We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable / good value hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Floris Karos Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Floris Karos Hotel
Ranked #58 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Chester
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Comfortable / good value hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights as part of pretty cheap Superbreak mini cruise package which also included 2 nights on ferry. This is a quiet, modern, and comfortable hotel about 10/15 minutes walk from the Maart. We enjoyed our stay. The hotel is freshly decorated and nicely furnished with welcoming and helpful staff. The gentleman who was there afternoons and evenings was particularly friendly and cheerful. The continental breakfast was fine but we would have liked some coffee making facilities in our room.

We were a bit worried by reviews mentioning a smell and its true that once or twice there was a bit of a whiff of drains near the reception desk but it did not seem to permeate much farther so was not a big deal. A similar smell was experienced around Bruges so maybe it is to do with the canal system? Unless you are particularly sensitive don't let this stop you booking.

Room Tip: Room 135 was fine as was at back away from possible road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VictorjvChester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie C, Guest Relations Manager at Floris Karos Hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear guest,

thank you ever so much for your kind words and genuine feedback!
I'm utterly pleased to finally read a contextualised comment regarding 'the smell' in Bruges - one must not forget that Bruges is often called 'The Venice of the North' this due to it's many canals ... not unlikely you might have from time to time a faint odor in the city.

Your warm words about our staff will be defenitely passed on and will be highly appreciated.
Looking forward to welcoming you back again in our hotel on another occasion.

Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,075 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    228
    432
    221
    104
    90
See reviews for
230
540
16
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013 via mobile

This is a very well situated hotel just a few minutes walk away from a the shops and restaurants, and it was very easy to find.
We arrived to find a very welcoming receptionist, in a very contemporary and relaxing lobby area.
However when we walked into our room the hotel seem to lose some of its sparkle, with the skirting board coming away from the wall. The pillows were very lumpy and our double bed was 2 singles pushed together which kept on coming apart!!!
There is a lovely play area for children, but this is next to the relaxation area!!!
The swimming pool could do with a bit of a clean and the walls in there are in need of a coat of paint.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ninnie79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie C, Guest Relations Manager at Floris Karos Hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Nini,

first of all thank you for staying with us and sharing your experiences within our walls.
I'm pleased to read you found our lobby contemporary and relaxing - that's the idea we had in mind while doing the renovations! Also thank you for bringin to my attention some of your other remarks ... we've taken note of those and will do our best to improve those where possible.

I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again one day to show to you our improvements. Best wishes from Bruges.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

We had an overnight stay at this hotel. The customer service was excellent. Our family room was large and well decorated.
The pool was a nice bonus which allowed the children to unwind!
We had an excellent night sleep. There was no problem finding a space for breakfast the next day.
The staff were polite and were were very impressed at the variety of languages that they could speak.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lottiesmum0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie C, Guest Relations Manager at Floris Karos Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Lottiesmum,

WOW! Thank you for your very nice comments about your stay with us.
We're absolutely thrilled to read you had an enjoyable stay and can't wait to welcome you back.

Best wishes from Bruges
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
66 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

We booked our trip through Superbreaks which was rediculously cheap so we knew the hotel was not going to be high end luxury but we were pleasantly surprised when we arrived. Yes, there is a bad smell when you walk into the hotel which did make me feel a bit queasy but within seconds you stop noticing it. The hotel reception area is warm and clean and the staff were very helpful. We arrived very early from an early morning ferry but the hotel staff were happy for us to leave our luggage so we could get out into the city. They provide a free safe which enabled us to leave our passports, etc with them and they also give new visitors a map and a discount card so that you are able to get money off in some of the key attractions around the city. We didn't use this card as we bought the Bruges City Card instead - well worth the €38. The wifi at the hotel is free but I often lost connection so may be better in the communal areas.

Having read other reviews, we aimed to get back to the hotel slightly before 3pm to check in as others had said that checking in was slow. This was not the case. Again, the hotel staff were friendly and chatty.

Our room was on the second floor at the back of the hotel which I was pleased about as I struggle to sleep with traffic noise. The hotel is situated the side of a duel-carriageway so rooms at the front might be affected. The hotel has recently undergone a redecoration and the room was decorated simply but nicely and was a good size for the two of us. The bed was big and fairly comfortable. The main negatives was that the lighting was poor - particularly on an evening so lights in the room had to be strategically placed so that you could see yourself properly. The lighting in the bathroom consisted of three small lights above the basin but this could have been because we had a room in the roof so there was limited room for additional light fittings. We also found the rooms to not be 100% clean, particularly the floor which had lots of bits and dust.

Others have complained about the level of noise but we didn't experience this. The maids only appear to start cleaning mid-morning when I think most people are up and out exploring or about to leave for the day.

The pool available at the hotel looks nice but we didn't use it. We also didn't have breakfast there as we wanted to go and eat in the city. The hotel is really geared up for families as there is a children's play area with lots of things for them to do so as a result you may hear children early on in the morning!

This hotel is a good base for getting around Bruges and only a short walk to the centre. The staff are helpful and polite. For the price we paid, and I assume the same for many other visitors, it is very good value for money.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lovetotravel2519
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie C, Guest Relations Manager at Floris Karos Hotel, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Dear Springz,

thank you for your feedback. Rest assured that all your comments will be taken into consideration as it seems that both positive and negative are in balance and that is for us the perfect learning school.

I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you in our hotel back again some day.
Best wishes from Bruges.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Neots
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

Having stayed here recently we will have to say that it was a slight disappointment. The hotel lobby is decorated in a very modern style which was attractive however the smell that was produced was awful, it smelt like sewers and just put us off.

We couldn't check in until 3pm which was annoying as we arrived about 10am! The baggage room was full so we had I leave our bags in the lobby while walking around Bruges! We didn't really want to carry our bags around Bruges so this was the only option.

After checking in at 3, we were given our room key and we made our way to the rear of the hotel where the standard of decoration had decreased to a basic hostel feel. We went up one floor in what someone has described the lift as a death trap - it moves very suddenly! Upon going to our room the decor didn't match and the sheets had black hairs on, this is not my hair colour! The bathroom is very strange too, there is a bath and a shower over which was to one end of the bath and the shower screen was the other end, which meant when having a shower - water goes everywhere!!! (The first night we also had no bath matt)

Bruges itself is a lovely city and very beautiful, if and when we visit agin we will not be staying here!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TeamTamy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie C, Guest Relations Manager at Floris Karos Hotel, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Dear Tamy,

thank you for staying with us and sharing your experiences within our walls.

I'm so sorry to read that we were not able to live up to your expectations - however I must admit that I regret that you have not brought these remarks to my attention during your stay... I might would have been able to address them more appropriately.

If you would ever visit Bruges again and give our hotel another chance please let me know!
It will be my personal duty making it a memorable experience.

Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford on Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

My daughter and i booked this hotel for our overnight stay in Bruges , on arrival we were made very welcome , and was allowed to leave our luggage before check in , so that we could see more of Bruges.
Our room was very spacious and modern , with a lovely bathroom , they don't do evening meals but that was ok with us as we wanted to try some of the local places.
We were only 10minutes walk from the main square.
We had a lovely swimming pool , ideal for our aching muscles after our long day.
Breakfast was continental and more than adequate , it set us up for another long day!
We were invited to leave our bags again on day of departure , and collect when we were ready later. All the staff where excellent.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosiec698
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie C, Guest Relations Manager at Floris Karos Hotel, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Dear Rosie,

It was such a pleasure hosting you and your daughter in our hotel and I'm pleased to read you had an enjoyable stay! Your kind comments will be passed on to our team members.

Should your travel plans bring you back to Bruges in the future , do not hesitate to contact us directly. It will be our utmost pleasure and honor making your stay even more memorable.

Best wishes from Bruges.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

Where do I start? Perhaps with the good- free wifi and the breakfast (although completely bereft of fruit, it was ok).

The bad- well that would be the smell. It hits you as soon as you reach the front door. Sewage? Chlorine? Is the hotel built on a sess pit? I've seen several excuses on here about it being down to the canal but I think this is a little dismissive. Bruge smelt fine. The room was basic but clean although the smell found its way there too unfortunately (seriously, what was that?!) and oddly, the room only had dim bedside lights which made getting dressed in the evening a bit on the tricky side.
The hotel was noisy, especially first thing in the morning with maids clattering about and basic amenities were lacking- no tea and coffee facilities for example although I understand you get what you pay for.

But the ugly? Well that would be the staff. All the above could have been made far more tolerable with some basic customer service. The staff were rude, dismissive and unfriendly. We weren't greeted once, made to feel like an inconvenience simply for staying there and following a simple mistake on our part were muttered about under someone's breath! At least they were consistent with the awful service as they were all dreadful.

All in all, we were so disappointed with our stay. It was over priced and unwelcoming. We love Bruge and will definitely be back but we won't be staying here. Unless you have a gas mask, some ear plugs and a torch, I'd recommend you don't either.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Holiday Girl u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie C, Guest Relations Manager at Floris Karos Hotel, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Dear Holidaygirl,

as I'm pretty sure that you are the partner of James83ok - who has already written a review below - I feel utterly dissappointed that TripAdvisor has become a tool to treather hoteliers in order to get a discount - therefore I will not put any effort in replying onto this review.

Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bruges hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.7 mi away
Jacobs Hotel
Jacobs Hotel
#72 of 97 in Bruges
3.5 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
2.5 mi away
Leonardo Hotel Brugge
Leonardo Hotel Brugge
#70 of 97 in Bruges
3.5 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ibis Brugge Centrum
Ibis Brugge Centrum
#44 of 97 in Bruges
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Martin's Brugge
Martin's Brugge
#38 of 97 in Bruges
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,745 reviews
0.6 mi away
Novotel Brugge Centrum
0.1 mi away
The Golden tree hotel
The Golden tree hotel
#56 of 97 in Bruges
4.0 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Floris Karos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Floris Karos Hotel

Property: Floris Karos Hotel
Address: Hoefijzerlaan 37, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Floris Karos Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Floris Karos hotel is a 3 *** star hotel centrally located in Bruges just a 15 minute walk away from the market square with its Belfry tower. 'T Zand square, where travelers can enjoy a variety of local restaurants, vivid bars and local markets on certain dates, is situated a 2 minute walk away. From 'T Zand square on guests can enter the most important shopping streets of Bruges, which are leading towards the market square. Bruges Railway Station is to be found only 1.5 Km from the hotel and easy reachable by taxi or bus. All attractions and museums of Bruges, as well as the typical charming canals where boat tours take place, are situated within walking distance from the hotel. When entering this hotel with its traditional Norman facade, you will be surprised by its modern colonial-style interior, its large entrance hall with a cozy bar and welcoming reception area where you can enjoy calm evenings around the cozy fireplace. We invite you to have a drink at our bar where various beverages are served including local Belgian beers. The Floris hotel offers also a heated indoor swimming pool where you can relax and enjoy a swim in the evening after a busy day of sightseeing in Bruges. For those even more sportive among us a fitness is available on site. Apart from several relaxing seating areas where parents can relax, there is a well an equipped kids' corner with flat screen TV, large variety of games and Xbox available. A large-screened Apple iMac with internet connection can be used free of charge and is available in the lounge area. Free Wi-Fi is available in the entire building during the entire stay of our guests. Flat-screen TV, free Wi-Fi and a work desk are provided as standard in the rooms at Floris Hotel Bruges. The rooms offer comfortable beds, modern decoration and spacious bathrooms with bath and/or shower combination to make you feel at home. Parquet floors give the interiors a modern feel. To kick start the day guests can enjoy a delicious continental-style breakfast with pastries, bacon and warm egg dishes in the breakfast room each morning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Floris Karos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Floris Karos
Floris Karos Bruges
Karos Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing