We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Academie - not four star hotel.”
Review of Academie Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Academie Hotel
Ranked #18 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 5, 2008

This is not a four star hotel. At best it could be regarded as a moderate bed and breakfast establishment. My wife and I spent one night here on a short break. It was the worst hotel experience we have had in over thirty years travelling together.

The room was dark and dull. It had a small poor quality TV high up on a bracket in one corner. There were two single beds, one of which was in a collapsed state. Our complaint regarding this was ignored. The bathroom had lights which switched on and off automatically. This was a problem because the bathroom door was made of glass which had been painted over with streaky gold paint and so allowed light through. As a consequence once the light had been turned on the bedroom remained well- illuminated for about 20 minutes - a real issue if the toilet is visited through the night.

Brakfast was okay but expensive.

Ignore the photos displayed here, they give a false impression of size and quality.

An excellent location but no better than many others within the'triangle'.

Stayed: December 2007
4  Thank ColvicWestYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,215)
There are newer reviews for Academie Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,547 - 1,553 of 2,215 reviews

Reviewed January 11, 2008

The hotel was clean, staff were friendly, free internet access, secure parking at extra cost. The location was good for seeing the lovely historic bruges.

  • Stayed: January 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank rmdbfn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2008

This is a 4 star hotel and not bad value for money. It is a lovely area in the centre about 5 minutes walk from the busy area in a quiet quaint part of town and close walk to the train station - so very convenient. A lovely tea place across the road.
The room was quite nice (I think we got an upgrade) and was down a hallway that passes through glass walls and a fish pond outside - there are only 3 rooms here on each floor (2 floors) so it felt special. The room was a decent size, not big but big enough with lots of cupboard space. No fridge but did have tea/coffee facilities. Beds were twins but easily pushed together. Down side was the beds were very creaky and not the most comfortable but got a decent nights sleep. My worst thing about the room were the paper thin walls that I could even hear the room next door take a wee!
Reception were very friendly - best I've ever come across and helpful in finding a restaurant for new years eve as well.
Breakfast was okay. Full range of breads, cereals. Hot breakfast is places in hot bowls for self-serviced so not the best but it didn't stop me!
I would recommend this hotel but if I were to go again I would probably find something else a bit more traditional.

Stayed: December 2007
3  Thank traveldeluxer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2008

We stayed here for 3 nights after Christmas. They allowed us to check in at noon when we arrived tired from a long flight and train ride. The bathrooms were roomy and very nice. The room was basic but clean and quiet. The breakfast was excellent and included in the rate. The front desk staff was friendly and helpful. It is a quick 10 minute scenic walk along the Lake of Love from the train station and 5 minute walk to the main squares. Inside the Hotel there was a cozy courtyard area, which we did not use due to the winter weather. Lots of plants throughout the lobby gave the indoor areas a courtyard feel too. The heater worked well and we enjoyed the separate heater in the bathroom. A great deal for 80 Euros ( a special rate at the time)

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Deborah J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2008

We stayed at the Hotel Academie over the New Year. It is definitely not a four star hotel, I'd say one or two at best. The bar is incredibly expensive (about eight pounds for a gin and tonic), the rooms are old fashioned and unattractive, there are plastic seats in reception which look like garden furniture, cheap toilet roll and very basic toiletries are provided but no conditioner, only shampoo, and you are expected to pay if you want more than one sachet of instant coffee in your room!
All in all, we felt that the hotel is a rip off, and the rude staff were only interested in our wallets. No nice touches were provided, and if they expect to charge high prices, at least provide ample tea/ coffee, dressing gowns, or the usual bits and pieces included by hotels over the world.
I'd recommend searching around for a better hotel if you're planning a trip to this lovely city, spending a few extra pounds on a nicer hotel will really make your trip a pleasant experience!

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank EdwardOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2007

This hotel was excellent for those wishing to sightsee Bruges on a long weekend break. We found the rooms clean & comfortable but basic, and the hotel in a good location.The only snag was the excellent breakfast was very expensive,--

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank PeterandJean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2007

This hotel is in a lovely location and is also only a ten minute walk from the train station. I agree with a previous review that mentioned that the bedrooms are similar to a travelodge and you can hear some noise from other rooms when they come back to the hotel late at night which did disturb my mothers sleep on several occasions. We were really pleased when we arrived at the hotel as there are several very nice restaurants and shops on the same street and a pretty lake and as for the tea shop opposite, a visit is a must!! I really can't complain too much about anything because we booked this holiday very cheaply on the internet and I would stay again because of the location. We found the staff to be very friendly and theres a nice small bar if your legs are too tired to take you very far for a drink in the evening. The breakfast isn't fantastic but will get you by till lunchtime. The rooms are clean and the beds are comfortable and we had a nice big spottless bathroom. If you are looking for a 4 star hotel, don't stay here, if you are looking for somewhere cheap and cheerful, clean and warm in a very nice location then I would recommend it.

  • Stayed: December 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank StarHerts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.1 mi away
Novotel Brugge Centrum
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
0.4 mi away
NH Brugge
NH Brugge
#37 of 97 in Bruges
2,344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Ibis Budget Brugge Centrum Station
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Brugge
Crowne Plaza Brugge
#23 of 97 in Bruges
1,549 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Navarra Brugge
Hotel Navarra Brugge
#15 of 97 in Bruges
2,238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Academie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Academie Hotel

Address: Wijngaardstraat 7-9, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Bruges
#11 Luxury Hotel in Bruges
#24 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
#27 Family Hotel in Bruges
Price Range: $103 - $215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Academie Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Academie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Academie Bruges
Academie Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing