We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and efficient.”
Review of Hotel Ter Brughe

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Ter Brughe
Ranked #34 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 26, 2012

We had a room on the second floor which was a bit of a struggle with the cases but after that OK. We were offered help with the case. We had been able to leave our cases before checking in ery useful and again after we had checked out.
Our room was spacious and like most things in Bruges - old looking but very clean and tidy. The bathroom was modern and roomy. We both had a great nights sleep on the most comfortable bed we've had in a hotel.
Breakfast was all good with special mention going to the range of breads on offer.
Staff were all friendly and efficient.
Look out for Jan De Clerck at Academiestraat just over the canal and round the corner. Quality chocolates cheaper than any we saw elsewhere.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Crystal58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,099)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

615 - 621 of 1,099 reviews

Reviewed October 23, 2012

We have just come back from a 4 night stay in this hotel and we were very happy with the whole experience. Our room, number 2, was on the ground floor with a view onto the canal.
The room was clean but could have been made more spacious by removing at least one of the three chairs and one of the tables. The bathroom could also have done with a shower curtain as morning showers often left the floor wet. Breakfasts were varied and plentiful.
The location of this hotel is ideal as only 5 minutes walk from the centre and very quiet at night.

Room Tip: Rooms 2,3 and 4 look out on to the canal and are on the ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobandBev_79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

This is a beautiful old hotel. Great location. We stayed here in September on the 6 floor with no lift, but did not mind once we got to the room! Besides it is clearly stated that there is no lift. The room was large room with a great view. The bathroom was modern though it had a handheld shower. Very clean with a safe. The parking garage was great, the breakfast was great with a lot of choices. Would stay here again!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elena0915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

We loved this hotel! All the staff were very friendly. The room was spotless. The all-you-can-eat breakfast buffet was brilliant. Plenty of choice. I would definitely book there again. The hotel was in a very quiet location but only 5 minutes from the centre of town.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Stayed 2 nights in September. The hotel is in a good position, a few minutes walk to the town square and quiet at night. Yes, the hotel is a bit dated, but our bedroom overlooked the canal and was large, with original features and a modern bathroom. The staff at all times were pleasant and whilst they didn't have room in their car park, they directed us to an underground car park 5 minutes away that cost €8.60 per day to park - a real bargain in Brugge. We had a lovely stay in Brugge and would happily stay at the hotel again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidofWatford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Older property on the north side of central Brugge.Quiet neighborhood on a canal with no boat traffic. Rooms dated but bathroom appeared to be fairly new. No lift available.Within walking distance to all the main sights. Continental breakfast/wi-fi included. Might stay again as it's around the corner from my favorite cafe.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank No1Ma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Ter_Brughe, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Ter Brughe, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2016

Dear Guest
We thank you for your review.
Maybe we can welcome you another time in the future!
Please note that the absence of an elevator is mentioned several times in our profile.
Kind regards
Hotel Ter Brughe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Ter Brughe in September 2012. This hotel is located in an old building located just a few minutes away from the Market square. We booked through hotels.com, and I will say this hotel was easily the best value and experience we got in the entire week we spent in Belgium. The room was spacious and very clean, and the bathroom was quite large and warm (bath tub and a shower, no separate shower stall, but we are originally from Europe and are accustomed to this kind of setup).

The breakfast was the best breakfast we had in a week! Belgian pastries, eggs, cold cuts, various cheeses, juices, tea and coffee and a whole bunch of other things that we don't normally eat (like cornflakes, toasts, jams) - everything looked good and tasty. Don't be late, the most interesting baked goodies are gone by the end. Their breakfast room faces the canal and we watched the swans and the ducks float by as we ate.

The next time we are in Brugge - which is something we promised to each other - we will look no further than this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GalinaCalgary_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Ter_Brughe, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Ter Brughe, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2016

Dear Guest
We thank you for your review.
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Maybe we can welcome you another time in the future!
Kind regards
Hotel Ter Brughe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Jan Brito
Hotel Jan Brito
#24 of 97 in Bruges
1,255 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Patritius
Hotel Patritius
#26 of 97 in Bruges
631 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Navarra Brugge
Hotel Navarra Brugge
#16 of 97 in Bruges
2,302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Karel de Stoute
Hotel Karel de Stoute
#35 of 97 in Bruges
142 reviews
0.2 mi away
Adornes
Adornes
#11 of 97 in Bruges
841 reviews
0.3 mi away
Oud Huis de Peellaert
Oud Huis de Peellaert
#18 of 97 in Bruges
1,305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ter Brughe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ter Brughe

Address: Oost-Gistelhof 2, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Bruges
#20 Luxury Hotel in Bruges
#31 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
#38 Family Hotel in Bruges
Price Range: $123 - $197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Ter Brughe 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Ter Brughe is situated in the centre of Bruges. The Markt, the shopping streets, all main attractions, nice restaurants and cozy bars are within walking distance. Along one of the most picturesque canals in the peaceful old quarter of St.Gillis, between the Augustine Bridge and the Tower Bridge , you will find the hotel. The oldest reference to the building dates from 1470. Believed is that the beautiful vaulted cellar is older. Built originally as a warehouse for goods which were brought here along the canals, it serves today as a magnificent setting for your buffet breakfast. The hotel is non-smoking and has 46 comfortable rooms. Since 1985 hotel Ter Brughe is a listed building. Therefore there is no elevator in the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Ter Brughe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ter Brughe Hotel
Ter Brughe Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing