We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but Overpriced”
Review of Die Swaene

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Die Swaene
Ranked #60 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 30, 2012

We stayed here for one night from the 29th to the 30th of April 2012. The quality of service was excellent, and we enjoyed the dry wit of the man who checked us in. The night porter was equally engaging. Breakfast was exceptional, both in the quality of service, and with reference to the selections available, which included fresh fruit, baked apples and a freshly prepared omlette. The public areas of the hotel were most attractive, and the small swimming pool looked appealing, although we had forgotten our swimming costumes, and did not use the pool. The hotel's position was first class, next to the Vismarkt, and a stone's throw from the Burg.

Unfortunately, the room was not ready when we wanted to check in at 2pm. The man on the front desk was very obliging, and we were able to leave our bags in the room. We were assured that the room would be ready within half an hour. We were told that because it was a Sunday, lots of guests had checked out at the last minute, leaving the maids insufficient time to get the room ready. That's not the point though. Check in was 2pm. We were paying €140 for the night. For the room to be still in need of cleaning was indicative of very poor organisation on the part of the hotel.

The room was comfortable, as one would expect. The bathroom was poky. The grouting around the shower area was discoloured. The shower was above a bath, and it was cramped. We have had better rooms in Brugge for far less money, and would advise, with regret (primarily because the staff were so charming) that you should shop around. You can and will get better value in Brugge. Parking at the hotel costs €15 per day. Municipal parking 't Pandreitje, a 200m walk away, costs €8.70 for 24 hours, and we recommend that you self park at 't Pandreitje instead of paying for a space at Die Swaene.

Unless you are teetotal, you must visit the bars De Garre and 't Brugs Beertje. De Garre does not do food, but 't Brugs Beertje does. Bearing in mind the cost of eating out in Brugge, you can do a lot worse than have a spaghetti bolognese in 't Brugs Beertje for about €9.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Idler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (475)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

224 - 230 of 475 reviews

Reviewed April 16, 2012

My husband and myself had a wonderful stay at this 4star hotel. The location is perfect , right in the center but yet extremely quiet. Our room was facing the canal and was gourgous.
Do not miss out on breakfast because it is a real treat.
We can not wait to go back.
We ate at the hotels restaurant, Pergola, and can recommend it as well. Great food for reasonable price.

Room Tip: we had room 27
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ellie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tine H, Owner at Die Swaene, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2012

How wonderful to read you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for writing this review and looking forward to meet you again during your next visit to Bruges.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2012

The good - Great location, staff and lovely room.

The bad -

Double bed was two singles stuffed together with not even a double dovet!
On check out, got charged for parking with no mention of this before hand. The pool was bloody freezing.

Room Tip: Canal view is a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Junglist_grans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tine H, Owner at Die Swaene, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2012

Sir, we are glad you enjoyed your stay in general.
As we never know in advance what type will be needed, the beds are made up as twin. On simple request the beds are made up as a double, with a double duvet. We feel sorry you did not mention this request to the reception staff.
We charge indeed 15€ a day (our neighbours charge 20€) for parking....... parking space is very precious and extremely hard to find in Bruges ...to charge for parking is standard in every hotel.
Pool temperature is 27° Celsius...as the surrounding has a tropical temperature it can feel rather cold upon first contact.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2012

We went out of season (February) on a business trip, & I didnt want to leave. The staff, & I think, the owner were utterly charming, helpful & lovely (like many in Bruges) & the rooms were incredible. Very, very old & large, with quirky but wonderful decor. I cant remember breakfast but I think it was good, but I do remember the hotel is very well located and it has a car park for guests which isnt easy to find in a Unesco world heritage site city. I would absolutely go back there, & it would be a great place for a romantic break.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tine H, Owner at Die Swaene, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2012

Dear Madam, thanks a lot of taking some time to write this review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. Hope to meet again some time in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2012

My partner and I recently visited Bruges for a mid-week break in Feb 2012. We initially wished to stay at the Canal Deluxe and enquired about a reservation. A room was not available, so the owner suggested her other hotel Die Swaene, but at the same rate we would have paid for the Canal Deluxe. We accepted happily.

We had a room in the annex, across the canal from the main hotel with car parking access immediately outside (additional payment required) and free wifi, which worked well. The room was very high-ceilinged and decorated in sumptuous deep red tones with a gas flame fire, which gave a wonderful decadent warmth to the whole weekend, especially with the ice melting on the canal immediately outside the window. The bathroom also deserves a mention - it was so huge you could have put a double bed in there. Only slightly awkward to get out of the bath/shower if you have any mobility issues, but strong water flow, good quality products and towels and a basin for each person felt very luxurious.

Crossing over the oldest bridge in Bruges to access a magnificent breakfast of so many choices... fresh and dried fruit and nuts, yoghurts, cheeses, meats, eggs or pancakes cooked to order, cereals, breads, rolls and pastries, chocolates was not an issue at all and in fact felt somehow more special than just wandering downstairs in a more usual style place. Even the breakfast room felt special - with a choice of cosy interior or a lighter conservatory area.

The welcome from the staff, in particular the Receptionist and Katie who managed the breakfast room was very friendly and helpful, with maps and information provided happily.

We looked in at the pool and had we had more time, I would have liked to take a swim there, especially after I saw them clean the overhanging leaves out of the pool from the plants draped around the edges. That was a plus for me - the natural/Japanese-style effect they have created.

We also looked in on the restaurant below the annex, which looks directly out onto the canal, but we didn't try it. The decor felt a little overdone for our tastes, but the menu and wine list looked excellent. The upstairs Pergola cafe wasn't really an option at this time of the year, but I imagine once the sun comes out, would be a nice place to sit with a coffee and plan the next adventure.

Thank you so much for a really special visit. We would love to come again.

Room Tip: I didn't see the rooms in the main hotel, but would definitely recommend a room in the annex, ov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jet B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tine H, Owner at Die Swaene, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2012

Thanks a lot for taking your time to write this wonderful and extensive review.
I'm glad you accepted the offer to stay at Die Swaene and that it lived up to your expectations.
Hope to welcome you again in the future...at Die Swaene or Canal Deluxe B&B.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2012

I arrived at the hotel late one night, and I was baffled that I couldn’t find the hotel entrance. There’s a huge, beautiful sign on one side of the canal with the hotel’s name. Behind the sign is a parking lot for the hotel. However, the hotel entrance just wasn’t obvious. I walked around the block repeatedly for one full hour before I finally called Die Swaene from another hotel and someone came to fetch me. It was late, though, so we didn’t check in. Instead, our hotel escort led us to the back of the dark parking lot to a little corner with a pipe and a door – some sort of back door for a restaurant. He opened the door and led us to our rooms, which were not marked with our hotel’s name and were across a body of water from the hotel lobby and through a restaurant! I must say that our room was lovely, though. It was very spacious - more spacious than I would ever expect in Europe. It had incredibly high ceilings, antique-style furniture, a writing desk, a huge bathroom with a wonderful tub and shower, etc. It was truly beautiful and lovely. Just really odd.

In the morning, my husband and learned that the main hotel with its reception area, fantastic breakfast buffet, and incredible charm were across the canal (a short walk away). I only say all this to say that it’s a nice hotel, but if you stay in the “annex,” you will NOT have the full hotel experience. My room in the annex was nice, but I chose the hotel based upon the pictures I saw on the website, which were taken in the main hotel. So, just keep this in mind when you book your trip.

One more thing – the annex was noisy in the morning and throughout the day. Maybe it was noise from the restaurant as they were setting up. There were a lot of doors opening and closing, loud club music, and dishes clattering. The good thing is that I didn’t need an alarm clock and we were out most of the day. Still, it’s good to be aware of these things when booking. I must say that things were quiet as a mouse in the evening.

Overall, it was a nice stay. Just a bit strange.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Service
2  Thank Cecelia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tine H, Owner at Die Swaene, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2012

Dear Madam, thank your for writing this review and we are glad to read you enjoyed your stay.
I suppose you must have arrived after dark and therefore had trouble finding the main building. Your room was in the annex, across the canal but the advantage of this is that your view over the canal and historical centre is fenominal.
The restaurant staff was obviously too much in a dancing mood....they are aware of the caused nuisance and like to apologize

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2012

Absolutely wonderful hotel due to its location, helpful staff and comfortable rooms. We stayed in the Pergola super deluxe suite and loved it.. However guests should be aware of the following to avoid some small disappointments: the big bed is actually two singles pushed together, and you need to ask reception to make the bed with large sheets it you are to avoid falling between the two beds; there is no do not disturb sign to avoid being surprised by housekeeping in the morning and early evening; the bathroom was designed by an amateur who read too many glossy magazines before going into interior design (it looks great but doesn't work comfortably). We would definitely recommend the hotel to couples for a weekend break, and will return someday when the weather is warmer.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SierraOscar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel De Tuilerieen
Hotel De Tuilerieen
#28 of 97 in Bruges
1,575 reviews
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Brugge
Crowne Plaza Brugge
#22 of 97 in Bruges
1,616 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel de Orangerie
Hotel de Orangerie
#10 of 97 in Bruges
773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
0.3 mi away
Hotel De Castillion
Hotel De Castillion
#52 of 97 in Bruges
62 reviews
0.2 mi away
Flanders Hotel
Flanders Hotel
#20 of 97 in Bruges
1,877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Die Swaene? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Die Swaene

Address: Steenhouwersdijk 2, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Luxury Hotel in Bruges
#51 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range: $137 - $316 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Die Swaene 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Die Swaene**** is a sanctuary overlooking one of the most picturesque canals, right at the very heart of the old historical city center and just a stone-throw away from the Market and Burg square. This prize-winning hotel is considered to be one of the most romantic and peaceful boutique hotels in Europe and is renown for its customer-friendliness and excellent service. Quite a unicum in this age of 'time is money' but here one still finds time to listen to the needs of the guest. Die Swaene**** has 24 elegantly furnished and individually decorated rooms and the public rooms have an atmosphere of times past. The authentic salon "Guild of Merchant Taylors" (1779) is classified heritage and a perfect place to relax by the fire-place after a day of exploring the beautiful city. Or do you prefer to take an aperitif in the cozy bar or have a plunge in the swimming pool with sauna? Its all possible in Die Swaene. At the opposite side of the canal one finds the "Pergola" wing with 8 Superior Deluxe rooms, each with fire-place in the room and view over the water. From Monday to Friday we offer a free guided tour with an English speaking guide. Die Swaene**** has everything to make your visit unforgettable ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Die Swaene reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Die Swaene Bruges
Die Swaene Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing