We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit disappointing”
Review of Groeningemuseum

Groeningemuseum
Book In Advance
More Info
$74.70*
and up
Brugge Day Trip from London
More Info
$161.34*
and up
Amsterdam Super Saver: Bruges Day Trip plus Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and...
Ranked #13 of 153 things to do in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The Groeninge Museum provides a varied overview of the history of Belgian visual art, with as highlight the world-renowned Flemish primitives. In this museum you can see, amongst other masterpieces, The Virgin and Child with Canon Van der Paele by Jan van Eyck and the Moreel Triptych by Hans Memling. You will also marvel at the top 18th and 19th-century neoclassical pieces, masterpieces of Flemish Expressionism and post-war modern art.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Stroller parking, Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children, Lockers / storage, Wheelchair access
Montoire-sur-le-loir, France
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A bit disappointing”
Reviewed October 19, 2013

Would have liked to have been given more details on the paintings on exhibit. Headsets to hire would be nice.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank betty12341539138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,266 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    612
    469
    146
    31
    8
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sunnyvale, California
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
91 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Really enjoyed this museum!”
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Yes, it's small but it's a wonderful museum with some very important works of art. The journey through the museum takes you from early Flemish primitives through the various styles of painting to modern art. Very well done! It was an informative, interesting and unexpected delight in my trip to Brugge. The museum has a number of pieces on loan from 2 other museums (can't remember which ones right now) that complement and enhance their permanent collection. Well worth the visit!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dorcas K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kewarra Beach, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Not so fussed”
Reviewed October 16, 2013

I was very keen to visit as I found Bruges such an incredble place. Guess I have seen a lot of museums around the world and I think opinions of places are very dependant on your interests. Not a lot here that floated my boat. But - go and see it and decide for yourself.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank RhondaH628
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASHFORD
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Not a massive gallery.”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

This gallery was just the right size. A good selection of paintings old and new. Could do with more seating as otherwise you have to carry around a folding seat that you could easilly miss when you enter the building.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank RICHARD K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
212 reviews
62 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“An Unexpected Treasure”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We had wandered through the pretty natural gardens before coming across this small art museum previously the day before visiting. However, the weather decided our plans for us on the last day of our city break and as it was pouring with rain - a Sunday (and retail was out, as almost everything shut except for chocolate shops, restaurants) - we chose to return to view the Flemish Primitives we had read about.

We wandered from room to room and were amazed at how close we could get to the paintings - though the museum was relatively full of people escaping the wet, we could view everything without feeling crowded. The detail and artistry of some of the work was quite breath-taking; as well as the realism in some of the older religious paintings.

An excellent introduction - well curated and thoughtfully displayed - the museum shop was very reasonable and the staff at the ticket office and cloakroom friendly.

Definitely recommend - there is a general description in each room (in English) and we thought it great value for money.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Virginia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Groeningemuseum also viewed

Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 

Been to Groeningemuseum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing