We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location / Poor Service”
Review of Lace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lace Hotel
Ranked #91 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Reviewed December 23, 2013

My 5th visit to Bruges for Christmas and this is the poorest hotel I've stayed in. Highly over priced for the quality of room and the reception area is deserted most of the time, which is odd as it's the busiest time of the year ! I'd not return to this particular establishment as there are much nicer places if you have a look about.

Very good location though.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DanHad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (278)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

75 - 81 of 278 reviews

Reviewed December 16, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is located centrally on one of the market squares which was fab for walking back at the end of the night. The breakfast was a good cold buffet, no complaints there. I won't be staying here again and that is because there was loud music playing from one of the neighbouring bars until gone 5am. The noise of people coming & going under the window & the music made for a terrible sleep. The room itself was basic but adequate. Bathroom was like a little plastic pod in the corner of the room. Fine for one night but I will not be using it again.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dukatie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2013

Stayed one night ( 07/12/2013 ) to visit the Xmas Markets. Hotel is in a good location and very close to everything we wanted to see and do. We booked a suite and it was large,clean and very tastefully decorated / furnished with a modern twist, it even had a small balcony. Staff were very friendly and helpful and the breakfast was amazing. We would certainly stay there again and thoroughly recommend it.

Room Tip: Choose a suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Stayed here with a soccer side, Mature guys and not rowdy at all. Good Central Hotel in T'zand square adjacent to the Underground Car Park. In a very noisy location, close to bars, nightlife and general pedestrian noise. The rooms very small but everything included facility wise you could want, although very cosy. Twin rooms mean two beds, one duvet, so be prepared for that. The Breakfast was quite good, as varied and plentiful Continental style as you could want. Found the staff to be quite rude, and all of us felt that their attitude could have been better, otherwise for the price this isnt a bad place to stay if you want to take in the nightlife. If however you are "Senior" I would definitely try elsewhere .

Room Tip: If night noise bothers you, make sure WHEN YOU BOOK, to ask for a quiet room at the back, the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cleethopresmafia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

There are no plus points for this hotel and any agent selling rooms in this hotel should be very aware that they are not fit for use. As one reviewer has already described, the bathroom looked like it belonged on a cross channel ferry. The lighting was so poor that my husband and I deliberated about buying a lamp. As for the noise coming from the bar next door well, it was a relief when 4 am arrived except that was when the delivery lorry turned up! Aah home at last for some peace and quiet and a good night's sleep.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ardn-Yar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

The hotel was clean and modern, the breakfast was really good aswell, the staff were friendly and helpful. We were upgraded to a luxury room which was really spacious, clean and comfortable, the only negetive was the heat, the room was really stuffy and the a/c unit didnt work, also we had single beds pushed together with a big gap between them. We had the windows open on the first night as we couldnt sleep due to the heat which resulted in us both being bitten countless times by mosquitoes, both of us had to visit the pharmacy and I have been to the doctors twice on my return. Overall - The Lace Hotel is in a really good location, is a nice comfortable base and is reasonably priced!
Bruges is a beautiful place ot visit with lots to see and there is a nice, relaxed atmosphere. My advice if you go in the summer months (we were there early September) would be to take some mosquito repellent and after bite!! I would love to go there around Christmas time for the markets!

Room Tip: If you book through Delphech travel like we did (who were really helpful), you get a free room upgra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarah c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

As a retired couple we decided to spend a few nights in the beautiful and romantic city of Bruges, which it was. Sadly this was totally marred by the really bad choice of staying at the Lace Hotel.
The only positive was its close location to get around easily. On arrival the room we were given was not very clean and the sink was very unpleasant not very clean , cracked, discolored and had no plug. The room had no air conditioning and was very hot so really needed to have the windows open for ventilation but there was a night club that went on until 4:00am every morning of the four nights of our stay with the added bonus of having a refrigerated lorry with its engine running outside our window from 7:00am until 9:00am every morning- so we had a 3 hour slot of peace each night. Would not have associated Bruges with being like Ibiza , Majorca etc !
So if you want to have peace and quiet do not think of going anywhere near this hotel.
The breakfast was acceptable apart from the open display of meats , fish and cheese that the fly's obviously arrived before the quests- basic hygiene suggests that these should be covered.
I have done a large amount of travelling during my life and can say that this is definitely the worst Hotel I have ever stayed in and in my opinion is not even worthy of a 2 star rating let alone the 3 star rating it currently has.
We tried to move to another room but this was smaller , hotter and not even as nice as the one we had. Needless to say we will never be returning

Room Tip: Choose another Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Passage
Hotel Passage
#88 of 97 in Bruges
121 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Ibis Budget Brugge Centrum Station
0.4 mi away
Hotel 't Keizershof
Hotel 't Keizershof
#73 of 97 in Bruges
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Leonardo Hotel Brugge
Leonardo Hotel Brugge
#68 of 97 in Bruges
680 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Restaurant 't  Putje
0.3 mi away
Hotel Koffieboontje
Hotel Koffieboontje
#85 of 97 in Bruges
634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lace Hotel

Address: 't Zand 5, Bruges 8000, Belgium (Formerly De Markies)
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #91 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Price Range: $61 - $173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lace Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Markies Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing