We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very informative but make sure you go to the demonstration”
Review of Diamond Museum

Diamond Museum
Ranked #56 of 153 things to do in Bruges
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: The Diamond museum sheds a fascinating light on Bruges' gem connection. Diamonds were traded and polished here as far back as the 14th century. The museum shows how medieval Bruges was the first diamond city in the world, and why the industry later moved to Antwerp. The museum features permanent and temporary exhibitions, a shop dedicated to all things diamond-related, and offers its unique Diamond Polishing Show every day.
Dorset, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Very informative but make sure you go to the demonstration”
Reviewed October 11, 2013

We visited the museum and before the diamond polishing demonstration we looked around the actual museum. Whilst it was interesting it was not that stimulating, I didn't learn anything that I didn't already know and I'm not into geology or diamonds.
What made it was the diamond polishing demonstration and talk. This was fascinating and I did learn a lot about how we end up with the finished items.
You need to check times of the demonstration as in the off peak months they only do it once a day, I think it's twice a day in peak times.
You do get a small and I say small free diamond when you pay full price for two tickets, a nice souvenir.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    81
    85
    47
    26
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beverley, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Lacked imagination - Don't bother unless you watch a demonstration”
Reviewed October 4, 2013

We didn't see the demonstration, but assume that this must make the experience more interesting. Without the demo you're just left with some boards to read.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sidcup, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Interested but too short”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

This only cost €20 for four of us and was very interesting it was very short and the demonstration only happens twice a day and we were not informed at the front desk we had missed it so was a bit annoyed at that. But like I said previously it was interesting but out from start to finish in less then half hour

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank LeanneR102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Good but could be better”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Interesting museum. It costs a little extra to also be allowed see the diamond polishing demonstration at the end (the usual money making philosophy adopted by tourist attractions). The demonstration was good except that not enough use was made of the camera - when the guy was polishing the diamond he looked very intense and full of concentration but nobody could actually see what if anything was happening to the diamond as the camera was not being used.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank eiresteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
239 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Not worth the entrance”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

If you enjoy looking at pop up banners with dull stories this is the place for you. Otherwise give it a miss. The extra fee for seeing the diamond polishing display isn't worth it - even though it's the most interesting bit and the young man doing the demonstration is at least amusing.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank RolloMcFluff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Diamond Museum also viewed

Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 

Been to Diamond Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing