We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't miss out”
Review of De Drie Koningen

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
De Drie Koningen
Ranked #2 of 36 Specialty Lodging in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Previous reviews have said it all so my input is just to say thank you to Nico and Ann for providing a amazing place to stay with the family for 3 days while exploring Bruges. There was simply nothing to find fault with and the added bonus of a garage to leave our car in was just perfect. If you are planning a trip to Bruges don't miss out on this lovely place.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
Thank Lizzie66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (175)
There are newer reviews for De Drie Koningen
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

88 - 94 of 175 reviews

Reviewed June 19, 2013

We stayed as a family birthday celebration in the apartment called St Jan, with 4 bedrooms, and had a wonderful visit.

We had a very friendly and professional introduction by Nico, who explained the helpful features set up on the apartment iPad, the daily bread delivery service, the wide range (500) of DVDs available to borrow for free, and the cheap honesty bar with an extensive range of chilled Belgian beers (with the appropriate glasses for each).

The apartment was clean and tidy with good quality fittings. There was a lot of room, with a good-sized dining table and a nice kitchen with plenty of crockery. There was also a good games cupboard and a stereo to play tapes, CDs or hook your iPod up to, and free wi-fi.

We used the DVDs available which you can browse in reception, or through the excellent app set up on the iPad.

We enjoyed the morning bread delivery service, easily ordered up to midnight I think by making your selections on the iPad app set up for the purpose. It couldn’t be simpler.

Nico has also set up the apartment iPad with many links to area attractions, restaurant recommendations, and various needs that might arise. We found this very imaginative and useful.

The location is very handy, set back about a 3 to 5 minute stroll from the main Markt square. All the main parts seem to be within easy walking distance.

Our whole party were chuffed to bits with the place, and with Brugge.

I expect to visit Brugge again one day and I would definitely want to return to De Drie Koningen.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChickenBeakBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

I have been staying with Nico and Ann since 1997 and have never been disappointed with anything! They are most helpful with any question that I have put to them. The apartments
are all lovely and located very conveniently. I highly recommend staying with them in their lovely place!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Roberta D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

I am not one for writing reviews on places I have stayed but for De Drie Koningen I feel I need to make an exception. This the second time we have stayed at De Drie Koningen at they have been great. Nico and Ann are very helpful and welcoming hosts. We have stayed in two different apartments now and they have been both as good as each other. The honest bar in reception is a fantastic touch to the apartments and the prices are very reasonable. I am yet to stay at another place that offers this unique feature. I would recommend these apartments to anyone looking for a place to stay in Bruges and confident enough to say that I am sure you will not be disappointed. I look forward to returning for another stay again soon.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 5TomS5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

We had the most fantastic stay in Carmers which added to our enjoyment of what has to be one of the most beautiful European cities, and De Drie Koningen is in the perfect location to explore Brugge. The apartment has a real 'wow' factor when you walk in - it is beautifully decorated and the living area is absolutely huge. Everything about it is comfortable. The living area has two very comfortable lounges on which to loll while watching one of the many DVDs provided by Nico and Ann who clearly know how to look after their guests. The kitchen is very well equipped with all the glassware, crockery etc you could possible need. The stove is great and the combination microwave/convection oven gives you a range of cooking options. There is not, however, a conventional oven. The bed is large and comfortable although the provision of a couple more pillows would be appreciated. There is plenty of hanging space with that rarest of provisions - plenty of coat hangers. There is a large bathroom with a very much appreciated heated towel rail. While we were there Belgium had some less than spring-like weather and we found the apartment easy to heat and cosy. The other lovely thing is the roof terrace. While it doesn't have a particularly nice outlook it's great to sit up there and have a drink - often from the fantastic range of beers offered in the 'honesty bar' - when the weather permits. My only word of caution is that there are a number of steep stairs to haul your luggage up and you need to be quite careful when coming down, in particular. We adored our stay in Carmers and hope to revisit De Drie Koningen one day in the future.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mini_d51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

For my wife’s 50th birthday she wanted to go to Bruges with another couple, so we did and booked the Onze-Lieve-Vrouw’ apartment within De Drie Koningen.

After a lovely champagne breakfast at St Pancras and picnic lunch on Eurostar we walked from the railway station to the apartment. The location was perfect as it was very near the centre but still quiet and relaxing with a delightful balcony at which we sat and soaked up the sun. It had everything we needed and, although there was only 4 of us in the apartment which is a six person, it was spacious and well equipped (one suggestion is that you could add a separate toaster to the kitchen). The apartment had been renovated to a high standard and bathrooms, beds and furniture were neat and tidy.

The honesty bar and the bakery app were particularly appreciated and I would recommend taking the opportunity to sample every single one of the beers on offer, we did. Incidentally we were very impressed at the price of the beer as there was very little mark up.

We did have some nosy neighbours in one of the lower apartments on the first night who partied until 5am but they were burned out for the rest of the weekend and didn’t hear a peep.

If you chose to come to Bruges, I would recommend the apartment as it is a perfect base from which to take in the sights, sounds and smells of what is a large town rather than a city around which you can walk. On the Saturday there was a birthday treat of a personal guided tour of Bruges which was really engaging and full of those stories that you can never quite hear when part of a larger group. There are loads of restaurants in Bruges and we sampled several; on Friday night we ate at the ‘T Schrijvekre’ near the Gruuthuse Museum, looked more expensive than it was and served up a quality meal; on Saturday we went to the small Lebanese restaurant (near the obligatory Irish bar) on the right as you walk from the apartment to the square, it was a good value filling meal; but on the Sunday we had pre-booked an evening at De Stove at which we enjoyed a wonderful 4 course meal which I’ll cover in a separate review. On the Sunday morning we hired 4 bikes and cycled to Damme, sampled a few more beers and wobbled our way back tucking into well earned plate of frites on the market square. We left Bruges after a long lazy lunch in the Central Restaurant on the market square on the Monday.

I’d definitely return to the apartment and to Bruges. Even now, every time I look at the fridge magnet I’ll have a smile on my face at our wonderful birthday bash.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DeMaccas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nico U, Owner at De Drie Koningen, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2013

The toaster will be there next time ;-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Having selected this apartment some 4 months ago from Tripadvisor from the photos and comments, we were more than surprised the the accommodations were better than we expected.

Nico was very helpful and accommodating to our needs. Even parked the car in the garage for us as I was still getting over the horrific drive from Paris. (Right side of the road, Left side of the vehicle). Never again...

Nico showed us into our apartment Charmers, and we were very pleasantly surprised both with the cleanliness and the size. at 100sqm it was four times the size of our Paris accommodation.

We were also presented with an Ipad for contact with Nico, ordering of baked goods and various other tourist advice. This was very helpful to us.

As you enter the complex there is the Belgian beer area which is an honour system and works very well. You select your beer and the appropriate glass and take it off to you room. Fill in the form and pay as you check out. Very civilised.

We found the accommodation very well located about 2 min walk to the main square and as walking you can stop of for Breakfast at a great little patisserie about half way. Can't remember the name but you cant miss it.

This accommodation was one of the highlights of our trip and even though we had a 2 person unit the also come in 4, 6 and 8 persons.

I could not speak any higher of this property and it was a great part of our trip.

The only downside of Brugge but not Brugge's fault is that I will never hirer a car out of Paris again. Catch the train !!!

Jeff Greaney.

Room Tip: Book well ahead as this was booked out some 3 months eariler.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank JeffGreaney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Brugge
Crowne Plaza Brugge
#24 of 97 in Bruges
1,548 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
0.2 mi away
Relais Bourgondisch Cruyce - Luxe Worldwide Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Prinsenhof Bruges
0.3 mi away
Hotel Navarra Brugge
Hotel Navarra Brugge
#15 of 97 in Bruges
2,236 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel de Orangerie
Hotel de Orangerie
#8 of 97 in Bruges
743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Drie Koningen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Drie Koningen

Address: Twijnstraat 17, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 36 Specialty Lodging in Bruges
Price Range: $128 - $286 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Feel at home in 'De Drie Koningen' - Bruges 6 comfortable and spacious apartments in the same location. Very centrally located in Bruges. Historical heritage (14th – 19th century) apartments until 8 persons | until 4 bedrooms, garden | private parking space | swimming pool****-holiday rental licensed by the Flemish/Belgian government. Available all year round for weeks, midweek and weekend breaks. Hope to welcome you soon in Bruges, Ann & Nico ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your De Drie Koningen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Drie Koningen Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing