We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A hotel with lots of character”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Bryghia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bryghia Hotel
Ranked #39 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A hotel with lots of character”
Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

Very easy to find and very close to the market square. My husband and I recieved a very warm welcome and given clear instructions where we could find the breakfast room etc. The rooms are comfortable with tea making facilities and a mini bar although a little small. There is a good selection at breakfast, with a choice of cereal, toast and croissants, a selection of cheese and ham and different juices.Tea and coffee are brought to your table.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kf7438
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

425 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    202
    44
    4
    5
See reviews for
51
261
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We stayed at the Bryghia Hotel in August 2013 and had a lovely time. I can’t fault the hotel. The location is great, 5 minutes away from the central/market square but in a quiet area with a canal running behind the hotel. The bedrooms are clean and spacious and equipped with everything you need for your stay (hairdryer, towels, tea & coffee and kettle, TV, fridge, safe… and we also had a chocolate on our pillows!) The bed is also very comfy and the rooms are made up every day.

The communal areas are clean and comfortable and cosy.… all very nicely decorated too. The breakfast was more than enough…. cereals, fruit, yoghurts, croissants, bread (and toaster), rolls, cakes, spreads, eggs, tea, coffee and juice and all served in a very nice breakfast room.

We would definitely return to the Bryghia for the location, it’s clean and cosy rooms and for the breakfasts!

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel have a canal view.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LadyAliceoftheMoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bognor
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Had 4 days in this hotel and it was just right. Not too far from the noisy centre - just a little stroll through 3 or 4 streets. If you take a car, however, you either re-set the meter outside every 4 hours or take advantage of the hotel's allocated spaces in an underground car park for a set fee but this is a few streets away. However, these are minor issues if you're intending to stay in the beautiful city.
Hotel clean and tidy, bedrooms spotless and regularly cleaned etc, plenty of European breakfast available and very pleasant hands-on owners. What more could you want or need for 4 days ? I know........ celebratory flags and napkins on the day of the Coronation !
There are plenty of restaurants and coffee places away from the expensive main square.
We went to Ghent on the train for a day trip, also a lovely city.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the canal are fine for the view, but be aware of mosquitos.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jclarke12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

This place is spotless, not just clean it is hospital clean! We booked a while ago and had no problems, whatsoever. The husband and wife team who own and run the place are friendly, knowledgeable and very helpful. The hotel is part of “Oosterlingenhuis”, which was built in the late 1400’s, this part was made into a hotel in the 1960’s, and it has been immaculately maintained since then. We had a 3rd floor bedroom out of 4 floors, we used the stairs, but there is a lift. Our room looked onto the small square in front, others look to the side, the rest to the canal behind. I think you can request a view, we weren't that bothered. The rooms are basic, comfy and everything you need, I'm sure if you wanted anything it would be provided. Room service is good, but not intrusive. Breakfast is 08.00 to 10.00 and it sets you up for the day, there's all you could want, gallons of coffee, breads, cheeses, cereals, the job lot. It set us up for two days cycling of ~40 miles a day, so it must have been good. There's not much else to say really. If you don't know Bruges, stay here, because it is 5 minute walk to the chaos of the town centre, but it is a quiet backwater at the hotel. We walked here from the station, but a taxi is probably easier if you have heavy bags, the bus is a possibility. We used the bus to get to the station on departure, it is a bit bewildering to get from the station to here by bus, but I'm sure you can - speaking the language would help. Bruges is expensive, you need to know this, but we did it all on a bit of a budget. Use this hotel and DON'T head into town to eat and drink. Go a bit further out, we went to Terrastje on Genthof which is a bar / restaurant owned buy a Dutch girl and an English bloke. t'Risico on Jeruzalemstraat is good beer and food. We also went to the Vlissinghe on Blekersstraat, a 498 year old bar, does decent food and plenty of beer. If you don't want to eat in Cafes or restaurants, go to Carrefour just off the main square, or in other spots around town. Handy for something to eat on the hoof or in the saddle. I could write pages, I will just leave it saying this was the best break and the best place we have stayed at in ages, so if you want the hotel place in Bruges - Bryghia Hotel is it!

Room Tip: Canal at the rear, road to the side (cooler in summer), square to the front. All V quiet though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FellrunnerJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Stayed here with friends in June, and found this hotel well placed to explore the old city of Bruges. Very clean rooms, pleasant lounge and breakfast areas, super breakfasts and helpful and friendly owners made our stay memorable. A great base, and close to all we wanted to do without needing a car. Lovely!

Room Tip: Rooms away from the canal might be quieter at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy074
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lodz, Poland
1 review
Reviewed July 4, 2013

The overall impression very good. The only thing to consider is the length of the beds - if you are over 180 they are too short. Otherwise good location, good breakast (no vegetables but im sure if you asked they would provide them), quiet, free internet in the lobby, you can turn on heating in June (!) if its necessary. A bit overpriced if you travel alone, but for a double room ok. I would not recommend for a romantic stay though, but if you want to do sightseeing and are ok with limited space then nothing to complain

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SandraO274837
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

If you look for a sleek designed modern hotel, this would not be your choice.
The interior design and rooms are a bit dated. But the excellent location at two steps from the main sights of Bruges and yet one step away from the noisy crowds pays off for that. Go a bit further behind the hotel and you find the quiet back alleys that make up the charme of Bruges.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with canal view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank malte_beyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Ter Brughe
Hotel Ter Brughe
#36 of 97 in Bruges
1,001 reviews
0.3 mi away
Anselmus Hotel
Anselmus Hotel
#28 of 97 in Bruges
510 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Biskajer Adults Only
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Marcel
Hotel Marcel
#54 of 97 in Bruges
228 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Loreto
Hotel Restaurant Loreto
#48 of 97 in Bruges
299 reviews
0.1 mi away
Europ Hotel
Europ Hotel
#71 of 97 in Bruges
422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bryghia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bryghia Hotel

Property: Bryghia Hotel
Address: Oosterlingenplein 4, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service
Hotel Style:
#30 Family Hotel in Bruges
#38 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bryghia Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bryghia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bryghia Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing