We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel well located.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Ter Brughe

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Ter Brughe
Ranked #36 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Howwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good hotel well located.”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Great staff great breakfast, rooms could do with a stand up shower in bath particulary for old fellas like me,room we had very warm in Aug could do with a fan.location excellent not far from anything. Would have been good to have a kettle in the room.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 12Ctr2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,001 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    384
    437
    124
    39
    17
See reviews for
102
657
28
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (256)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Lovely hotel with lots of character in quiet district right next to one of the many picturesque canals. The room I occupied had a small dormer window with views over the canal and was clean and comfortable with twin beds. Buffet breakfast was included.
The staff were friendly and very helpful.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bergtrekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
93 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

This will probably not be the flashiest of hotels but it is a nice one.

Brugges can be crazy and this is far enough from the craziness yet only a short stroll to the Market Square.

Beds and pillows were great. Breakfast was also great.

The staff are lovely and will send you to good restaurants and bars where locals go.

Highly recommend.

Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Gongboy53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
122 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Lovely old hotel; in a quiet part of Bruges juts a few minutes walk from the centre. The room we had was very nice overlooking the canal but no walk in shower which was a pain - not sure why not as it was a good sized room.
We were very disappointed in the breakfast - .just about adequate and that's being kind. I really felt they could have made a bit more effort . .So probably wouldn't stay here again

Eating out in Bruges I very very expensive! A set meal in an ordinary restaurant is on average 40 euros, and the starters on offer seem to be tomato soup or melon and ham! Best stick to the delicious beer, waffles and chocolate. Even a basic like moules and fries was £28euors - we were very fed up and I felt we were being ripped off all the time

The centre is packed with tourists and cruise parties but just step off the main drag and its lovely.
We hired bikes and cycled all through fields outside Bruges and up to the coast - its flat and delightfully peaceful.

Room Tip: over look the canal
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank holiday500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fleetwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

My husband and I have returned today from a two day stay at this hotel together with our rescue dog who was, quite frankly, made as welcome as we were. The decor was beautiful and a great deal of attention is given to small details. Breakfast was delicious, plentiful and plenty of choice. We had a double room with canal view which was gorgeous but our only compliant if anything was because we had the dog with us we had to keep the windows shut as they were the type that opened out completely just in case he jumped out! Not the hotels fault but air con would have bee good. Also the lack of lift or hotel porter meant carrying all our own luggage up numerous flights of stairs, but again, I probably should have packed lighter anyway.

All in all a lovely experience which I hope to repeat.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsKJSinclair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

Hotel Ter Brughe is an absolutely lovely hotel. From the minute we spotted it from outside, we knew it was special. Set on a canal, it looks so quaint and fits in perfectly with the historic surroundings. It's roughly a ten minute walk from the busy market square and offers a really peaceful stay.

The customer service was absolutely fantastic with staff only happy to recommend restaurants, the best chocolate shops, bars and attractions. These were all marked on a complimentary map and included some gems which were away from the overcrowded tourist areas.

We stayed in a budget room which was in the basement but it was absolutely lovely. It was spacious, comfortable with a good sized bathroom and a generous assortment of toiletries etc.

The windows of our room opened onto the canal and we were able to see swans, ducks and at night, lots of bats flying in and out of a nearby bridge.

It's about a 20 minute walk from the main train station. The same journey by taxi costs approximately €15. I cannot recommend it enough.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kerri4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

I booked this hotel with my sister through a Eurostar package. It was really reasonable and we were impressed get a 4* hotel for the price.
Having stayed there I don't think this hotel is a 4* hotel, more a 3*. The location is fantastic, far enough away without being too far. The building is beautiful and we were upgraded to a canal view room without asking which was lovely. The breakfast was great and a good selection. Our main issue (I wont mention the basic bathroom/lack of shower/curtain as enough others have) was the soundproofing in the room. We could hear everything that happened in the bathroom & bedroom next door to us as if it were in the same room. At one point we woke up thinking someone was actually in our bathroom rather than the one next door!
Having said that I would stay at this hotel again - with earplugs!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rucky.England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Jan Brito
Hotel Jan Brito
#26 of 97 in Bruges
1,193 reviews
0.2 mi away
Adornes
Adornes
#9 of 97 in Bruges
786 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Biskajer Adults Only
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Navarra
Hotel Navarra
#17 of 97 in Bruges
2,097 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Martin's Relais
Hotel Martin's Relais
#31 of 97 in Bruges
858 reviews
0.4 mi away
Martin's Brugge
Martin's Brugge
#38 of 97 in Bruges
2,770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ter Brughe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ter Brughe

Property: Hotel Ter Brughe
Address: Oost-Gistelhof 2, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Bruges
#20 Luxury Hotel in Bruges
#31 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
#38 Family Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Ter Brughe 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Ter Brughe is situated in the centre of Bruges. The Markt, the shopping streets, all main attractions, nice restaurants and cozy bars are within walking distance. Along one of the most picturesque canals in the peaceful old quarter of St.Gillis, between the Augustine Bridge and the Tower Bridge , you will find the hotel. The oldest reference to the building dates from 1470. Believed is that the beautiful vaulted cellar is older. Built originally as a warehouse for goods which were brought here along the canals, it serves today as a magnificent setting for your buffet breakfast. The hotel is non-smoking and has 46 comfortable rooms. Since 1985 hotel Ter Brughe is a listed building. Therefore there is no elevator in the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Ter Brughe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ter Brughe Hotel
Ter Brughe Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing