We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful canal views, convenient location, great service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Duc de Bourgogne

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Duc de Bourgogne
Ranked #51 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
124 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Beautiful canal views, convenient location, great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2011

We stayed at the hotel for five nights and loved the convenient location and our accomodations. We had a room overlooking the scenic canal. Daily maid service with crisp and clean linens. Our bathroom needed a few new lightbulbs and the carpeting leading to the room was a bit worn, but it didn't concern us because we didn't spend much time in our rooom. The daily breakfast (served until 9:30) was very good in their beautiful dining room overlooking the canal,and the service was great. The women working the front desk are extremely helpful, and arranged a nice early breakfast for us on the morning we had to leave (6am). We were very happy with our stay here, and the price was extremely reasonable. We would stay here again if we come back to Bruges.

Room Tip: While the rooms overlooking the canal get plenty of boat tours going by during the day, the rooms ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HopsHunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    131
    51
    27
    18
See reviews for
43
232
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
MEXICO
Level Contributor
54 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2011

We went there to have dinner during our stay in Bruges. The concierge of our hotel recommended this place to my boyfriend who was planning to ask me to marry him, it was a very romantic place with a nice view, the candle in our table, the view of the swans in the cannal...and yeah..our experience was great but it could have been better if I wouldn't have felt that sensation of "hurry" from the waiter and service people. It seemed that they want us to leave soon...and it was not even the closing time, almost, but not yet...

Anyway...this place means a lot to me.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank POLLYMX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2011

This hotel is perfect for walking around Bruges and the views are spectacular, since it is right on the canal. The staff were beyond great and the breakfast was incredible. The bed was a little hard and I wouldn't advise napping during the day since the tour boats on the canal are right outside your window, but it was very quiet in the evening. Bruges was lovely and when we go back, I will stay nowhere else. For price, location and staff, this hotel is almost impossible to beat.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank trvlr13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Level Contributor
85 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2011

The restaurant Duc de Bourgogne was recommanded by the concierge of the Kempinski Hotel in Bruges, basicly because most of the best restaurants are closed in August.

The setting of the restaurant is wonderful, right on a canal, with a traditional decoration with lots of velvet. On entering the virtually empty restaurant we were demanded if we had a reservation. We should have left there and then, but being hungry we let this faux pas pass.

The menu is very limited, Two day-menus and a few à la carte dishes.
On ordering we mixed a few dishes and were immediately told by the maitre d' that this was impossible. After insisting that we would pay à la carte he grumpingly wrote down the
orders. Well, we paid dearly for this when the bill arrived!

The food is perfect, very well cooked and presented, The service, as to be expected, was terrible. So go for the food and forget about the service, if you are courageous.

Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank IpanemaBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2011

Service was amazing, crew is multi-lingual and very helpful. You can actually book a VIP room beside the window in the dining room and have your breakfast like royal...They even served us tea and cookies at night in the lobby (We have asked for hot water only). Hotel located in the most convenient central and yet it's peaceful and quite at night. Rooms were clean and well-equipped, i.e. good soap, clean and soft towels. Staircase is a bit of a hassle if you have a heavy load. Otherwise, the atmosphere is romantic and extremely pleasant. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aleksandra_xoxo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simcoe, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2011

My daughter and I had a marvelous meal here during our stay in Bruges. Upon entering, what strikes you is the beautiful painted walls and ceiling. Every inch of this incredible place is covered in Flemish paintings. There were some tables positioned at the windows for a fantastic view out onto the canal which is beautifully lit up in the evening. Add to that the ambiance of candle light and you have one very indulgent experience. Our meal here was delicious. When serving our drinks, our waiter brought us a lovely little plate of appetizers which we had not ordered but were served prior to the meal. Lovely shrimp toasts and cheese straws. A very pleasant surprise. For a main course I had the sole and my daughter the bouillabaisse, both were fantastic and the service was impeccable and very friendly. After the meal we asked our waiter if he could recommend a liquor which is a Belgium specialty and he introduced us to the most amazing liquor called Elixir d'Anvers. I can't say enough good things about this restaurant. It was truly a lovely dining experience.

Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Alicefazoooli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2011

We did not stay overnight in Brugge but had a delicious dinner in the restaurant of this hotel. It is situated on the canal with a lovely view overlooking the water. The staff were very helpful and friendly. The food was fabulous and great value for money. The complimentary pre-dinner tasters were also delicious. With such a central and beautiful location on the canal in Brugge, we couldn't believe our luck at having such a wonderful experience with the food, service and value for money. Not at all "touristy."

Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank 255060Karen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel de Orangerie
Hotel de Orangerie
#10 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 613 reviews
0.1 mi away
Die Swaene
Die Swaene
#59 of 97 in Bruges
4.0 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
0.0 mi away
Relais Bourgondisch Cruyce - Luxe Worldwide Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Bourgoensch Hof
Hotel Bourgoensch Hof
#54 of 97 in Bruges
4.0 of 5 bubbles 621 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Jan Brito
Hotel Jan Brito
#26 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,187 reviews
0.1 mi away
Botaniek  Hotel
Botaniek Hotel
#14 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duc de Bourgogne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duc de Bourgogne

Property: Duc de Bourgogne
Address: Huidenvettersplein 12, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#46 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Duc de Bourgogne 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Duc de Bourgogne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duc De Bourgogne Bruges
Duc De Bourgogne Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing