We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very over priced” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kwizien Divien

Kwizien Divien
Ranked #543 of 701 Restaurants in Bruges
Price range: $8 - $38
Cuisines: French, Belgian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Located next to the Belfry of Bruges, Kwizien Divien offers a modern Belgian and French cuisine, based on local ingredients. The menu offers fish, meat, and vegetarian dishes, various menu formulas, and Flemish specialties. Indoor and outdoor seating. Open for lunch and dinner.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very over priced”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012 via mobile

We experienced many of the shades of other reviewers of this restaurant. I'm sure we had the same waiter as mentioned by another reviewer as he brought a whole new level to the term "dour". The salt pots cannot possibly ever need to be refilled as all the food was over salted. Even the pepper pot had salt in it. The chef must have had the salt sensing parts of his tongue removed.

I had the grilled tuna which was a poor cut being very grainy. However it was nicely presented on a tasty pasta bed. I ate it all so it could not have been that bad. My wife had a traditional Flemish beef stew which was a very cheap cut of brisket beef. She could not eat it all but filled up on the huge bowl of Frits which she said were delicious.

End to end the experience was not that bad - nice atmosphere great coffee and the food was edible. But certainly not worth the €101 for 2 people for 1 and a half courses ( we shared the desert). The wines were ordinary but very pricey. A basic Pinot grigio (Gris in French) was €46!!! And not nearly as good as the Italian version.

On the service there was one waiter so let me just say that you need to be patient - even on a Thursday night.

Actually on reflection I'm being generous with the score of 3.

    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Filip4philip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    34
    12
    14
    35
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Morelia, Mexico
Level Contributor
199 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Excellent dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2012

We h.ave dinner in a table looking to the Markt. The food was excellent. The waiter was very kind and provided us an excellent service. I do recommedd this restaurant

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank fulmen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Never again...”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2012

Visited in Autumn 2011, had the misfortune to endure an awful starter and a half decent main.
However, the crowning glory was a waiter with the jolly demeanour of Morrissey and Leonard Cohen, the interpersonal skills of Joseph Stalin and the smile of an assassin (having a particularly bad, bad day!!)
Memorable for a lot of reasons.....all of them wrong!

    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank SDI1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“great potential but needs better trained staff”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2012

We stayed in Brugge at the beginning of November 2011 on our annual wine trip and visited this restaurant on the Saturday night. It was just of the main square and seemed very nice. We were shown to our table and offered menus and then left, and left, and left...eventually, after deciding not to help ourselves at the bar we went in search of the waiter. We eventually obtained drinks and ordered our meal. We all went for the set menu - homemade soup, pasta and a sweet. The soup looked great but the I think that the chef must have had an accident with the salt cellar. He obviously didn't taste it after seasoning and neither did the waiter as when we pointed it out to him he merely strugged his shoulders and told us so. The main course spag bol was ok - however, the main reason the majority of us ordered was seeing the portion size of one of the staff on the way to the toilet but we soon realised that that was obviously a staff benefit! Ours just filled half the bowl. Would I recommend this restaurant....definately not. Try the kebab cafe 5 yards away - delicious, friendly and far better value!

  • Visited November 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Southy1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
45 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Beautiful food, nice atmosphere, slow service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2012

A small, restaurant just beside the Belfry in Bruges. We really enjoyed the food here. Very high standard, cooked and presented really well. However, it took 5 minutes before we were handed a menu and another 25 before they took our order, this pattern followed between each course, and we had to to wait a long time to get a drink (after the first course). The customers beside us experienced the same thing. One couple sent their main course back because it was cold. When we pointed out that a couple near us had gotten their main course 20 minutes before we did despite arriving after us, and ordering the same things, the waitress seemed to take it personally, and we felt a little uncomfortable after that. I would recommend it if you want a long, slow, relaxing evening with good food.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank nóinín
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kwizien Divien also viewed

Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 

Been to Kwizien Divien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing