We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Back again”
Review of De Drie Koningen

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
De Drie Koningen
Ranked #1 of 36 Specialty Lodging in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Crawley, West sussex
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Back again”
Reviewed November 2, 2013

We loved the first time round and still love these apartments. We stayed in St. Donaas and felt very sad leaving. It's almost like our home in Bruges now. Lovely people, well stocked honesty bar and lovely fresh bread in the morning. Good walking distance for any of the sights. Will be back again but will probably need to book really early judging by the reviews as everyone likes it!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sinclair-Family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    13
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
67
46
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cartersville, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2013

This was the perfect home base for our family of 6 to explore Bruges and the surrounding area. Centrally located and it felt just like home. Even fit our VW minvan in the parking garage! Our kids were very impressed that this apartment was older than ANY building they've ever seen in the US. Plenty to see and to within walking distance. Be sure to shop at the market on market day!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarksFam82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

6 of us stayed here for 3 nights in October. We booked the St Jacob on the top floor. If you have a problem climbing stairs,this apartment is not for you.
The apartment was excellent, located right in the centre of Bruges, 1min from the main square. The apartment was huge and was of an excellent standard. The owners were very helpful and we would definately stay here again.
The honesty bar is a nice touch.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rugbygeordie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Currently Germany
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013

The owner was very pleasant and its in a great location, but the three bedroom apartment had a strange layout. On the main level there is one bedroom and one toilet - without a sink, which means either you have to brush your teeth in the kitchen sink or hike upstairs - same for washing your hands (if you know what I'm getting at). Upstairs there are two bedrooms, one with twin beds - the other with an on-suite bath tub and double sink, but no toilet. There is also a separate bathroom with a shower and double sink - no toilet, and then a small room with just a toilet. Don't get me wrong we really liked the apartment, but if you had three couples it would be a difficult juggling act. Could also use a good going over - lots of old spiderwebs in the corners and high places. The honesty bar was great and we used it to sample a variety of beers - prices were very good. Enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R0ving_Librarian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nico U, Eigenaar at De Drie Koningen, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Thank you for your reply. Indeed, all apartments are different because they are situated in old buildings (14th-18th century). To avoid misunderstandings or disappointments we provide a map of each apartment on our website. So what you see on our website is what you get.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2013

We would highly recommend De Drie Koningen. The location was perfect in the center of this medieval town. 2 minute walk to the markt square, the center of Bruges and the bus stops. We walked everywhere. Restaurants, pubs and shops start 1 block from the apartment's quiet street. The small lobby has a wide selection of honor bar beer/drinks to try, a wall of dvds free to enjoy, a morning bread service, and a small dipping/swimming pool outside. They let us use the laundry too.

The apartment was beautiful, clean with loads of natural light and high ceilings in some rooms. Larger than we expected. It was on the 2nd floor with 2 rooms upstairs along with the shower, so it may be difficult for older guests. We are a family with teens and it was great. We used the new modern kitchen, the patio dining table, the large great room. The rooms had operable windows for fresh air and room darkening curtains. The beds were very comfortable, pillows are different than we are used to (a little stiff). The only problem for us, we forgot to buy soap and shampoo for the shower. (our small airline travel bottles had already run out)

We stayed 4 days and took the short bus ride to the train, to visit the coast, Brussels and France. So glad we stayed here rather than in Brussels.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vic s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

Great place to stay, stayed in st jacob apartment ,loads of room even for eight . Nice pool and garden area ...good sun trap ! Also a well stocked honesty bar which we made use of , apartment is in great location for sights etc. look forward to going again .

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank j_d_owen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, Indiana, United States
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Our family of 6 (me, husband, 2 kids and my in-laws) stayed in the Onze-Lieve-Vrouw apartment and were extremely happy with the location and apartment. The free collection of DVDs were a hit with my kids (there were hundreds!), the extremely reasonably priced beers at the honor bar were a huge hit with my husband and father-in-law and I loved having the kitchen, space and washer/dryer. Did I mention that the washer/dryer were free, including the soap? The location was wonderful, just a few minutes walking to the market square, a few great restaurants nearby (we especially loved Cambrinus), a Carrefour (supermarket) near the square, and lots of bakeries (I recommend the one by Kraanplein & Vlamingstraat). All in all, a really great location. We might stay there again in the future.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank Marianne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Brugge
Crowne Plaza Brugge
#25 of 97 in Bruges
1,524 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
0.2 mi away
Relais Bourgondisch Cruyce - Luxe Worldwide Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Prinsenhof Bruges
0.2 mi away
Pand Hotel Small Luxury Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel Navarra Brugge
Hotel Navarra Brugge
#15 of 97 in Bruges
2,206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Drie Koningen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Drie Koningen

Property: De Drie Koningen
Address: Twijnstraat 17, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 36 Specialty Lodging in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Feel at home in 'De Drie Koningen' - Bruges 6 comfortable and spacious apartments in the same location. Very centrally located in Bruges. Historical heritage (14th – 19th century) apartments until 8 persons | until 4 bedrooms, garden | private parking space | swimming pool****-holiday rental licensed by the Flemish/Belgian government. Available all year round for weeks, midweek and weekend breaks. Hope to welcome you soon in Bruges, Ann & Nico ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your De Drie Koningen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Drie Koningen Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing