We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Hotel in fantastic position”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Academie Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Academie Hotel
Ranked #21 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Good Hotel in fantastic position”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

This hotel is like a tardis. It goes on and on forever......I was told it was a former brewery now converted into a hotel and in a great position for sightseeing near the centre of Bruges. Breakfast was lovely- buffet style with cereals; bread; cheese;cold meats; salad; fruit- fresh and tinned;yogurt and hot dogs; scrambled eggs and bacon etc. The bedroom was comfy with tea and coffee making facilities for 2 drinks of each- after that you buy your own, fridge and flat screen TV.
The bathroom was badly in need of refurbishment and I gather some rooms have already been upgraded. This let the experience down slightly for me but I would definitely go there again as I enjoyed Bruges so much and the rest of the Hotel was great.

Room Tip: ask for a room with an upgraded bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jazzypj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,050 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    935
    840
    199
    52
    24
See reviews for
274
1,169
61
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (291)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Stayed for 1 night as part of p and o ferry mini cruise. Hotel brilliant value and kept our trip to small budget. Didn't get breakfast (was cheaper in tea room opposite). Hotel on doorstep of local amenities such as lake of love, brewery tour, diamond museum, cathedral and church of our Lady. Main square and other attractions ten minute walk away through the beautiful cobbled streets . Hotel staff friendly and helpful and gave us lots of useful local information. Room modern with comfy bed (we were very grateful for this after so much walking! !). Would certainly go back.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emmabre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SCOTLAND
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Absolutely not 4 star. It is more like student accommodation. Staff very pleasant and helpful not their fault. Plastic glasses in rooms ,towels are paper thin management need to renew all of this if they want to be 4 star.there are better 4 star in Bruges go looking.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ANDERSON51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

Had a three night break at this hotel which was clean and tidy and the staff friendly and obliging. Good central location with good restaurants within easy reach.
Breakfast was a great way to start the day with plenty of choice. Wpild recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thesidage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We are so pleased with our stay here. We rang to tell them that we are travelling with a small baby and would need a cot. Everything was arranged for us when we arrived with a very nice cot and bedding for the baby ( agreed this cost us extra but well worth it).
I think the 3rd floor is the baby floor! and we were relieved to hear other babies in the rooms next to ours!
The room was spacious, the location was excellent it was in a quiet street so no noise at all during the night. Its opposite a lovely bakery/tea room.
The staff are lovely, very warm and welcoming. We also had the parking in the basement reserved for the 2 days that we were there, this is another bonus as its very expensive to park your car and then have to lug around your stuff.
We have been back to this hotel twice now and everytime we receive the same standard, definitely recommend!
One note- The temperature is controlled by a panel on the wall BUT you do have to manually switch on the radiators just be mindful.

Room Tip: 3rd floor if with babies!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jappi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham City, England
Level Contributor
75 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

My wife and stayed at this hotel for three nights during a very cold, indeed freezing, spell of weather during March 2013.
Overall the hotel is nothing fanciful and is quite satisfactory. Its 4 star rating is that for Belgian standards and you would expect more from a 4 star rated hotel in the UK.
The hotels location is fine. It is within walking distance of all the attractions of central Bruges. Within a few minutes stroll you can be at any of the main tourists sites such as the Burj or the Belfry in the market Place.
We were room 270 which meant you had to cross an small but open courtyard. For breakfast this meant getting a fresh blast of freezing cold air first thing!!
The room was adequate. A fridge was provided which was very useful if you wanted to a keep a bottle of wine or a bottle of water cool. There was a kettle to make tea and coffee but only with small plastic cups and holders. However, you were only given one sachet of tea and coffee and thererafter you had to buy extra! Not quiet 4 star expectations.
The bathroom was clean and whilst the shower was hot in the morning, this had become only warm on a night and therefore a hot bath was not an evening option.
The room was warm and the heating was easily controlled. A small, wall mounted plasma TV included BBC 1 amongst its channels.
A good electronic safe was provided free of charge.
Breakfast was fairly good although the coffee making machine did not provide the best tasting tea or coffee. There was were a good selection of cereals; pastries; cold meats and cheeses and also a hot selection including a nice choice of scrambled eggs with bacon.
The bar area was fairly small and overall quite univiting as was the lounge area on the other side of reception.
We stayed at the hotel as part of a 'package' holiday and therefore I am unaware of the specific room rates.
However, as I have said before overall the hotel is satisfactory but nothing fanciful.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jamie077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013

From the minute we arrived at academie hotel we found the staff to be incredibly welcoming, friendly and helpful. The hotel itself is lovely; the room was incredibly clean, modern and catered for our every need. The hotel is located 5 minutes from the main market square; perfect location! I would definitely recommend this hotel for anyone trying to escape and relax.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rachealb69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.4 mi away
Martin's Brugge
Martin's Brugge
#38 of 97 in Bruges
2,770 reviews
0.1 mi away
Novotel Brugge Centrum
0.6 mi away
Hotel Navarra
Hotel Navarra
#17 of 97 in Bruges
2,097 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
0.8 mi away
Adornes
Adornes
#9 of 97 in Bruges
786 reviews
0.4 mi away
NH Brugge
NH Brugge
#37 of 97 in Bruges
2,162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Academie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Academie Hotel

Property: Academie Hotel
Address: Wijngaardstraat 7-9, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Bruges
#13 Luxury Hotel in Bruges
#24 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
#27 Family Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Academie Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Academie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Academie Bruges
Academie Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing