We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK place to stay, but at times a pain.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
St Christopher's Inn at the Bauhaus
Ranked #4 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Bruges
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“OK place to stay, but at times a pain.”
Reviewed December 12, 2013

Location is not at the centre of town, but a bus will take you close to it from the train station, and you can walk into town very easily, as Bruges is quite small.

The hostel rooms were fairly clean, though the bedding was worn out and the layout in one room made it difficult to get anything into and out of the locker under the bed, as the bunk beds were so close together. Again, though, the locker could hold a backpack and small suitcase, and the bed was a pod bed (in the 10 bed mixed dorm) with plug and light. Wifi is very spotty and slow, though, and in some rooms you can't access it at all. (This is not true, though, if you are in the bar, where it is fast enough). My room was near the stairs, and you could hear the door slamming shut and people walking, which could be annoying. Otherwise, though, there was no issue with noise. Sometimes, though, the room smelled bad, or was too hot. Also, the key card access to the building required you to spend a few minutes swiping your card through until it worked (this was true also for the other guests I talked to) and I had to go back to reception a few times because of key card problems!

Washrooms could also be a bit smelly, but in general were clean, and the showers were lovely. Instead of a push-button system like the St Christophers in Barcelona and Gare du Nord, the shower in the Bauhaus was just a normal shower, and had consistent hot water that you could actually control. In addition, there was a spacious shelf and hooks for clothes etc. that kept them protected from the water, as well as a shelf for your soap etc.

Breakfast was the standard juice, cereal, and bread affair, and free tours were available twice a week. A locker room is available as well, but be careful that you aren't even a minute late - you will be charged overtime and have to pay it before accessing your things.

Room Tip: Beware of the rooms next to stairs. Rooms further away from the main building (with the bar) will ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

865 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    219
    320
    185
    79
    62
See reviews for
33
192
192
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 11, 2013

Everything was great! Hostel is close to the city center, room was cosy any clean as expected. We chose the hotel room, which was in the second building, recently renovated. The bar downstairs offers various beers and drinks and, of course, great fun! The staff was friendly and helped us whenever we asked. Thank you for lovely time in Bruges!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank szamil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2013

We opted to rent a private room as a couple. The bar area and staff were great, very friendly and helpful and the actual hostel side of things looked ok. Our room was warm and clean but the bed was so uncomfortable it was crazy. The pillows were terrible too. We had a TV and a wardrobe in the room and the tv was smashes on one corner and had no aerial plugged in to it, so it didn't work. The wardrobe had a door missing too. Not a major issue, I know, but when the room was basically €60 for the night I would expect a bit better. How much does it cost to put a half decent bed in and a TV that works? Also a wardrobe that isn't broken can't be expensive. I know it's a hostel, but if you're going to advertise features, they should work and if you're going to charge €60 a night the bed should be comfortable. Look elsewhere for a better deal on rooms, and read reviews of travellers that used the hostel bunk room sot see how they got on.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JAYZEE79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bruges hotels

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2013

Our third stay at the Bauhaus and it's always our first choice if in Bruges. The staff are excellent and the guest mix always seems to be friendly and of various ages.

The bar is a highlight with good prices and a great atmosphere and even a few locals.

Easy to find and only a short walk away from the main square.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank azertyuiop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level Contributor
54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2013

Can't review the hostel itself as we didn't stay here however my husband and I stumbled upon the bar whilst walking the streets of Bruges one evening and found it a great place for a beer or two. Staff were very helpful and a really nice atmosphere and fairly cheap too! Worth a visit if you're young and not wanting to spend loads.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sinners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

The staff were lovely, the drinks were good (and cheap), the rooms was spacious and clean, the beds were super comfy, the bar was a pleasant place to hang out while not exploring the beautiful town of Bruges, if I ever come back I will definitely be staying here!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruby12334
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 27, 2013

We stayed in a 8 bed dorm with fairly standard bunk beds. The roof of the room leaked and dripped right in front of the door which made it dangerous and smelly. The room was also right beside the rubbish holding area so you couldn't open the doorsnor windows without it stinking of trash.
Lockers also didnt work, you could lock them but it was easy to open them even with the lock on. You had to go through the bars bathroom to reach the room which wasn't always the most pleasant. The bar was good value and was busy most nights with backpackers which was good fun.
It is in definite need of renovation!

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank becandtroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bruges hotels
1.3 mi away
Hotel Ibis Budget Brugge Centrum Station
3.1 mi away
Leonardo Hotel Brugge
Leonardo Hotel Brugge
#68 of 97 in Bruges
598 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ibis Brugge Centrum
Ibis Brugge Centrum
#46 of 97 in Bruges
2,237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Novotel Brugge Centrum
9.1 mi away
Hotel De Stokerij
Hotel De Stokerij
#25 of 97 in Bruges
339 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Biskajer Adults Only
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Christopher's Inn at the Bauhaus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Christopher's Inn at the Bauhaus

Property: St Christopher's Inn at the Bauhaus
Address: Langestraat 133 - 137, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — St Christopher's Inn at the Bauhaus 2*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a complex of six UNESCO World Heritage listed Brugean step-gable houses and surrounded by Bruges' historical centre, St. Christophers Inn - The Bauhaus offers the best party atmosphere and beer selection of any Bruges hostel. With Legends of Bruges walking tours and Belgian beer tastings on-site EVERY DAY, there's always a great experience waiting for you in the bar - stop in and try one of our 40+ high quality Belgian beers and chat to our friendly international staff for some restaurant and sightseeing recommendations! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HRS so you can book your St Christopher's Inn at the Bauhaus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Christophers Bauhaus Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing