We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good value for money” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Academie Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Academie Hotel
Ranked #22 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Gravesend
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Very good value for money”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

Having stayed at many hotels in Bruges this is one of the best. Large spacious, fairly modern rooms. TV, tea & coffee, modern bathroom, all very clean and tidy. Reception was professional and friendly. Especially important to me is a quiet room and location and we found exactly that. In our room we could not hear any neighbours and had a very peaceful nights sleep. Unfortunately we did not eat here so i could not pass comment but all in all an good experience.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sherrie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,019 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    917
    829
    198
    52
    23
See reviews for
267
1,154
61
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (287)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

This is an excellent hotel from the friendly and attentive staff, the comfortable and clean areas within the hotel and the very varied choice to cold and hot food and drinks available for breakfast

Helpful?
Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

The Hotel is well located in a side street. From entering the hotel you are met by the ever attentive reception staff, who give you the impression that they are there to ensure your stay is enjoyable. The hotel is kept extremely clean and our bedroom was very comfortable.
The restaurant offers an excellent breakfast with a very varied selection of hot and cold food and drinks.
Both the lounge and bar areas are very comfortable to relax in.
All in all the hotel is run for the benefit of the guests and nothing seems to be too much trouble for the staff to deal with.
The hotel is an excellent place to stay and certainly compliments the City of Brugge, which in itself is a very beautiful place to visit

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

We stayed her for 2 nights in early November to celebrate my husbands 50th birthday. This hotel did not disappoint. The hotel is fairly central to all amenities and a 10min walk to the central square. The staff are excellent, we knew our room would not be ready until 3pm but on arrival at 11am we was given a room that was ready so we could drop off our luggage, freshen up and head off out exploring. There is free wifi in the downstairs area and a lovely bar where you can sit and have a drink (plus at night there is free nuts/nibbles to help yourself too). We found the breakfast great and there was a lovely fresh selection of lots of foods to choose from (ham, cheese, rolls, cereal etc) to choose from (please dont go and expect a 'english cooked breakfast'). On depature we left our luggage in the luggage room (which is locked) and when we had to go back to the boat we just collected our luggage from the hotel. We would both definately recommend this hotel to anyone travelling to Bruge for a few days. Lovely hotel, good location and beautiful city.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shargadon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldham
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

Having travelled to Bruges and stayed at the Academie Hotel, I was quietly impressed by the quality of the Restaurant, Bar and Lounge area. The bar was set out in a neon theme with red velvet seats and modern contemporary bar area. There was a lovely ambiance around the place. I would recommend this hotel very much.

The Room left a little to be desired, it did not compliment the hotel. Maybe just a one off!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eddieOldham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights in early November. Stayed in the city for the Newcastle v Brugge Football fixture. Booked through travel republic an paid £62 for BB. From the moment we arrived the reception staff were fabulous. Arrives at 11am and the room was ready. Free wifi in the downstairs area. Bar area nice and not too expensive. Breakfast fine and decent choice. Even though the city was besieged by 6000 football fans and the hotel got busier with, shall we say fans drinking heavy the staff were superb. Can't thank you enough for a great stay.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wrighty17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

Comfy bed, we were on the top floor in room 304 which was very warm with NO heating on but with the window open (thank goodness no rain) was comfortable. The toilet seat was wonky and two of the lights in the bathroom did not work. BE WARNED, THE SHOWERS ARE SLIPPERY. We used a bath mat in the bottom of the shower. Excellent location, fairly good breakfast if you like continental but we were glad we had read a review beforehand and taken some milk and extra tea and coffee. Sometimes there was a smell from the canal but it depended which way the wind was blowing. Bar prices were ok - only B&B. Would stay again if I couldn't find anywhere else.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WettonJT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.4 mi away
Martin's Brugge
Martin's Brugge
#39 of 97 in Bruges
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,740 reviews
0.1 mi away
Novotel Brugge Centrum
0.6 mi away
Hotel Navarra
Hotel Navarra
#17 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,064 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
NH Brugge
NH Brugge
#37 of 97 in Bruges
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,135 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Jan Brito
Hotel Jan Brito
#26 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,186 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Academie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Academie Hotel

Property: Academie Hotel
Address: Wijngaardstraat 7-9, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Bruges
#14 Luxury Hotel in Bruges
#24 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
#27 Family Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Academie Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Academie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Academie Bruges
Academie Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing