We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Bad for a 2** Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Canalview Hotel Ter Reien
Ranked #71 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Clean and pleasant room, good hot shower and comfy beds! Breakfast buffet was plentiful and tasty. Towels were a bit thin, there is not a safe in the room and you have to pay 5 euros for a kettle in your room and 5 euros for the WiFi access pin but those were the only drawbacks. Easy short walk to the Burg, Markt and most of the main sights and shopping areas!
Food in Brugge is not cheap (average 20 euros for a bowl of pasta!) but if you wander down some of the quieter streets there are smaller, less touristy restaurants where the food is lovely and just what you need.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FionaJSimpson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (735)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

199 - 205 of 735 reviews

Reviewed October 17, 2013

We paid extra for a canal view and this was definitely worth it. The room was very clean and had all the usual equipment (no tea making gear - we always pack a travel kettle on the continent). Breakfast was buffet with a full range of options and an excellent machine that gave fresh coffee. A short walk straight down the road to the Maarkt meant sightseeing was easy. Laangstraat is cobbled and a main thoroughfare into the centre, so, despite our room being a fair way away from the road the noise was easily heard with the windows open. This is a problem with a lot of Bruges hotels as the streets are mostly cobbled. Guests should be aware that the bathroom is a small pod in the corner of the room - it is perfectly functional but the shower space is quite small. This pod has batwing doors (saloon in the wild west?) which have sizeable gaps top and bottom; this makes morning functions an intimate experience with your fellow occupant!! You need to be good friends!! "Double bed" was twin beds pushed together.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a canal view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roobarbcustard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

We booked for a week to stay in this hotel September 2013. We had previously stayed there for 4 days. We found it good value the first time and had booked 2 rooms that were spacious with comfortable beds.
This time the room was extremely cramped, basic and dirty, although the bed was still comfortable. On our arrival we complained to the reception, who said she was the owner as well. She said she was unable to change our room, because if she did the next people would complain? I asked for a refund so we could move hotels which she also said she wouldn't give us. We didn't complain at the end but as soon as we arrived before we unpacked to give them chance to sort it out but they had no intension. It really spoilt our week in Bruge as we have stayed in some nice hotels in the past. They told us they did not have the room to move us to another room, but we later found out they did. Not recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mabel m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

We booked again at Hotel Ter Reine- bonus box of chocs when booking direct!!! We had a canal view- wonderful, watching boat trips and feeding the ducks.

We ate at The tiny bar bistro 'Smokehuis' just on next corner, home made simple food, tasty fish lasagne and Spaggetti bolognese. The knowlegable propriater tells you strength and taste of all the Belgium beers.

A pleasant 5 mins to market square- lucky we had great weather.
Breakfast good selection, with pancakes and syrup, fresh croissants and juices, usual ham cheese, rolls and jams.

Another happy shopping trip on the PO Ferry 2 for 1 deal.

Room Tip: Must have canal view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dellas60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

The hotel's narrow frontage along the sidewalk can be deceiving, at first we thought we made a mistake. Small reception with friendly young lady to welcome us. The narrow hallway opens to a patio ( need to cross this open space to get to the elevator so luckily we had umbrellas as there were occasional drizzles). The rooms were a delightful surprise - clean, neat, comfortable beds. Bathroom door consisted of two narrow swing-type panels and the entire bathroom is a cute cubicle - just like in cruise cabins... When you are in the shower your elbows touch the walls and plastic drape...careful not to drop your soap, no space to bend to pick it up! Our group of 7 paid total 5euros for wifi for all of us throughout our stay, signals were ok. The hotel is walking distance to many shops, restaurants, cafes, museums and the main squares; walking through the narrow cobblestone streets is a relaxing experience just seeing the serene canals, graceful swans, quaint shops and friendly people all around. The hotel is quiet and a comfortable haven for a brief rest before going out to explore the streets again. Basic light breakfast buffet was included -breads, croissants, jams, ham, cheese, boiled eggs, coffee, juice, fruits. We made a side trip to Oostende, a small resort city along the coast. Oh and when in Belgium, make sure to try Mouselen (mussels) cooked in various flavors and served up in whole casseroles per person; plump tender and most tasty indeed! A meal in itself! So good we had it in Antwerp, Bruges and Brussels, even in Paris we found a Belgian restaurant - Leon de Bruxelles along the Champ D' Elyssee where there were long lines to have the famous mussels! We loved Bruges with its old charm and the hotel made our stay enjoyable and confortable. A good hotel to base in, highly recommended. Next time we will ask for the canal-side rooms!

Room Tip: Canal side rooms have good views and slightly bigger bathroom area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Annette F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

We booked this room last minute as our plans changed during our drive home from Portugal. We arrived in Bruges a day early. We booked this hotel solely on price/location, we were in a rush and didn't really have time to look into all the details.

I can vouch for the below review, pretty much. We booked an unspecified room and actually received one on the canal, and I mean directly on the canal. Funnily enough, I've paid to have a canal view room (25EUR) in another hotel, which turns out to be a view, from across the large path and road. So anyway, back on track, the canal view turned out to be a great bonus.

We were unaware of the bathroom situation, I presumed it would be a bog standard bathroom, silly me. I can only describe it as reminding me of an aeroplane bathroom, but slightly bigger. Being a plumber by trade, there is definitely room to have a little more luxury without compromising living space, just lose a bit of wardrobe/desk area. It would be worth doing in my opinion, making the rooms vastly better.

Quick good points; clean, cheap, good service, secure, super location and great car park 5 mins away.

Free breakfast, great news. Had everything a continental type breakfast normally has, plus some hot crepes. This is a nice touch, as other hotels seem to charge the earth for breakfast.

No free wifi, but Bruges has free wifi if you're desperate. God knows what people done for fun before wifi came to Bruges... Being charged for tea and coffee sounded strange, the usual set up with a kettle/tea/coffee could be left in the room.

Overall, great for a one night stay, but if you like your comfort, the bathroom lets it down in my opinion, I was glad to be going to a hotel with a proper bathroom.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lloydemery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

We were not expecting a luxurious room and knew about the minute bathrooms so were not disappointed. Everything functioned and the comfortable bed had good quality linen. It was a shame there was no free wifi. Hiring tea and coffee making facilities seemed a bit expensive but it was good that the excellent breakfast was included in the room price. Windows out of reach so no view of anything, but room very quiet although hotel was full - only disturbance was from smokers talking below in the courtyard in the night. Very convenient location and hotel very easy to find. Great to have a front door key. Parked in the nicest underground car park I have ever seen, which was close by and only €7 per day. Main drawback was no guarantee of getting the type of room you specified when booking.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MWDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.7 mi away
Floris Karos Hotel
Floris Karos Hotel
#56 of 97 in Bruges
1,192 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Karel de Stoute
Hotel Karel de Stoute
#36 of 97 in Bruges
143 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Patritius
Hotel Patritius
#25 of 97 in Bruges
631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hans Memling Hotel
Hans Memling Hotel
#76 of 97 in Bruges
607 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ibis Brugge Centrum
Ibis Brugge Centrum
#46 of 97 in Bruges
2,343 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Jan Brito
Hotel Jan Brito
#24 of 97 in Bruges
1,256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canalview Hotel Ter Reien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canalview Hotel Ter Reien

Address: Langestraat 1, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Price Range: $84 - $196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Canalview Hotel Ter Reien 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Ter Reien is situated an arm's length from the Burg and the Main Market square. On top of its central location, the hotel has a quiet placement away from all commotion and charges a reasonable price. An ideal choice for those who prefer individual and friendly service. Enjoy your stay in a relaxed and casual ambiance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Canalview Hotel Ter Reien reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ter Reien Hotel
Ter Reien Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing