We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Be Aware of Restoration”

Onze-Lieve-Vrouwekerk
Book In Advance
More Info
$54.12*
and up
Ghent and Bruges Day Trip from Brussels
More Info
$125.89*
and up
Brussels Super Saver: Brussels Sightseeing Tour, Antwerp Half-Day Trip, Day...
More Info
$23.53*
and up
Private Medieval Tour With a Local Guide in Bruges
Ranked #15 of 154 things to do in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: The 115 metres high brick tower of the Church of Our Lady is a perfect illustration of the craftsmanship of Bruges' artisans. The church displays a valuable art collection: Michelangelo's world-famous Madonna and Child, countless paintings, 13th-century painted sepulchres and the tombs of Mary of Burgundy and Charles the Bold.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Be Aware of Restoration”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

We visited on the weekend of the 21st September and there was a sizeable restoration in progress. There is a sign to this effect outside the church however.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank DIANNE N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,724 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    704
    637
    276
    76
    31
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Restoration work taking place”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

The church was undergoing restoration work and so it spoilt our visit to some extent - however, because of this we only paid 2 euros to see the 'Madonna with Child' as opposed to the 6 euros it should have cost. I was happy with this as this piece of art work was the reason we visited the church!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Debra P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Under construction”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

The church is currently under construction, but a fair discount is offered from the price (instead of 6 it is 2 euros now), and it worth it. There was no big crowd when we visited, and we managed to see the sculpture of Michelangelo, and the whole church is very nice. Fantastic wooden works everywhere, it will be very nice once it will be ready.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank EraKiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Church in Brugge”
Reviewed September 21, 2013

The church as a structure is quite impressive from the outside but in disrepair on the inside. The emotional impact was less than I expected. The famous Pieta statue of Michaelangelo's was not impressive; I can see why he let it be sold and moved. OK to visit for an hour or so, but not a lot more than that.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank markcinnamonmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasant Hill, California
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Michaelangelo's Madonna is only the start”
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Unfortunately, our visit coincided with a reconstruction and preservation effort. Many of the religious artifacts and works of art were shrouded in protected coverings.

As a result, entrance was reduced to 2€ adult, 1€ senior. Still, this was money very well-spent.

The marquee attraction here is the only Michaelangelo Madonna and Child outside of Italy. This is a fantastic, sublime sculpture. However, there is so much more to see.

Lecterns, confessionals and other fixtures are elaborately carved. The altars and stained glass are magnificent. Plus, there are viewing portals to ancient below-ground burials, and at least a couple of elaborate royal sarcophagi.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank bob94523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Onze-Lieve-Vrouwekerk also viewed

Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 

Been to Onze-Lieve-Vrouwekerk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing