We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location for budget traveller”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
St Christopher's Inn at the Bauhaus
Ranked #4 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Bruges
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great location for budget traveller”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Only about 10 mins walk from city centre so really convenient. First two nights stayed in a 5 bed room which was more expensive but we expected it to be nicer. DO NOT DO THIS! The room was awful, directly above the bar so even with ear plugs in, you could still hear the music. Showers were just terrible. Worst experience ever. On the contrary, we stayed in a 10 bed Pod room the 3rd night and had the best hostel experience ever. It was cheaper, quieter, each bed has a privacy curtain and even the showers were 100x better. These rooms are a lot more modern, so do yourself a favour and stay in a bigger dorm but make sure it is a "Pod" dorm.

Room Tip: Larger rooms are more modern and quieter as they are not in the same building as the bar. They are a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rapier32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

861 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    217
    318
    185
    79
    62
See reviews for
33
191
190
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
australia - switzerland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

The bar area is lovely and cosy, the free breakfast is nothing to write home about.
We stayed in a two person room and there was no wifi and our room wasn't ready when we checked in (after 2pm).
Otherwise a good hostel, about 10 mins walk into town centre.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank kylierachael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Smell of drains in room, shower and sink both didn't drain so overflowed, no curtains, thick, short black hairs on walls of shower, filthy under bed, difficulty shutting room door, no towels (even though we booked a room that was supposed to include them) broken bed and filthy walls and ceiling. Rude, ignorant Bar staff who don't wash their hands after using the toilet. Only saving grace was a peaceful nights sleep and the bed sheets were clean. Will never stay in a st christophers hostel again and will certainly never recommend. For the price I expected MUCH better.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suebeedoo1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

No car park although website says there's parking, closest free parking was half a mile away. Paid extra for a 'superior double with private bathroom' which didn't have the following that it said would include on the website... Double bed was two single beds pushed together with two single duvets, no television, no wifi, no bath only shower, broken curtains and no parking! Lots of noise coming from the corridors and could hear a pin drop outside on the street which kept us up all night, breakfast was also only cereal or bread buns. Staff were friendly and helpful though and bruges is lovely place well worth the visit. If all you want is a place to rest your head then this is the place for you, however just stick with a standard room as it's not worth the extra cash for none of the extras.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank philpotta371
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bruges hotels

Level Contributor
62 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013

Located just within 10 minutes walking distance from the centre, this hostel is still situated in the ancient streets of Bruges. If you decide to come by car, you have to park elsewhere and walk the last bit.
The hostel consists of various parts. The main building, with the bar/breakfast area and some rooms and a separate building on the other side of the street with some large sleeping rooms.
I slept in one of the sleeping rooms on a good bed, with a curtain (to give you privacy) an own bed light, some sockets and plenty of room to store my stuff in the locker under the bed. Bathrooms were spacious and clean, with perfect warm water.
Overall a really nice hostel, to stay a couple of nights.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martijn_1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed December 15, 2013

Just 10min walk from the Markt, st. Christopher's Bauhaus hostel is a great place to stay!
Nice people, and you'll soon get to know other backpackers!!
In the evening you can talk with other backpackers at the Bauhaus bar or chill out in the back of bar.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IlvyR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2013 via mobile

Only stayed here for one night but I enjoyed it. The private room we had was all we needed. The hostel was clean and the staff were friendly. Went on the pub crawl which was alright but the hostel is a good place to stay!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richo90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bruges hotels
1.3 mi away
Hotel Ibis Budget Brugge Centrum Station
3.1 mi away
Leonardo Hotel Brugge
Leonardo Hotel Brugge
#67 of 97 in Bruges
3.5 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ibis Brugge Centrum
Ibis Brugge Centrum
#45 of 97 in Bruges
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Martin's Brugge
Martin's Brugge
#38 of 97 in Bruges
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,803 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Bourgoensch Hof
Hotel Bourgoensch Hof
#52 of 97 in Bruges
4.0 of 5 bubbles 633 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Christopher's Inn at the Bauhaus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Christopher's Inn at the Bauhaus

Property: St Christopher's Inn at the Bauhaus
Address: Langestraat 133 - 137, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — St Christopher's Inn at the Bauhaus 2*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a complex of six UNESCO World Heritage listed Brugean step-gable houses and surrounded by Bruges' historical centre, St. Christophers Inn - The Bauhaus offers the best party atmosphere and beer selection of any Bruges hostel. With Legends of Bruges walking tours and Belgian beer tastings on-site EVERY DAY, there's always a great experience waiting for you in the bar - stop in and try one of our 40+ high quality Belgian beers and chat to our friendly international staff for some restaurant and sightseeing recommendations! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, HostelWorld, Expedia, Cancelon, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your St Christopher's Inn at the Bauhaus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Christophers Bauhaus Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing