We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly warm service”
Review of Aquarel

Aquarel
Reserve with
Aquarel is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #65 of 713 Restaurants in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $28
Cuisines: Belgian, French, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: A cosy restaurant, in the city center of Brugge - Bruges. On a square with no traffic serving fresh qualitative food. Every customer is welcome ! Not open in the evening ! Each day from 11 till 17 h, except for Thursday, and during the period of 1 january till 15 march we are also closed on wednesday. Free WIFI ! All credit cards accepted : Mastercard, Visa, Amex, Maestro, Bancontact.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Friendly warm service”
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Its right in the plaza- we sat outdoors. Our little girl was about to doze off and the staff rushed to get her lunch real quick. The food ( pastas) were yum with the cheesy crust. The local beer Zot must be tried. However the main feature was the friendly service- we had been a bit disappointed by the service we had received in other restaurants the day before and were pleasantly surprised here. The owner even helped our friends with the address of a local pharmacist!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PradsG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erwin D, Owner at Aquarel, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Good evening,
many thanks for the friendly review and most of all that you were happy with our service and meal. Giving a kid first their meal is a standard policy of the house, to enable the parents to lunch relaxed. To look up on the internet the address of the local pharmacy was the least we could do to help your friends.
We hope to see you again one day in our restaurant, and we wish you a safe onward voyage.
Best regards

Erwin and the Aquarel team !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    210
    133
    34
    11
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level Contributor
113 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Waffles!”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Don't be put off by the location in a square beside Pizza Hut. This was not a tourist trap. The service was quick and friendly, and the food delicious. I even caught one of the kitchen staff playfully using a banana as a gun before topping our waffle, which I fully appreciated.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Glitterhoof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erwin D, Owner at Aquarel, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Good evening,
many thanks for your review which we appreciated a lot !
Our motto daily fresh, is followed by the total team, and as such we are able to give our customers the best of everything !
Yes we are situated in the city center and at a tourist location, but as said by yourselves , we are not a tourist trap.
We enjoyed having you in our company and look forward seeing you again
Erwin and the Aquarel team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Best chips ever!”
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Friendly atmosphere with good service. The mixed fruit waffle as well as the banana and chocolate waffle were both superb. However the chips were the best ever. Highly recommended!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MHowly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erwin D, Owner at Aquarel, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Good evening,
many thanks for your terrific review which made our Aquarel team very proud.
We are looking forward seeing you again, one day in Bruges. We will definitely keep up the good work and service !

Best regards

Erwin & the Aquarel team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
126 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“perfect wafel romanoff”
Reviewed May 6, 2013

I never could see what anyone liked about Belgian waffles. They always were greasy or undercooked or cold. I had one with the wonderful local strawberries yesterday at a fancy hotel and it was undercooked and relatively tasteless
Today we stopped for an afternoon waffle and strawberries at Aquarel. Now I get it. I felt like a Romanoff. Not inexpensive,but astonishingly good.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sallyws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erwin D, Owner at Aquarel, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Good evening,
we were so glad that you passed by our restaurant Aquarel and that you, at last, experienced a very good waffle romanoff ! As all our dished they are prepared fresh and with fresh ingredients.
We look forward seeing you again soon !

best regards,

Erwin & the Aquarel team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best”
Reviewed April 25, 2013 via mobile

We randomly stopped here to try an early lunch and to have our first waffels in Belgium. The food was to die for and the staff was very friendly and helpful. My daughter (3 years old) was throwing a fit when we first entered and one of the waitresses provided us with a free ticket to ride the carousel outside to calm her down (this was why she was mad to begin with). This set the tone for a very nice visit to the city with our family. If you are in Bruges, you must come here!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jmoose82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erwin D, Owner at Aquarel, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear customer,

we thank you very much for your review and we are looking forward seeing you again with the family and friends.
Kids are the basis of our future business, and we understand that it is not easy to find a place where you are welcome with kids. There, the Aquarel makes the difference !
thanks again and we are happy that you enjoyed our food and our company.

Erwin and the Aquarel team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aquarel also viewed

Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 

Been to Aquarel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing