiful spots to sit and take in this unique city (even though I was bitten by a swan one time at home they added to the `atmosphere`.

People here are much nicer than the arrogant ..... in Brussels.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cono94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Just returned from a 3 night stay in Brugge with Riviera Holidays. Check in at the hotel was simple as it had all been pre-arranged by our Tour Manager, Pete, who advised of our room numbers on the coach during transfer from Lille. The reception staff were very efficient and friendly and spoke excellent English, as did everyone else in Brugge. The room was spacious and clean and had tea & coffee making facilities. Breakfast was buffet style with plenty of choice. The hotel had a small bar, lounge area and outside terrace area. The location was ideal for seeing all major sites of the city on foot or by bicycle and there were numerous restaurants/cafes close by. The brewey was just around the corner and every other shop sold Belgian chocolates! Would definately recommend the hotel and Riviera Travel who provided an excellent service throughout.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RGCumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Great hotel overall. Clean, attractive and welcoming. Room was of a good size as was the en suite. The hotel is conveniently located to all bruges main sites. Staff were very helpful and pleasant! Would deffinetly recommend!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LMAON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
0.1 mi away
Novotel Brugge Centrum
0.4 mi away
NH Brugge
NH Brugge
#37 of 97 in Bruges
2,259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Martin's Brugge
Martin's Brugge
#40 of 97 in Bruges
2,870 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Navarra
Hotel Navarra
#16 of 97 in Bruges
2,181 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Prinsenhof Bruges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Academie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Academie Hotel

Property: Academie Hotel
Address: Wijngaardstraat 7-9, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Bruges
#12 Luxury Hotel in Bruges
#24 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
#27 Family Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Academie Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Academie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Academie Bruges
Academie Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing