We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,504)
Filter reviews
2,504 results
Traveler rating
1,207
979
225
61
32
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,207
979
225
61
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsriviera travellight switchesgood sizetrain stationlovely hotelcobbled streetminnewater parktea and coffeereception staffminute walkperfect locationshort breakhot and cold foodstar hotelwithin easy walking distancebuffet breakfasttriple room
Filter
Updating list...
1,435 - 1,440 of 2,504 reviews
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We are so pleased with our stay here. We rang to tell them that we are travelling with a small baby and would need a cot. Everything was arranged for us when we arrived with a very nice cot and bedding for the baby ( agreed this cost us extra but well worth it).
I think the 3rd floor is the baby floor! and we were relieved to hear other babies in the rooms next to ours!
The room was spacious, the location was excellent it was in a quiet street so no noise at all during the night. Its opposite a lovely bakery/tea room.
The staff are lovely, very warm and welcoming. We also had the parking in the basement reserved for the 2 days that we were there, this is another bonus as its very expensive to park your car and then have to lug around your stuff.
We have been back to this hotel twice now and everytime we receive the same standard, definitely recommend!
One note- The temperature is controlled by a panel on the wall BUT you do have to manually switch on the radiators just be mindful.

Room Tip: 3rd floor if with babies!
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jappi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

My wife and stayed at this hotel for three nights during a very cold, indeed freezing, spell of weather during March 2013.
Overall the hotel is nothing fanciful and is quite satisfactory. Its 4 star rating is that for Belgian standards and you would expect more from a 4 star rated hotel in the UK.
The hotels location is fine. It is within walking distance of all the attractions of central Bruges. Within a few minutes stroll you can be at any of the main tourists sites such as the Burj or the Belfry in the market Place.
We were room 270 which meant you had to cross an small but open courtyard. For breakfast this meant getting a fresh blast of freezing cold air first thing!!
The room was adequate. A fridge was provided which was very useful if you wanted to a keep a bottle of wine or a bottle of water cool. There was a kettle to make tea and coffee but only with small plastic cups and holders. However, you were only given one sachet of tea and coffee and thererafter you had to buy extra! Not quiet 4 star expectations.
The bathroom was clean and whilst the shower was hot in the morning, this had become only warm on a night and therefore a hot bath was not an evening option.
The room was warm and the heating was easily controlled. A small, wall mounted plasma TV included BBC 1 amongst its channels.
A good electronic safe was provided free of charge.
Breakfast was fairly good although the coffee making machine did not provide the best tasting tea or coffee. There was were a good selection of cereals; pastries; cold meats and cheeses and also a hot selection including a nice choice of scrambled eggs with bacon.
The bar area was fairly small and overall quite univiting as was the lounge area on the other side of reception.
We stayed at the hotel as part of a 'package' holiday and therefore I am unaware of the specific room rates.
However, as I have said before overall the hotel is satisfactory but nothing fanciful.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank James L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

From the minute we arrived at academie hotel we found the staff to be incredibly welcoming, friendly and helpful. The hotel itself is lovely; the room was incredibly clean, modern and catered for our every need. The hotel is located 5 minutes from the main market square; perfect location! I would definitely recommend this hotel for anyone trying to escape and relax.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rachealb69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Central location, comfortable hotel. Nice bar, did not have breakfast but plenty cafes around. Nice one just round the corner 10 euro for a huge continental breakfast compared to 12 euro in hotel. We had two rooms in a little attic but which served us fine as we were travelling with family but not great if you wanted a bit of luxury..

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank weekirky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights as part of our trip arranged by Riviera Travel. We spent a lot more time in the room than we'd anticipated due to both having dreadful colds, so were pleased at how comfortable it was - a lovely comfy bed and good sized bathroom with lots of hot water for baths, always a treat when away. The location is excellent and it was very quiet, unusually so for a town centre.
The tea & coffee facilities are limited and next time I'd take a teaspoon and possibly a couple of mugs as those on offer were plastic with a plastic stirrer which melted at the sight of hot water. Take extra tea/coffee too. The fridge was handy for fresh milk etc.
Breakfast was good with a wide choice of buffet food including a limited hot selection. There was a bar and lounge although we didn't really use them. Bruges itself is wonderful and I'd be happy to stay at the Acadamie again next time - we missed so much through illness, there has to be a next time soon!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WhiteHorseWalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews