We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value, would stay again.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Canalview Hotel Ter Reien
Ranked #71 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Hotel is in a great location and a good value budget B&B. A very clean room with a fantastic outlook over the canal, extremely comfortable twin beds. The buffet style continental breakfast was fine, although the breakfast room a little functional but again very clean. The staff we came into contact with were extremely helpful and professional.

The only gripes...the en-suite was a "capsule" style shower, sink and loo unit with a saloon type of door which barely separated the room and the en-suite... so if you are sharing with anyone other than a very close friend a walk might be in order while loo is in use! The room walls are not the best soundproofed, but no worse than many hotels. If you want coffee/tea making facilities in your room there's an extra charge, but to be fair that is stated on the hotel Web site. Overall a great place to stay.

Room Tip: Canal view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 2canoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (735)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

224 - 230 of 735 reviews

Reviewed June 11, 2013

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Elizabeth F
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Handily located, about a 10 minute walk from the main square. It is what it is - a clean, basic hotel. Maybe we were lucky, but our room was quite large and also had a good-sized bathroom. Easily enough room for two, anyway. There isn't a bar but there is a futuristic machine which dispenses bottles of water and cans of beer. Breakfast was good, though could get a bit busy if you get your timing wrong. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonSprinter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

This is a basic B&B. The breakfast was the best part of the experience. Rooms are small, bathrooms are tiny. Management was not friendly. Location is about 4-6 blocks from the center of town. The hotel can be reached by the number 16 bus from the train station for about 2 euros. Car parking is about 5 minutes away on foot. To sum it up, its adequate!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chiefchem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

The hotel has a central location and is located right on one of the canals. Our group had 3 rooms, all of which were tiny and one couple had to change rooms as the bathroom was simply too small to be practical. All the rooms we had were ridiculously small and there is hardly any free space even to get dressed! There are no tea/coffee making facilities, no bar and the only food available is breakfast which is again, a crush to get in the room. The wifi was €5 for the stay but would not work in all the rooms. There is no car park either. So, given all this, I really cannot recommend the hotel, especially given the price. It is not particularly welcoming, the rooms are in feasibly small, and it represents poor value

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank alanyorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013

The selling point for this hotel is its central location in Bruges, adjacent to a canal and within five minutes walk to the main Burg and Markt squares.

The rooms were clean and tidy but quite basic and also very small. The ensuite shower/toilet was actually a compartment built into the room, similar to what you may find on an old cruise ship or north sea ferry for example. Towels were plentiful but low quality. Few in room amenities provided.

Breakfast was OK with a reasonable choice, no the best continental breakfast I've experienced but not the worst either. Bruges is an expensive place to stay and this hotel is slightly overpriced for what you get, although you are paying for the location

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank N_Young47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

This hotel was pretty cool. OK, the downside was that it was a pretty small room, and we travel really light. The bathroom was clean but really small also.
But, what a great room! We were right on the canal, as in, open the floor to ceiling window, sit on the ledge and dangle your feet down to the water.
The location was great; easy to find, about 15 minutes from the train station, not too far from the windmills (and up that street about 5 minutes is a good laundry). We were on a beautiful canal and a scenic part of the city. The hosts were friendly. We have no complaints. It was charming and romantic; memorable. Stayed 2 nights, June 2011

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LaVidaBuono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.7 mi away
Floris Karos Hotel
Floris Karos Hotel
#56 of 97 in Bruges
1,192 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Karel de Stoute
Hotel Karel de Stoute
#36 of 97 in Bruges
143 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Patritius
Hotel Patritius
#25 of 97 in Bruges
631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hans Memling Hotel
Hans Memling Hotel
#76 of 97 in Bruges
607 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ibis Brugge Centrum
Ibis Brugge Centrum
#46 of 97 in Bruges
2,343 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Jan Brito
Hotel Jan Brito
#24 of 97 in Bruges
1,256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canalview Hotel Ter Reien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canalview Hotel Ter Reien

Address: Langestraat 1, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Price Range: $84 - $196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Canalview Hotel Ter Reien 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Ter Reien is situated an arm's length from the Burg and the Main Market square. On top of its central location, the hotel has a quiet placement away from all commotion and charges a reasonable price. An ideal choice for those who prefer individual and friendly service. Enjoy your stay in a relaxed and casual ambiance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Canalview Hotel Ter Reien reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ter Reien Hotel
Ter Reien Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing