We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful building!”

Basilica of the Holy Blood
Book In Advance
More Info
$14.24*
and up
Bruges Highlights Private Tour with a Local
More Info
$54.60*
and up
Ghent and Bruges Day Trip from Brussels
More Info
$127.02*
and up
Brussels Super Saver: Brussels Sightseeing Tour, Antwerp Half-Day Trip, Day...
Ranked #8 of 154 things to do in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This chapel contains a phial that reputedly contains Christ's blood brought back from the Crusades.
Gibsons, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Beautiful building!”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Went here on a day trip and was a lovely place hidden away. Beautiful sculpturing! Would've taken a lot of photos inside but the sign said no. We had just missed a service but admired the music and view.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rachie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,577 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,018
    1,165
    320
    50
    24
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Very spiritual”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Discovered this late in our visit. Quite a humbling experience. Even my scepical husband could't help but be subdued.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Patricia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

We visited the Basilica of the Holy Blood unplanned and fortunatley was 2 minutes before they brought out the relic of Holy Blood. We stayed to go up to the alter and say a silent prayer. The setting was very beautiful and moving. They ask for donations to help the upkeep of the Church. Bu unfortunatley leave the microphone on next to the donation box so the oversound is of an arcade. I thought this spoilt the atmosphere so I decided to put my donation in the box at the entrance of the Church instead, which seemed to attract a glare from the priest as I passed the Relic without him seeing me leave any cash. This did spoil my experience. It was a beautiful place and I'd recommend a visit but it you see the relic, make sure everyone see's you making a donation or you may be frowned at!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Deh085
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Visit during the veneration of the blood”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

We had no idea what was going on when we stumbled into this beautiful place of worship and saw everyone starting to form a line to the side of the chapel. To actually see the holy blood and receive a blessing was so emotional, one of the highlights of a visit to beautiful Bruges!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Cat L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire. England
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“lovely place”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

We got back from bruges this morning and loved visiting the basilica of the holy blood.
Very interesting, a must see.!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Basilica of the Holy Blood also viewed

Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 

Been to Basilica of the Holy Blood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing