We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,514)
Filter reviews
2,514 results
Traveler rating
1,213
981
226
61
33
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,213
981
226
61
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviews riviera travel light switches good size train station lovely hotel cobbled street minnewater park tea and coffee reception staff minute walk perfect location short break hot and cold food star hotel within easy walking distance buffet breakfast triple room
Filter
Updating list...
1,444 - 1,449 of 2,514 reviews
Reviewed March 12, 2013

From the minute we arrived at academie hotel we found the staff to be incredibly welcoming, friendly and helpful. The hotel itself is lovely; the room was incredibly clean, modern and catered for our every need. The hotel is located 5 minutes from the main market square; perfect location! I would definitely recommend this hotel for anyone trying to escape and relax.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rachealb69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Central location, comfortable hotel. Nice bar, did not have breakfast but plenty cafes around. Nice one just round the corner 10 euro for a huge continental breakfast compared to 12 euro in hotel. We had two rooms in a little attic but which served us fine as we were travelling with family but not great if you wanted a bit of luxury..

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank weekirky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights as part of our trip arranged by Riviera Travel. We spent a lot more time in the room than we'd anticipated due to both having dreadful colds, so were pleased at how comfortable it was - a lovely comfy bed and good sized bathroom with lots of hot water for baths, always a treat when away. The location is excellent and it was very quiet, unusually so for a town centre.
The tea & coffee facilities are limited and next time I'd take a teaspoon and possibly a couple of mugs as those on offer were plastic with a plastic stirrer which melted at the sight of hot water. Take extra tea/coffee too. The fridge was handy for fresh milk etc.
Breakfast was good with a wide choice of buffet food including a limited hot selection. There was a bar and lounge although we didn't really use them. Bruges itself is wonderful and I'd be happy to stay at the Acadamie again next time - we missed so much through illness, there has to be a next time soon!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WhiteHorseWalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

We have previosuly stayed at a different hotel in Bruges a few times, but our last stay wasn't too good so we chose the Academie this time. We found the hotel easily enough using the map we had. We drove into Bruges and the hotel does have a car park, however, the car park under the concert hall is less than 9 Euros for 24 hours so we left our car there and walked to the hotel. It is about a 10 minute walk from this point. The hotel also backs onto Lake Minnewater, which was a peaceful, pretty spot to relax in.
The hotel is on a side street, about 10 minutes away from the Markt (the main square). We welcomed on arrival and our room was ready, this was before 2pm, which was nice. Our room was in a seperate building at the back, which we crossed the pretty courtyard to get to. It was very cold when we stayed, but it would be lovely to sit in when the warmer weather comes.
Our room was on the top floor, as we had requested, so we were pleased with that. It was spacious with very comfortable twin beds pushed together. There was also a fridge, which is one of those useful touches that many hotels don't think of. Tea & coffee making facilities are also available. The bathroom is large and the bath was very deep with plenty of hot water. There is also a shower, although we didn't try that as we only stayed for one night. Our room overlooked a lovely quiet square.
A great thing about this hotel is that you get free wi-fi in the rooms - alot of hotels, both in Bruges and around the world could learn from this.
We both had a great nights sleep. The blackout curtains worked perfectly and kept the room very dark. The walls did seem a little thin, but as long as you have courteous neighbours you'll be ok. There is a note in the room asking guests to be quiet after 10pm.
We had room only so cannot comment on the breakfast. On checkout the receptionist was very friendly and warm.
When we arrived home from Bruges my husband realised he had left his shirt in the hotel wardrobe. I emailed the hotel to ask if they had found it and they said they had and would send it to us, which was great.
We will definitely return to this hotel on our next visit to Bruges, when we plan to stay a little longer.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Angellore78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

Stayed here from Monday - Friday and everything was great;

- Very spacious room with safe, fridge, air con and heating.
- Lovely bathroom with toiletries replaced daily.
- Large choice at breakfast and its served until 10am.
- Cozy bar area with friendly reception staff.
- Within walking distance of the town centre and all the local attractions.
- Free discount card to the tourist attractions (meant we could rent bikes for 9.00E a day!)

Overall a brilliant value hotel and if we were to come back to Bruges, this would be our first choice.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mike_1256_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews