We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely boutique hotel in centre of Bruges”
Review of Die Swaene

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Die Swaene
Ranked #61 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Bruges
1 review
“Lovely boutique hotel in centre of Bruges”
Reviewed June 11, 2014

The location of this hotel is brilliant, and the views of the canal exceptional! The lobby and communal areas of the hotel were very impressive, and the staff extremely friendly and welcoming. The room was somewhat disappointing, as we were given two single beds pushed together instead of a double, and the toilet was separate from the bathroom in a small room. The decor felt a bit tired, but otherwise the room was very comfortable and airy, and we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Claire A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

441 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    229
    120
    53
    24
    15
See reviews for
37
283
11
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2014

Die Swaene is the perfect historic hotel in this gorgeous ancient city. My husband and I stayed here for two nights (not long enough) in May in a Superior Deluxe Double room for 295 euros a night. We were in the "new" Pergola building across the canal from the main building. The windows in our very large, comfortable room opened directly onto the canal -- amazing. We had a gas fireplace. The setting is perfect -- on a quiet canal out of the hustle of all the tourists, but only a short walk to everything one goes to Bruges to see. We had a delightful lunch on the terrace of the Pergola restaurant. The staff is fabulous -- feels family run. They are so welcoming and helpful. They made last minute dinner reservations for us at two of Bruges best restaurants. The included buffet breakfast has all the choices one could wish. Although the canal boat tours go by from late morning until early evening, at night it is silent.

Room Tip: Pay the extra money for a canal view room. It is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank journeys99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
114 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2014 via mobile

Well located in the middle of everything. Historical building. Great area to relax in front of fire & take glass of wine on the 1st floor.
Take room with view on the channel. Rooms well equipped, only low point - bath ancilaries (take your shampoo, conditioner, shower gel with you)
Nice pool to relax.
Really great breakfast with huge variety of pastry, fruits, chocolate.
Very helpful people at front desk.
Strongly recommended!

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Vera_Tron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
67 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2014

very cosy hotel with an excellent staff. very friendly and helpful. the rooms are spacious, clean, and comfortable. the location is in the heart of Bruges, very close to most attractions. they had a nicely decorated room with a piano where you sit and relax. the pool was also great, not big but a good enough to relax in.

The only issue I had was with the shower. my room was on the top floor so the walls were slanted 45 degrees. the shower was crammed in a corner so I couldn't fit while standing. I had to lay down in the tub to take a shower! but despite that, I would definitely go back again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hubrack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2014

What a wonderful hotel! My boyfriend and I stayed at Die Swaene for four nights over the late May bank holiday. Everything about our stay was fabulous. The staff that greeted us on arrival and drove us (a few hundreds metres in a golf buggy) to our room in the new part of the hotel. Our room was spacious, well decorated, well kept and well equipped. Die Swaene appear to take pride in the small details that make your stay special, small touches like a well stocked (reasonably priced) mini bar, apples to snack on in the room and the best stocked buffet breakfast ever!

The hotel is in a beautiful setting on the banks of the canal, right in the heart of town. Although the hotel is central there is still a feeling of peace and calm. Yes, the guided boat tours sailing past the window are a little annoying, but they start late morning and stop early evening.

We would highly recommend eating at the on-site restaurant. We were able to get last minute reservations and we ate there two out of four nights and every dish we had was delicious.

No complaints. Yes, as a typical British couple we would have missed our tea making facilities but we read the reviews online and packed a travel kettle! Yes, the hotel is pricier than your average hotel in Bruges, but you certainly get what you pay for. We would stay there again if we were in Bruges and would definitely recommend to friends and family.

Room Tip: Pick a room in the new building - canal side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheBears_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2014

On my 4th trip to Brugge myself and my husband opted for the Die Swane hotel.
We drive to Brugge directly from the U.K so the choice of a hotel with parking is an essential, after getting totally lost in Brugge's one way system we finally pulled up outside the hotel, The staff were supper friendly and immediately checked is in even before time and then sorted the car out with it's home for the night.
We had a room in the old part of the hotel and although it was nice it was really in need of some tender love, the rooms were comfortable but not so great on amenities, there was no toilet roll and no tea or coffee making facilities and for myself as an early riser this was an essential, it meant at 5 a.m i was wandering the hotel to find coffee when finally i found a lovely man to accommodate my needs. We made use of the sauna and the pool which was a great feature of the hotel. The breakfast room was set in a lovely conservatory so plenty of light with large buffett of more or less everything you can think of and to a very high standard. Overall the best part of this hotel is the staff they are fantastic, but the price charged, I really feel that the counterpart hotels in central Brugge are about 100 euro's cheaper.

Room Tip: If staying here I would suggest the new part of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fk220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Godalming, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2014 via mobile

Just wanted to say thank you to the staff at this pretty hotel. Not only was our room fabulous (four-poster bed and huge inglenook fireplace) but the staff members were all friendly and enthusiastic. They even managed to get us a last-min reservation at the local Michelin-starred restaurant, no doubt using their local clout! Lovely little pool and sauna area - and stunning first-floor salon. Perfect town centre retreat.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rupert15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel De Tuilerieen
Hotel De Tuilerieen
#21 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,495 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel de Orangerie
Hotel de Orangerie
#9 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Jan Brito
Hotel Jan Brito
#27 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pand Hotel Small Luxury Hotel
0.1 mi away
Relais Bourgondisch Cruyce - Luxe Worldwide Hotel
0.1 mi away
Duc de Bourgogne
Duc de Bourgogne
#49 of 97 in Bruges
4.0 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Die Swaene? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Die Swaene

Property: Die Swaene
Address: Steenhouwersdijk 2, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Luxury Hotel in Bruges
#51 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Die Swaene 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Die Swaene**** is a sanctuary overlooking one of the most picturesque canals, right at the very heart of the old historical city center and just a stone-throw away from the Market and Burg square. This prize-winning hotel is considered to be one of the most romantic and peaceful boutique hotels in Europe and is renown for its customer-friendliness and excellent service. Quite a unicum in this age of 'time is money' but here one still finds time to listen to the needs of the guest. Die Swaene**** has 24 elegantly furnished and individually decorated rooms and the public rooms have an atmosphere of times past. The authentic salon "Guild of Merchant Taylors" (1779) is classified heritage and a perfect place to relax by the fire-place after a day of exploring the beautiful city. Or do you prefer to take an aperitif in the cozy bar or have a plunge in the swimming pool with sauna? Its all possible in Die Swaene. At the opposite side of the canal one finds the "Pergola" wing with 8 Superior Deluxe rooms, each with fire-place in the room and view over the water. From Monday to Friday we offer a free guided tour with an English speaking guide. Die Swaene**** has everything to make your visit unforgettable ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Die Swaene reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Die Swaene Bruges
Die Swaene Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing