We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great pub, poor Hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
St Christopher's Inn at the Bauhaus
Ranked #3 of 38 Specialty Lodging in Bruges
Reviewed July 22, 2005

We had a double room with bathroom, no toilet.

website ----

Postives
- OK location
- Lively bar/pub
- Cheap

Negatives
- Room smelt and was dingy
- Room looked run down with old furniture
- Shower was terrible and unclean
- Paper thin walls, with noisy neighbours - who arrived home drunk and loud (although this could be expected in a hostel)
- bar doubles as hostel reception
- front street door not locked at night

Only young travellers who want cheap and rough accom should stay here.
- pic of rooms on website looked very different to room we were allocated

  • Stayed: June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank plod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (918)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

545 - 551 of 918 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Windsor, Canada
26
Reviewed June 1, 2005

This was my first time in a hostel.
On paper, the bauhaus sets a high standard for itself. In reality, it falls short in every possible area.
Enough said. You have been warned.

  • Stayed: May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2005

First, I was turned off by the fact that I was an afterthought while trying to check in for my 3-bed room. You see, the bar has a duel role of selling spirits and managing the hostel. Maybe I should have ordered a beer and in passing say that I wanted to check-in. They were more interested in the bar business than the hostel business. Brugge is wonderful and the place was cheap, so I would recommend the place for budget travellers. The shared shower facilities could have been more clean. The location is not ideal, but the historic town center is very walkable so it was not bad. A bus does run from the train station to the hostel or it will take to a good 15-20 minutes to hike up there.

  • Stayed: March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Viking-travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
scotland
14
Reviewed February 19, 2005

well for young people who dont care where they are staying its all right!! what i mean is it is VERY basic the pub attaching it has the best atmosphere you could ever imagine but put it this way the first thing i saw was a pile of dog poo in the middle of the floor and the fact that a mouse appeared in our shower from the middle of nowher ws amazing! i think i liked it so much cos im young and dont get phased by it but i can understand why people dont like it. id go back but only for a couple of nights at the most. oh and may i add we had to dispose of the mouse ourselves as after the second day no one had got rid of it!!!!!!!!

4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2004

I stayed in the hotel section and was not impressed. There was no reception for the hotel and the door to the street was apparently never locked. In the middle of the night (because the room had no deadbolt) someone opened the door to our room. The hotel smelled a bit moldy as well and the room was incredibly cramped.

4  Thank sixteencmg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Dublin, Ireland
14
Reviewed October 17, 2004

I chose the Bauhaus based on the advertisement on the internet. It fit our budget and appeared quite nice. The smell in the room was awful. The shower was more like a walk in closet with nothing keeping the water from pouring onto the carpet outside. The carpet was half soaked and stunk of milder. The decor was horrible as well. Would never stay there again!

4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Watford, England
18104
Reviewed January 23, 2004

It must be pointed out that Bauhaus provide both hostel accommodation and hotel accommodation in 2 separate buildings! I stayed in the hotel part with two friends and found the place rather nice. It was simple, yet clean and inexpensive. I would stay here again, but from what I have read, I would avoid the hostel section of the building. Prime location on a lovely street.

2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bruges hotels
1.3 mi away
Hotel Ibis Budget Brugge Centrum Station
3.1 mi away
Green Park Hotel Brugge
Green Park Hotel Brugge
#69 of 97 in Bruges
691 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ibis Brugge Centrum
Ibis Brugge Centrum
#46 of 97 in Bruges
2,392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Novotel Brugge Centrum
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Brugge
Crowne Plaza Brugge
#23 of 97 in Bruges
1,617 reviews
0.2 mi away
Flanders Hotel
Flanders Hotel
#22 of 97 in Bruges
1,877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Christopher's Inn at the Bauhaus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Christopher's Inn at the Bauhaus

Address: Langestraat 133 - 137, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 38 Specialty Lodging in Bruges
Price Range: $39 - $117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — St Christopher's Inn at the Bauhaus 2*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a complex of six UNESCO World Heritage listed Brugean step-gable houses and surrounded by Bruges' historical centre, St. Christophers Inn - The Bauhaus offers the best party atmosphere and beer selection of any Bruges hostel. With Legends of Bruges walking tours and Belgian beer tastings on-site EVERY DAY, there's always a great experience waiting for you in the bar - stop in and try one of our 40+ high quality Belgian beers and chat to our friendly international staff for some restaurant and sightseeing recommendations! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your St Christopher's Inn at the Bauhaus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Christophers Bauhaus Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing