We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Left because of horrible room and they won't refund our money” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Duc de Bourgogne

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Duc de Bourgogne
Ranked #51 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Left because of horrible room and they won't refund our money”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

We paid in advance to stay 3 nights. After arriving from a long day of travel and carrying our luggage up the stairs (no elevator) we found the room in terrible condition: hole in bathroom door, no pillow cases on the pillows, dirty room, stained carpet, wobbly side chair and black out curtains that were 6 inches too short. We informed the front desk, took a look at another room which was not much better and left for another hotel. That was the end of May and while they tell my travel agent they are returning our money, they still continue to not refund.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mryan362
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    131
    51
    27
    18
See reviews for
43
232
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

Although the location is superb, overlooking the canal, the rooms were extremely old and tired. The carpeting was filthy in both the public areas and bedrooms. Even the drapes were dirty. The bathrooms were bare and below standard for any type of luxury hotel. We were extremely disappointed with this hotel, and we had high hopes because of the great location. I would not recommend staying here unless the hotel is refurbished.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marissa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brno, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

I have just spent two nights in this hotel. We had rooms on the top floor with the canal view and the view was probably the only nice thing about it. The room was dirty and full of dust. What I really couldn't stand was the terrible smell that came from the bathroom. Another problem was the permanently high temperature in the room. I don't really like air condition, but there was no fridge, so that all the belgian pralines, I bought as a present for my family, melted down. But that was just a detail. The restaurant was beautiful, absolutely perfect!! However, be sure you take some sweater with you, because it was really cold down there. I am glad I have tried this hotel, but I wouldn't recommend it to those, who like order and cleanliness.

Room Tip: Very hot on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Denisa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

We have just spent there 1 wonderful night. The hotel has the unique atmosphere which is very closed to the city especially to the Old part. It was so great to open to window and to feel myself in Middle Ages time. All the furniture, decoration elements are belong to the history.
We had de-lux room and our friend the standart one with the fantastic channel view.
In the morning we had really nice breakfast with toasts, cheese, ham, jam, butter, fresh orange juice and coffee.
The staff was nice and friendly.
No doubt, I will be back to this hotel

Room Tip: Take the room on the second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IOksana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

What a meal, what a place. Book and ask for an alcove table. Just perfect. You are treated as a guest. The Mussels were great, the duck cooked to perfection.

Only eat here but do intend to stay on our next visit.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank drwheeler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marshall, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

Having been to Bruges a number of times but not overnight, we finally spent the weekend in town. No regrets at all staying in this beautifully situated hotel right on the canal. Upon entering the front door you're living a few centuries back in time. Our room (#3)had a canal view with a very comfortable bed and nice large windows giving way to relaxing with a bottle of wine and being astounded by the beauty and age of this fairytale town before venturing out. We enjoyed a peaceful nights sleep and we awoke to the sound of the playful ducks and swans in the canal. Breakfast was wonderful and our table again overlooked the canal. Staff very friendly and we will be staying here again. Thanks for a memorable experience!

Room Tip: Room 3 and 4 very nice, 4 being a bit larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilkenny, Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

We visited last november and although the hotel is quaint and set nicely on the canal, we found the room very gloomy looking. With an extra bed for a child there was very little space. We could have lived with this as we were out and about most of the time sightseeing anyway. But what really let it down for us was the hotel staff. There was a sort of unfriendliness about the place. We ate in the restaurant one evening and waited a very long time for our meal, which when arrived was not very nice, and cost us a small fortune.
Bruge is beautiful and we will visit again but this hotel will not be getting our hard earned cash next time.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eli-1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel de Orangerie
Hotel de Orangerie
#10 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 612 reviews
0.1 mi away
Die Swaene
Die Swaene
#59 of 97 in Bruges
4.0 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
0.0 mi away
Relais Bourgondisch Cruyce - Luxe Worldwide Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Bourgoensch Hof
Hotel Bourgoensch Hof
#54 of 97 in Bruges
4.0 of 5 bubbles 621 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Jan Brito
Hotel Jan Brito
#26 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,187 reviews
0.1 mi away
Botaniek  Hotel
Botaniek Hotel
#14 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duc de Bourgogne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duc de Bourgogne

Property: Duc de Bourgogne
Address: Huidenvettersplein 12, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#46 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Duc de Bourgogne 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Duc de Bourgogne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duc De Bourgogne Bruges
Duc De Bourgogne Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing