We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique, charming, romantic and great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Relais Bourgondisch Cruyce - Luxe Worldwide Hotel
Ranked #3 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
tsgbhalf
Level Contributor
123 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Unique, charming, romantic and great location”
Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

This is a very special place. Quiet, yet close to city center. Romantic setting and great staff. The rate is "high", but certainly in line with the special nature of this hotel. We did a package deal that included a fun and informative walking tour.
This will be a tough act to follow.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank tsgbhalf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,075 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    879
    147
    26
    15
    8
See reviews for
85
783
28
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

This hotel was our second choice as the first hotel raised their prices for half term. I am so pleased we didn't book our first choice! From the moment we arrived we were treated to a first class service and looked after. The hotel is small and all the better for it. We had a standard room with a view of the canal if we stuck our head out the window and it was beautiful. Our bathroom overlooked the bar next door which we thought might be noisy at night but it was closed by 9pm each night so it was very quiet.
The hotel did charge an extra 25E each for breakfast so we passed on this and had breakfast at the many local cafés each morning. It would have been nice to have breakfast at the hotel but just too expensive.

Improvements would be tea making facilities in the bedroom - I missed my cuppa! Cheaper breakfast. The hotel don't mention that they were in the film In Bruges which we watched when we got home - we'll worth a watch!

Overall a fab hotel in an excellent location for visiting Bruges. We will be recommending to friends and family.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cucklebum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013

We stayed at this hotel on our honeymoon overnight on our way to Amsterdam. Cannot fault the customer service we received. The staff were very helpful and the room cosy and the beds comfortable. Bruge is a truly a magical place and the location of the hotel is perfect. We absolutely loved it and if we are lucky enough to visit Bruge again, we would definitely stay in this hotel

Room Tip: Book a room with view of the canal
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mzmelburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

One has to view a hotel through the lens of how much you are paying. For a few nights away from young children, a good night's sleep and a rare lie in, we thought euro 388 a night would buy us a good sized room to spend some time in and a comfortable bed. Bourgondisch Cruyce fell considerably below our expectations. We clearly had a very different experience to others reviewing on TA. On arrival we were put off by the piped pop music in the lobby and overwhelming smell of artificial room fragrance which pervaded the whole hotel and was so strong I could smell it hours after arriving (one usually gets used to smells), and when I unpacked my clothes at the next hotel, they smelt of it too.

The deluxe room (number 30) in the eaves wasn't big enough to swing a cat (see pic). The bathroom door bumped into the bed and one couldn't walk around the bottom of the bed without bending under the roof beams. If you wanted to spend time in the room you would have to be actually on the bed. There was no storage for the minimal clothes we had (just 3 coat hangers and 30cm of one shelf beside the safe). The view from the window was pretty special but this should be the icing on the cake in a hotel room, not the only reason to stay there.

Apart from the size of this room, the other two big issues were the very uncomfortable bed and extreme temperature in the room which we were unable to reduce with the thermostat. I don't have a problem with beds made from two singles pushed together but this bed tipped you into a steep soggy slope in the middle and was solid as a rock elsewhere. Neither of us slept a wink, even with all the windows wide open to try and cool the room down. We stayed on the 25 Oct. Other smaller issues were already opened, half used toiletries, poor water pressure and a shower where the max height was shoulder height and because of the bath surround one would have to tilt one's body at an impossible angle to get ones head underneath.

Breakfast the next day was chaotic. No member of staff welcomed us, nor the family in front of us. We waited a while to be seated. At 9am all the breakfast needed replacing and when people asked they would bring just two glasses so someone would have to ask again 5 mins later. There was no orange juice, hams, bread, glasses, fruit salad, we asked twice for butter. The man serving clearly thought we were unreasonable rejecting two cappuccinos piled with fresh squirty cream. I'm sorry. By this point we had lost patience with the hotel and didn't know that all cappuccinos in bruges come with whipped cream. He said we could only have them that way. It was a relief to get out of the hot hotel into fresh air. You can't eat in such temperatures

We were due to stay 3 nights but checked out after 1. They let us do this without penalty but no one asked us why. We have never done this with a hotel before. We checked into the Relais chateaux Heritage which is excellent; the room four times the size, lots of extras, a comfortable bed and fluffy towels. For euro 100 a night less.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank Sienacinquecento
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We stayed at this quaint little hotel for our 25th Wedding anniversary and it was perfect! The staff were wonderful and so helpful. We had a first class breakfast looking out over the riiver and the eggs and bacon were perfectly cooked! We would thoroughly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Acko99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penarth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Fantastic stay here. Room cosy and comfortable. Pleasant little reading-room. Extremely helpful staff with good local knowledge. Great location; off the main drag, but convenient central location and plenty of atmosphere.

The only (minor) criticism is that the breakfast is over-priced for what you get; but you can easily find somewhere else for that. You don't choose a hotel for the breakfast!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrChrisJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is nicely location next to the canal and a great spot for beautiful photos. Both the night and day view turns our great on the camera. Hotel has a lift which is a relief if you have big luggage. The hotel location is most advantageous as you can walk to all the tourist sites and restaurants.

Hotel staff are very helpful and friendly and speaks good English. Did not try the breakfast as it's rather costly.

Due to the close proximity of the hotel to the church, you will hear the constant church bell ringing very 15 minutes. Thankfully, this only happen between 8am to 6pm so it really do not disturb your sleep.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank D24d24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Prinsenhof Bruges
0.3 mi away
Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges
0.3 mi away
Hotel van Cleef
Hotel van Cleef
#1 of 97 in Bruges
5.0 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
0.0 mi away
Pand Hotel Small Luxury Hotel
0.0 mi away
Hotel de Orangerie
Hotel de Orangerie
#9 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relais Bourgondisch Cruyce - Luxe Worldwide Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais Bourgondisch Cruyce - Luxe Worldwide Hotel

Property: Relais Bourgondisch Cruyce - Luxe Worldwide Hotel
Address: Wollestraat 41 - 47, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Bruges
#5 Family Hotel in Bruges
#7 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Relais Bourgondisch Cruyce - Luxe Worldwide Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Romantic boutique hotel housed in extraordinary waterfront residence, decorated with antiques, objects of art and luxurious fabrics. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Relais Bourgondisch Cruyce - Luxe Worldwide Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais Bourgondisch Cruyce Bruges
Relais Bourgondisch Cruyce Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing