We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel, great location”
Review of Die Swaene

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Die Swaene
Ranked #60 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 22, 2013

This was our first visit to Bruges and we couldn't have been more central so it was perfect. We got there and parked the car then didn't need it till we left. You walk out the hotel and can get on a canal trip about 50 yards from the entrance, you really are right in the middle of everything.
Hotel was a bit on the pricey side costing us 180 Euro (with parking) and this didn't include breakfast - that was an extra 20 euro each. But I understand it is a nice boutique hotel and we didn't mind paying it as it was a beautiful. After a day of wondering round we have a little swim in the pool, it was a bit cold so didn't stay in long but the pool area was nice and clean and well kept. The gentlemen on reception insisted on walking over to our car with us to get our bags and couldn't have been more helpful. The hotel also have a free walking tour each day which is great.
Would definitely recommend this hotel as a treat for a few nights.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2008bex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (456)
There are newer reviews for Die Swaene
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

137 - 143 of 456 reviews

Reviewed September 17, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights in September. We appreciated the parking which can be difficult in Bruges and we didn't even have to bring our luggage in, all taken care of. The welcome was great - we were shown where everything was and taken to our room on the first floor. We had a standard room and it was well appointed with a large bathroom. We love the fact it had his 'n' hers sinks. Th room was quiet and cosy. Breakfast was buffet continental style, though fruit juice, hot drinks and a choice of eggs were brought to us on order. Perfectly located for exploring Bruges we thought the room rate was good value for the city. We had a lovely relaxed Sunday lunch in the hotel restaurant on the terrace overlooking the canal. The hotel had old fashioned charm and we would stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We wish we could have stayed more than one night. The hotel is in a great central location easy walking to anyplace in town. Our Jr suite was very nice with modern amenities for such a historic building . We really enjoyed the excellent breakfast !!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank t1upnsc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

We recently stayed at this boutique hotel in Bruges as we were invited to a friends surprise 60th birthday dinner in the restaurant there, which was very smart. The food was delicious although portions rather small, the service attentive and friendly. Most of the guests also stayed at Die Swaene as it is centrally located in the old town area, yet quiet and restful being alongside the canal. There are numerous bars within walking distance to choose from for pre-dinner drinks. On sight parking was available for guests who had come by car; we took a short cab ride from the Eurostar terminal. Our room was located over a canal bridge apart from the main hotel but this was not a problem. It was sumptuously decorated with long curtains, drapes, antique dark wood furnishings, oil paintings on the walls and a huge, comfortable bed. The en-suite was luxurious and stylish with modern shower, bath and twin basins. There were no tea or coffee making facilities in the room, but available via room service for extra cost.

Room Tip: The quality of each room varies, some of our friends were not as happy with their rooms as we were w...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BeckyWestLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Nice experience in this familly style property in the midddle of the old center. The hotel is split in 2 parts across the canal... Original and in summer it is funny to cross the bridge to have breakfast or to jump in the pool.

Each rooms are decorated in a different way with antiques... Main building seems more a romantic style, while the delux room in the pergola annex are More theatral chic... Amuzing to feel like a 19th century bourgeois staying in his bruge's appartment full of antieks brought from around Europe or Asia.

The +: the location, the theatral deco of the delux pergola rooms, the canal view, the pool, the breakfast, the terrace at pergola for a late drink over viewing the medieval city landscape.

The -: the heavy and oldy deco of reception, the old TV in rooms (while plasma specified in reservation), the plastic flowers at restaurants, the poor state of some furnitures.

Room Tip: The decoration of rooms are really different from one to another... Check pictures before
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nekeltje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We had a very relaxing stay ,the room was very quiet at the back and had air conditioning which was a plus.The staff were very helpful and Melissa was particularly good at getting us good tabes at various restaurants. The hotel restaurant was adequate but very small portions, my husband had the strawberries for dessert which consisted of 6 strawberries cut in Half and arranged on a large plate no added cream or ice cream was offered.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Pamela009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Die Swaene was a superb hotel in every detail. The decor was splendid, the staff could not have been more helpful and very friendly and the location is extremely convenient for the centre of Bruges. This was our first visit to Bruges and we were completely in awe of this city having been on several visits to Amsterdam and Venice. A complete delight and we will definitely return and look forward to staying in the excellent Die Swaene.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Renoir10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel De Tuilerieen
Hotel De Tuilerieen
#21 of 97 in Bruges
1,533 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pand Hotel Small Luxury Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hotel de Orangerie
Hotel de Orangerie
#8 of 97 in Bruges
744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Brugge
Crowne Plaza Brugge
#23 of 97 in Bruges
1,550 reviews
0.1 mi away
Relais Bourgondisch Cruyce - Luxe Worldwide Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hotel Heritage - Relais & Chateaux
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Die Swaene? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Die Swaene

Address: Steenhouwersdijk 2, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Luxury Hotel in Bruges
#51 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range: $137 - $304 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Die Swaene 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Die Swaene**** is a sanctuary overlooking one of the most picturesque canals, right at the very heart of the old historical city center and just a stone-throw away from the Market and Burg square. This prize-winning hotel is considered to be one of the most romantic and peaceful boutique hotels in Europe and is renown for its customer-friendliness and excellent service. Quite a unicum in this age of 'time is money' but here one still finds time to listen to the needs of the guest. Die Swaene**** has 24 elegantly furnished and individually decorated rooms and the public rooms have an atmosphere of times past. The authentic salon "Guild of Merchant Taylors" (1779) is classified heritage and a perfect place to relax by the fire-place after a day of exploring the beautiful city. Or do you prefer to take an aperitif in the cozy bar or have a plunge in the swimming pool with sauna? Its all possible in Die Swaene. At the opposite side of the canal one finds the "Pergola" wing with 8 Superior Deluxe rooms, each with fire-place in the room and view over the water. From Monday to Friday we offer a free guided tour with an English speaking guide. Die Swaene**** has everything to make your visit unforgettable ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Die Swaene reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Die Swaene Bruges
Die Swaene Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing