We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unique in every way !!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Relais Bourgondisch Cruyce - Luxe Worldwide Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Relais Bourgondisch Cruyce - Luxe Worldwide Hotel
Ranked #4 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Paris
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Unique in every way !!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2007

We stayed at the Relais Bourgondisch Cruyce during the weekend of New Year and had a wonderful time.
This hotel has the most unique location in Bruges as it is really built in the water. While we were drinking a glass of Bollinger champagne in our room ( here not a cheap minibar but 24 hour room service ) we were overlooking the beautiful canals.
Book a superioir classic room. they have frontal canalview, marble bathrooms and lovely beds !!! we'll be back

  • Stayed December 2006
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
Helpful?
9 Thank mcgi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,055 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    860
    146
    26
    15
    8
See reviews for
83
770
27
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2007

Stayed there in December 06 and could not fault it. Friendly service, great room and views of the canal. The hotel is perfectly located for the city, On next visit would probably not bother with the breakfast option as was rather limited... that said it doesn't matter as it is not as if you are short of choice of great places to eat !!. Underground carpark near by was very useful and staight forward to find.

....looking forward to staying at the RBC again!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — No mini bar
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AWBEEZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2006

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights during the post christmas holiday.

The location was not obvious, but our taxi driver found it with no problem. The hotel is set back in a side street off one of the main streets in Brugge.

The location is very charming, as the hotel is right on a canal as you can tell from the photos.

However, when we went inside the hotel to check in, we were not greeted by the young lady at the registration counter. She was on the phone chatting and did not seem to be in a hurry to get off even though we were standing there arms laden with our luggage. She stayed on the phone for another 10 minutes at least (again, seemed to be in no hurry to end her leisurely conversation nor made signals to us that she would be with us momentarily, so we had no idea if she ever planned on tending to us).
Finally she got off the phone and checked us in with no apologies.

Our Classic room was facing the canal with an amazing view but it was very small. There was enough room for the bed and a very narrow walkway around the bed. So with our two standard sized rollers and a laptop bag, the room was jam packed. I don't feel great paying a lot of money for a room that small, but the view was breathtaking and the room was beautfiully decorated, so it was fine since we were also only there for 2 days. The bathroom was very nice - lovely marble and a fine size. Our heat worked intermittently (we were generally not too bothered, but my husband ended up electing to sleep in his cashmere sweater, so it was definitley on the colder side) and we overheard another couple complaining to the front desk that their heat was not working at all.

The hotel rate does not come with breakfast, so we opted for the breakfast only on the second morning. It was a basic continental breakfast, but they also made waffles for you, and the dining room was very nice and had a great canal view as well.

Overall, the hotel is truly very special and charming. It had a lot of antiques and was renovated and decorated with care. You can't beat the location - it made sightseeing in Brugge very convenient, and I loved our view from our room. I had some issues with the service when we checked in and the size of the room. But overall, it was a good experience.

  • Liked — Canal view and the ambience of the hotel
  • Disliked — size of room, customer service during check-in
  • Tips/Secrets — Ask how big the room is and make sure you get a canal view
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Angelyvonne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2006

We stayed at this lovley hotel to celebrate my husbands birthday. The room was a superior room which was large and comfortable. The only downside was finding the place. It was pouring down with rain as we arrived in Bruge by car (our second trip) so it was not completely unfamiliar to us.. However, we drove around for more than two hours in contact with the hotel but could not find it. In the end the receptionist told us to park and she came to us. The hotel is in a walkway and the sign is almost impossible to see driving around. The other downside is the car parking although in a nice secure garage this was a good walk from the hotel - with all the luggage it almost finished us off! This said the hotel was lovley and the michelin star restraunt where we had been before was in walking distance (which we highly reccomend. the one star not the three star one.)

Stayed December 2006
Helpful?
1 Thank ElizabethWestSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2006

What an absolute gem of a hotel situated in an almost perfect location in the historic centre of the city.
It is only once in a while that a hotel actually lives up to the expectations of pre holiday research, but this one does so and more.
The actual location on Wollestraat places you in a near traffic free environment almost surrounded by the canals that border 2 sides and a matter of 100 meters from the most picturesque Markt Square and a proliferation of restaurants.
The hotel building is so old and quaint and our superb room had a panoramic outlook over the canals and ancient buildings. What a joy.
The service is polite and attentive but never intrudes upon the peaceful ambiance that pervades the building. Breakfast is excellent and good value although the hotel owned and managed restaurant for evening dinner is located away from the main hotel and due to the large number of excellent restaurants in the immediate vicinity this was a pleaseure that we passed by.
If you plan a visit to Brugge you cannot afford to miss this hotel.

  • Liked — Location and Atmosphere
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — Pay for the best view its outstanding
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
13 Thank WelkomHome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, AZ
Level Contributor
47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2006

My wife and I stayed at the Relais Bourgondisch for three nights as part of a ten day, first time visit to Belgium for a vacation. The Relais is a first class, romantic boutique hotel just off of one of the main streets and overlooking a canal, all about 3 minutes from the central square. The staff is most attentive and charming and our room (deluxe) was extremely comfortable and inviting, charming and modern, all at the same time. The real thing is as good if not better than the pictures on the hotel website.

Brugge is small and very walkable to all areas, however the location of the hotel just adds to the convenience. It would be a wonderful place to stay for a honeymoon or romantic occasion. We cannot wait to go back.

  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank brysully
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2006

Arriving at 11pm on a Friday, my partner and I having taken the Eurostar from London, the hotel looked closed for the night so we had to ring the bell. The door was opened by a charming (and ancient) man who knew who we were and escorted us to our room. He wispered all the way and we were left with the impression that people round here liked to go to bed early. We changed our clothes and went out to find a late night watering hole. We returned to the hotel at 2am to the same warm wellcome.
The room was quite sumptious in an old fassioned way and had a modern bathroom. We had plenty of space and our only issue was the woden floor that we felt could be noisey for our neighbours.

This hotel is excellently located right on the canal and features on many postcards available in the town. Their restaurant is located a few minuted walk away in another part of the town and we sampled their fair on the Saturday night of our stay. A complementary drink was offered as we were guests at the hotel and the service was good. The food wasn't excellent as one dish in the four we ordered was a bit dissapointing and there was a lack of Belgian cholcolate on the desert menu
We would stay in the hotel again and reccomend it to others.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — No Bar
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank stjohnsmyth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges
0.3 mi away
Hotel Prinsenhof Bruges
0.3 mi away
Hotel van Cleef
Hotel van Cleef
#1 of 97 in Bruges
5.0 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
0.0 mi away
Pand Hotel Small Luxury Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hotel Heritage - Relais & Chateaux
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relais Bourgondisch Cruyce - Luxe Worldwide Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais Bourgondisch Cruyce - Luxe Worldwide Hotel

Property: Relais Bourgondisch Cruyce - Luxe Worldwide Hotel
Address: Wollestraat 41 - 47, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Bruges
#5 Family Hotel in Bruges
#7 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Relais Bourgondisch Cruyce - Luxe Worldwide Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Romantic boutique hotel housed in extraordinary waterfront residence, decorated with antiques, objects of art and luxurious fabrics. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Relais Bourgondisch Cruyce - Luxe Worldwide Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais Bourgondisch Cruyce Bruges
Relais Bourgondisch Cruyce Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing