We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience”
Review of Academie Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Academie Hotel
Ranked #20 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Just back from a short break in Bruges, based at Academie Hotel and organised by Riviera Travel. Great experience. The hotel is in an ideal location for wandering the streets and canals. Plenty of restaurants, bars and shops nearby. Despite this the hotel rooms are very quiet and comfortable and we were at the front facing the street !

The breakfast was much better than their web-site and feedback implied with a great selection of hot and cold food in a nice clean environment. Staff always helpful and of course spoke excellent English.

Room Tip: We had the older part of the hotel at the front rather than the newer extension at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tatki46539
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,080 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    957
    847
    199
    52
    25
See reviews for
280
1,180
63
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (294)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Stoke-on-Trent
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

We spent three nights at The Academie and it is a good 4* hotel with all appropriate amenities – really clean. The staff are very helpful and breakfast was plentiful and of a good quality.
Our concern is about the little blue lights in each room. These are the actual light switches and including the TV and heating controls, there were 18 in total, brightly shining all night. They were also difficult to operate as they seemed to have a mind of their own and would sometimes do what was expected & at other times a different light would switch on or off – coordinating every single one to finally go off was an art in itself. We ended up taping folded newspaper to them so that we could sleep without the permanent twinkle.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LittleMar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Visited this hotel with Riviera Travel end of April. Check-in was fastest and smoothest I've ever known. Brilliant location for local sites and restaurants. Try not to arrive with everyone else for breakfast (as we did one morning). Chaos! Otherwise, good selection of foods. Try the sweet cakes that look like mushrooms with your scrambled egg - fab! Our beds were comfortable and all we could fault was the lighting in the room, which was very dull and muted and the controls foxed us!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cparsnip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Spent 3 nights on a short break with Riviera Travel. The hotel is in a quiet location near to the
Church of Notre Dame. There is a very nice park in close proximity and there are numerous cafes
and bars within 200 metres. The hotel was very well appointed with a quiet bar together with a central courtyard where you can enjoy a coffee or beer. The breakfast was very good and the place was very clean and tidy. This is certainly a hotel I would use again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank orelac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We returned to the Academie for the 6th time this bank holiday. The staff were as friendly and helpful as ever. The rooms have been refurbished and are comfortable and very clean, and breakfast has everything you could want. The bathrooms are very clean and the showers are very powerful.The location is perfect, a 10 minute walk from the station along a tree lined path past the Minnewater. You are close to the centre and surrounded by lovely bars and restaurants but if you turn left instead of right out of the door you can walk through the park to the canal path and walk around the outside of the city. I don't understand the comments about the staff as they have always been very pleasant to us but then we believe in treating people as we would like to be treated.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RomanaJ1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley,
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

Situated near Minnewater and more importantly for us the last brewery left inside Bruges this is ideal base for relaxing stay in this beautiful city. We parked in Centrum car park and walked to the hotel and it cost 18 euros for 3 days and there is lovely breakfast across the road from the hotel we didn't try the hotel one.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snowmanfrost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Just got back from 3 days in the Hotel. I think some of the poor reviews may relate to none refurb rooms (which all have been now ) or the review is just out of date. I am not easily impressed and not surprised at being disappointed, however this hotel could not be faulted. The room, breakfast, staff, the lounge, outside seating/garden - all spot on. We would not hesitate to go again. Thank you to the staff and owners for being part of a wonderful weekend in magical Bruges.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Antony L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.1 mi away
Novotel Brugge Centrum
0.4 mi away
Martin's Brugge
Martin's Brugge
#38 of 97 in Bruges
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,800 reviews
0.8 mi away
Adornes
Adornes
#11 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Navarra
Hotel Navarra
#16 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,120 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
0.5 mi away
Hotel Jan Brito
Hotel Jan Brito
#26 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Academie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Academie Hotel

Property: Academie Hotel
Address: Wijngaardstraat 7-9, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Bruges
#12 Luxury Hotel in Bruges
#24 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
#27 Family Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Academie Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Academie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Academie Bruges
Academie Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing