We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Visit the city centre”
Review of Hotel Ter Brughe

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Ter Brughe
Ranked #34 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 13, 2012

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Anoniymous
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotel_Ter_Brughe, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Ter Brughe, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,100)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

622 - 628 of 1,100 reviews

Reviewed October 8, 2012

I arranged our stay in Brugge through Hotwire. The hotel we were provided met our expectations, it was close to the city center and all the sites to see, the room and bed were comfortable and the breakfast was outstanding! The only down side was that the rooms were really small and that there was not a shower in the bathroom. Besides this the room was comfortable, the staff was really friendly and accommodating and I woke up very early (in the middle of the night) from the smell of fresh baked goodies being served the next morning in their breakfast room in the oldest part of the hotel in the cellar.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LAMCD258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Ter_Brughe, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Ter Brughe, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2016

Dear Guest
We thank you for your review.
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Maybe we can welcome you another time in the future!
The fact that taking a shower is not possible and the size of the rooms are mentioned in every profile of the hotel.
Kind regards
Hotel Ter Brughe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

We have been staying each year at theTer Brughe for about the last 15 years. We love Bruges and have been at different times of the year. In the old days it was only the rooms with the thin walls and you do hear the people next door!! Yes they don't have showers only baths, but don't you go on holiday for a change anyway? If you can, go for the "newer" part of the hotel, bigger rooms, thicker walls, but it will cost a little more. Most have lovely views over the canal. No tourist boats on that part, only birds. All the people at the Ter Brughe are very friendly and helpful. We enjoy the breakfasts in the old cellar. Plenty of variety on offer. From some windows you can view the ducks and swans swimming by. When the hotel was extended, they were unable to extend the breakfast room, so at peak times it may get crowded in there. A bit awkward therefore negotiating your way to the food and back. It is usually extremly quiet at night and you are only about 7 minutes walk from the main square (Markt). I think some people who travel on special offer / budget trips will automatically go in the "older" part of the hotel and seem to get disappointed judging from other reviews. We always book direct with the hotel and make our own travel arrangements. I won't tell you our special room is case you want to go when we do, but I'm sure you will be comfortable there. Have a great time in Bruges.

Room Tip: Rooms in the "newer" part of the hotel looking directly over the canal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cecil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Ter_Brughe, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Ter Brughe, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2016

Dear mrs Cecil
We thank you for your review.
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We are always happy to see you again!
Kind regards
Hotel Ter Brughe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

The hotel is a very convenient walking distance for the whole of Brugge, which is a lovely city. It is a very old fashioned building with loads of character, if you want modern 5 star - don't stay here. The room had wooden beams on the ceiling and the bathroom was a good size, would have liked a shower (only a hand held attachment which sprayed water everywhere.) The stairs are steep and there is no lift but I understand planning regulations stop them from installing one. It is next to a canal and the breakfast room in the basement is lovely. Continental breakfast with a good selection of cold meats/pastries/eggs/cereals/juice & some very appetising breads. What we didn't expect in September was mosquitoes - hubby was bitten so use the mozzy plug provided. There is a bar and a nice inner courtyard to sit in if the weather is good. No tea or coffee making facilities though in the room (is this a Belgian thing?)

Room Tip: Ask for a ground floor room if you have trouble with stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yorkslass3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Ter_Brughe, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Ter Brughe, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2016

Dear Guest
We thank you for your review.
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Maybe we can welcome you another time in the future!
Please note that the absence of an elevator is mentioned several times in our profile.
The fact that taking a shower is not possible is mentioned in every profile of the hotel.
Tea or Coffee making facilities are not advertised as being present.
Kind regards
Hotel Ter Brughe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

just got back from 3 night's in the ter brughe, stayed in room 52, very nice , but friends had problems with mosquito bites

very close to market sq, very very good breakfast in a lovely room

room would be spot on with a shower as well as a bath.

ken & sue

was there 28th 29 th & 30th sept 2012

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RYBURN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Ter_Brughe, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Ter Brughe, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2016

Dear Guest
We thank you for your review.
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Maybe we can welcome you another time in the future!
We provide repellents against mosquitoes in every room.
Kind regards
Hotel Ter Brughe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We arrived here from Amsterdam and took Bus 14 from the station to Jan Van Eyck square. The hotel is just a short walk. Our room is on the lobby floor and overlooks the canal. The canals seem to be used strictly for tourist boats, but we did see a few ducks float by this morning. The beds are very comfortable, high ceilings, and great water pressure. I will concur with previous reviewers that a shower curtain would be great. It's very awkward to use the hand-held while trying not to douse the bathroom floor. The breakfast is great...large assortment of breads, cold cuts, cereal, hard boiled eggs and good cheese. All in all very pleasant and I would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank louiedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Ter_Brughe, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Ter Brughe, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2016

Dear Guest
We thank you for your review.
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Maybe we can welcome you another time in the future!
The fact that taking a shower is not possible (due to age and structure of the building) is mentioned in every profile of the hotel. Even though it seems 'simple' and 'cheap' for guests to install shower curtains, it is just not possible. That is why we mention numerous times that you just can not take a shower standing in our bath tubs.
Kind regards
Hotel Ter Brughe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

This hotel is in a great location, about five minutes from the Market Square. It is next to the canal, of which we had a wonderful view from our room.

The room was compact, but had great character with wooden beams, most importantly it was spotless, and cleaned every day.

We had a slight problem with noisy neighbours on our first night from 3 am to 4am (I am 100% confident this is an unusual occurrence) after an hour of loud talking and a loud TV blaing next to our wll. we complained to the reception, who sorted the problem right away. This was by no means the hotel's fault, but I was so impressed with how they handled the situation.

Breakfast in the morning was continental style, with plenty choice.

Staff were polite, friendly and nothing seemed like to much trouble.

Overall I would highly recommend this hotel and would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Erica P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Ter_Brughe, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Ter Brughe, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2016

Dear Guest
We thank you for your review.
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Maybe we can welcome you another time in the future!
Kind regards
Hotel Ter Brughe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Jan Brito
Hotel Jan Brito
#24 of 97 in Bruges
1,256 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Patritius
Hotel Patritius
#25 of 97 in Bruges
632 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Navarra Brugge
Hotel Navarra Brugge
#16 of 97 in Bruges
2,305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Karel de Stoute
Hotel Karel de Stoute
#36 of 97 in Bruges
143 reviews
0.2 mi away
Adornes
Adornes
#11 of 97 in Bruges
841 reviews
0.3 mi away
Oud Huis de Peellaert
Oud Huis de Peellaert
#18 of 97 in Bruges
1,309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ter Brughe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ter Brughe

Address: Oost-Gistelhof 2, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Bruges
#20 Luxury Hotel in Bruges
#31 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range: $124 - $198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Ter Brughe 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Ter Brughe is situated in the centre of Bruges. The Markt, the shopping streets, all main attractions, nice restaurants and cozy bars are within walking distance. Along one of the most picturesque canals in the peaceful old quarter of St.Gillis, between the Augustine Bridge and the Tower Bridge , you will find the hotel. The oldest reference to the building dates from 1470. Believed is that the beautiful vaulted cellar is older. Built originally as a warehouse for goods which were brought here along the canals, it serves today as a magnificent setting for your buffet breakfast. The hotel is non-smoking and has 46 comfortable rooms. Since 1985 hotel Ter Brughe is a listed building. Therefore there is no elevator in the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Ter Brughe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ter Brughe Hotel
Ter Brughe Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing