We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful”

Basilica of the Holy Blood
Book In Advance
More Info
$13.73*
and up
Bruges Highlights Private Tour with a Local
Ranked #8 of 153 things to do in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This chapel contains a phial that reputedly contains Christ's blood brought back from the Crusades.
Tipperary, Ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed September 20, 2012

I visited the Basilica with my friends in April. It's very beautiful inside but confusing at first because after entering, we had to go out and around the building as we couldn't see the statue from the side that we went into as they had made it into the exit side.


TIP: Don't forget to cover your shoulders/arms in there. It was warm outside so I took off my jumper and forgot to put it back on going in there until I got odd/disgusted looks off of two elderly women.(OOPS!)

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank LittleFlower90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,509 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,980
    1,141
    316
    49
    23
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“avoid school trip groups !”
Reviewed September 20, 2012

closes for lunch and unrealistically early. Awful when there are school trips traipsing round. BUT lovely stained glass windows and when quiet is a great place for quiet reflection in the middle of a busy town.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Richard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lecanto, Florida
Level Contributor
208 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Unique Church Experience”
Reviewed September 20, 2012

The Basilica of the Holy Blood is a small church that is chockablock with fine art. Please don't focus just on the art that is in the guidebooks. Many of the newer, less famous art is splendid as well. Just look and take it in. For example, on the left wall there is a depiction of the stations of the cross. It is very powerful. Because it was painted in 1921 in a style reminiscent of the baroque era, it gets little attention. But it will be worth your time. Also look at the relief of the Last Supper on the lectern.

We attended mass and found it a fine experience, even though only one of us is Catholic.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Chescat5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Really beautiful colorful walls completely decorated in patterns. Gorgeous interior, and small so not lots of walking. I'm not religious, but I thought the vial of blood was interesting.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank trippedytripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
46 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Incredible”
Reviewed September 10, 2012

The basillica is georgeous, and the experience of laying your hands on the holy blood in veneration is a moving spiritual experience. This was a highlight of the trip to Brugge for me.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Virginia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Basilica of the Holy Blood also viewed

Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 

Been to Basilica of the Holy Blood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing